We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Red Stripe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Flavor

Jamaica Flavor
3016 S Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80916
(719) 391-0142
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,178 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Red Stripe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice little place and great food. My wife and I have been to Jamaica several times, and we are always looking for a good Jamaican food place. Just wish I lived in the area so I could eat there more often. And good Jamaican food isn't the same without a COLD Red Stripe, and it was cold.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stopped at Jamaican Flavor for dinner with my family on a trip to Colorado Springs, and we loved it. We had the jerk pork and the brown stew chicken. Both were amazing! All sides were also excellent. My 7 year old son who is a foody, raved about it, and my 9 year old daughter, who is picky, actually ate. If your kids only like fried want fried goodies like chicken fingers and fries, the manager said you should call ahead and they can prepare them for you. Super nice staff and a great experience all around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Really good paties and good home feel. Oxtails were flavored well...the sweet potatoe pie was ok...I will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“BEST JERK CHICKEN EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A place I have to go to every time I come to Colorado Springs. Small place, not made for large groups but there is a lot of take out. You can get your food Hot, Mild, etc. and if you get it hot the owner will bring out a towel and a pitcher of water when he says you sweating. Enjoy it, very tasty and can be very hot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, Authentic Jamaican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I chose this restaurant based on the excellent food reviews on Trip Advisor--the food was EXCELLENT, authentic Jamaican food. The owners are Jamaican, the food is fresh, and you get large portions. I have been to Jamaica 15 times, and this food tastes exactly like it does in Jamaica. Most of the food is cooked to order, so it may take 15-20 minutes, but it is fresh, delicious and worth the few minutes to wait. You don't go to this restaurant if you want to have an excellent atmosphere--you go for the authentic food, so that is why I gave the atmosphere a low score. The Brown Stew Chicken & the rice and peas and cabbage is so delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaica Flavor also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Jamaica Flavor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Flavor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.