We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous price. Fabulous place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mel-Haven Lodge

Mel-Haven Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mel-Haven Lodge to your Saves list
Mel-Haven Lodge
3715 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous price. Fabulous place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Perfect location. 3 minute drive to Garden of the Gods Trading Post. staff very helpful and accommodating. Room was extremely clean. Nice kitchen and bathroom. newly updated. Beds were comfy. Much cleaner and nicer than places I have payed 180+ a night for. Doesn't look like much on the outside but if you give it a try you won't be disappointed!!! Only downside towels were pretty thin, you may want to ask for extras.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place was nothing exceptional, but met all of our needs and was clean. There was a fridge and microwave, wireless and a lot of tv channels compared to a regular hotel. There are permanent residents that inhabit the lower level, but that was not an issue. Looked like there was formerly a pool, but there is just a patio there now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Me and my family explored USA and Canada for 3 weeks starting our trip from Denver and ending up in Seattle. We are a family of five with three grown-up children. In some places we shared a room and in some we took two separate rooms. This was the second place where we stayed on this trip.

We had a room for six persons in this motel with two bedrooms, one sofa bed in the living room and a small kitchen. First impression of the establishment was not that good but the room was clean and we did not hear any noises to the room despite the fact that the motel was located between two major roads. So in the end I would say that value for money was more than OK. A room for five persons for less than 100 EUR per night, a very good deal!

One of the things I dislike in hotels in the US in general is the carpeting and in this motel in specific the wall-to-wall carpet that is not even but has bumps. Maybe it's just me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Older building but the room was very very clean! We came down for a horse show and just needed a decent place to sleep, this was better then expected. we were able to choose between a room with 2 beds or one that each bed was in a separate room, we choose the later and it worked out great. The direct tv was a huge plus! We all agreed we would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My rating is based on what this motel is and not what it doesn't have. This motel is old. It doesn't have lots of amenities like breakfast, etc. But I did get a clean, comfortable room that included a fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. Everything was in good repair. The owners have accents and may be difficult to understand on the phone, but by the time I got there I was greeted by their son, Alex, who was friendly and helpful. If you want a good, clean place to stay at a bargain price, I recommend Mel Haven.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I found this motel on Internet and had great reviews so we booked our room. My sister and got there and was checked in. The lady told us the room was not finished being cleaned but gave us our keys and showed the room to us. It was an older motel but so big and very clean. My sister had her own room and large bed as did I. It had a kitchenette fully loaded. Full bathroom and space for our clothes. The room was very clean and so very comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone and when we go back down to Colorado Springs, we hope to stay a time this motel. Thank you for such a good stay at your place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mel-Haven on our trip to see the peak. It was great for our family. With 4 kids it's hard to find affordable accommodations but this place fit the bill. The outside looks older but the inside of our room was much nicer. There was a queen bed with a fold out love seat and a bedroom with a queen bed and a twin bed. Kitchenette with refrigerator, stovetop burners, and microwave. The dishes were provided but, no cook ware. It is located on the border of Manitou Springs and Colorado Springs. We stayed 2 nights here, traveled further north, and liked it so much we stayed here again on our way back out of the state.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mel-Haven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mel-Haven Lodge

Address: 3715 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mel-Haven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel-Haven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.