We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view and evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penrose Room

Penrose Room
1 Lake Avenue, The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
+1 719-577-5775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Penrose Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,062 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lake Circle
Description: Elegant ambiance, gracious service, and a creative menu invite guests into Colorado's only Five Star, Five Diamond dining experience at the Penrose Room. Contemporary European cuisine is inspired by the seasons and displays the delectable creations of our executive chef. Hand-crafted dishes are filled with the finest seafood, meats, and local produce. Our expert sommeliers will navigate you through an extensive European wine list to perfectly compliment your dinner. In conclusion to your impeccable meal, a collection of dessert temptations await to delight your palate. Dance the night away to the soothing sounds of our live entertainment in the classic, stylish atmosphere of the Penrose Room. Located at the top of the South Tower overlooking the Resort grounds. Dress- Jackets required for gentlemen, no denim wear, shorts or hats please.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome view and evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you have something to celebrate, you should go to Penrose Room because you will not be disappointed. The Caesar salad and sufle were amazing.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    10
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Way to Enjoy a Dinner for a Special Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were honeymooning and this was our 'dinner of dinner's' with dancing. We arrived early, tasted a wonderful Scotch in the bar (Lagavulin; if you like Scotch, you'll love it), then were seated overlooking the lake and mountains. The service from the staff is incredible. My wife worried we'd run them out of napkins (replaced every time you dance), just another special Broadmoor touch.
The chefs were able to prepare me a meal that was gluten free, which tasted like real food again. They especially created an Escargot just for us without pastry. It was a new taste experience for my wife; she still isn't sure it is great, but she enjoyed it. The wine selections were wonderful, the wine sommelier was a terrific help, and very knowledgeable.
We danced during the pauses between courses and the music was wonderful. The vocalist and band played songs we requested with a smile and 'Of course!'
The table side prepared Caesar Salad was just delicious as was all the food.The specially prepared---with only a days notice---gluten free desert was divine. It took us over three hours, eating slowly and enjoying every bite, broken with dancing and being pampered constantly, to enjoy a meal we will long remember.
We can't wait, for another reasonable excuse, to return to the Penrose Room again. If you go, you will long remember and enjoy the service, the food, and the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Magnificent 5 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

As a FIVE STAR international resort one must not forget that all the luxurious amenities of the Broadmoor make it a local destination as well. The ambience, service/staff, amentities and quality local food sourcing (where possible) are complimented by the most enjoyable dinner and dance music available.

The unique dinner menu (3, 4 or 7 course) offers something to satisfy the most decerning palette. Each course is prepared to perfection with a presentation befitting the front cover of distinguised culinary magazines. The wine list is superb! Almost forgot the desserts. Few words can describe these eye appealing delights that were a wonderful finish to the evening.

Our waiter, Taylor, and his very talented team made the evening most enjoyable and memorable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent special evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful evening at the Penrose room. We had the chefs tasting menu with wine pairings. I loved every course. The food was delicious and the wine was perfect. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and explained everything to us. After the food and wine, the dance floor was my favorite. There are not many restaurants that still have live music, a singer and a dance floor that reminds nd of something from a 1950's movie or elegant supper club. We danced to a few songs and we weren't the only ones. It was a great break in between courses. It's a splurge, but worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I cannot wait to return to the Penrose Room. It is by far one of the most luxurious dining experiences I have ever had. We arrived at the Penrose Room just as they were opening and had a drink in their bar while waiting on our table. The views of the property were stunning and we just took in the experience. We were seated promptly. My fiance and I both opted for the four course meal which was an abundance of food. I chose to get an appetizer, main, cheese course, and dessert, while my fiance chose two appetizers, a main, and dessert. Each course came out impeccably timed with white glove service. The live band while we ate set a special ambiance. It was adorable to watch as couples danced between courses. The table behind us got the seven course tasting menu with wine pairings. It looked like a feast for a king... probably too much for me. Throughout the meal there were little touches that really earned its five diamond status such as a delicious assortment of fresh baked breads/rolls, palate cleansers, chocolate truffles, and even a small specialty marshmellow as a treat to go. I had a wonderful night, and despite the expense, I would gladly return for a special occassion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrose Room also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Penrose Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penrose Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.