We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor's Ranch at Emerald Valley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Broadmoor's Ranch at Emerald Valley
Save Saved
You added The Broadmoor's Ranch at Emerald Valley to your Saves list
7855 Old Stage Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel amenities
Monument, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed one night at the Broadmoor and then were shuttled to Emerald Valley [about 45 min into the mountains]. It is a bumpy ride! The setting is amazingly beautiful - wildflowers, lakes, and mountains. The cabins are highest quality, lodge decor, and guests want for nothing. The service is incredible and very personal, as the staff is able to mingle and get to know all the guests since max capacity if 30. No cell phone, internet, or TV, so be prepared to totally disconnect. Food is fantastic! Fly fishing in the 2 lakes was a lot of fun, and the staff will get your poles, flies, etc....prepared for you, guide you, or just point you in the right direction. Great hiking. There are bikes to use, but no bike-friendly trails. Two pine hot tubs are secluded, clean, and pleasant. We concluded about 2-3 days was a good get-away and gave us time to experience everything, including a good amount of reading in the hammocks. Any more time and I think we may have gotten bored. Pricey but worth the splurge!!

Room Tip: Choose a stand-alone cabin as the walls are VERY thin between the adjoining ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to the Ranch at Emerald Valley! It was glamping at its best. All the activities we love to do as a family in the outdoors (fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, canoeing, archery, horseshoes) but with gourmet food and a beautiful cabin. We took our two elementary-school-aged children with us and though they were the only kids there they still had a great time. We stayed in the Copper Cabin, which I'd highly recommend. It was a short walk down to the hot tubs and we loved having a fire in the gazebo at night. Really can't say anything bad about our experience except that having to arrive by shuttle is a bit limiting as far as area explorations but that was really the only drawback. They offer guided hiking tours and other options so there are plenty of ways to get out and explore. If you're a person who needs non-stop action, this is not the place for you. But if you want a beautiful retreat to relax and enjoy nature or bond as a family, then this is an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After 2 nights at the Broadmoor, we transferred up the mountain to The Ranch at Emerald Valley. The area is amazing. I noticed when I check in that the cabin was close to the fire pit area. I was assured that things were quite and that we would not be disturbed. We did have one night that a couple decided to play Johnny and June Cash around the fire pit that required me walking out and politely asking them to move the ho down to their cabin. The cabins do not have ac so opening the windows at night is a must, but with cabins being close together or attached, you could not open curtains. The fishing was great. They have two large stock ponds that make catching a fish almost a guaranty. The wife had a great time fly fishing and stopped counting the number of fish she had me unhook. We went on 2 horse back rides and both were great. I do recommend that you book ahead of time as they do fill up. The archery would be fun for kids, but the arrows were bent and not set up properly for the type of bow used.

Now the best thing was the Food! It could not have been better. We are still dreaming of most of the dishes. I recommend staying at least one night with the cook out. The homemade marshmallows are things dreams are made of. The food was some of the best we had ever had.

Things to keep in mind.
I location is dramatically changed by who is up there. Most of the time during our stay it was mainly couples, but when a large family came, it changed the feel of the place.(more like summer camp then romantic couples retreat.)

Some cabins are attached and we heard that you could hear everything going on it the next room. I would recommend a stand alone cabin. The Pine cabin is the most private, but smallest.

The staff was fantastic. They went completely out of their way to make sure everything was perfect as they could make it.

Room Tip: Pine cabin most private, but smallest. Some cabins are attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Broadmoor style 6 miles up in the mountains. If you are looking ot get away from it all and have glamorous camping (glamping!) this the perfect setting. Since there is no parking, you will be whisked up to the Ranch by professioanl Broadmoor staff who know their history about Emarald Valley. The 30 minute trip goes by fast and glad it was their vehicle going up the dirt road - not mine! The staff is trained by the Broadmoor so you can expect 5 star service. The cabin we stayed in was perfect - I loved that there is no TV in the cabin. We enjoyed fishing and archery and just didn't have time to to horseback riding or hiking - but we will return. The meals were amazing. Again it's Broadmoor quality so you will be very impressed by both the selections for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as the service. Don't miss this opportunity to "glamp" at 8,200 feet!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lakeside Cabin -- it is fabulous and next to to the outdoor hot tubs and gazebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family (mom, dad, 2 daughters 12 & 14) was lucky enough to escape for 3 days at the Broadmoor's newest gem - Emerald Valley Ranch. EVR was purchased by the Broadmoor last year and fully re-furbished, adding an amazing level of comfort and rustic elegance to this beautiful high-mountain ranch retreat (8,200'!!). The original cabin structures remain, but the interiors are completely re-done with high-quality finishes and very tasteful, comfortable furnishings. We stayed in Copper Cabin, one of 10 cabins housing a maximum of 32 guests. Our cabin was picturesque and cozy, with a copper ceiling, wide porch with rockers, 2 connected bedrooms (2 twins + 1 king), a large living room with wood burning fireplace, and 2 very large bathrooms that were well appointed. (rentable as full cabin for 4 or separate adjoining rooms of 2 each)

Ranch life centers around the Lodge, a large central cabin housing registration/concierge, a small bar, and a dining room large plus a large patio and deck overlooking the ponds. The Lodge is beautifully restored, featuring timber trusses, 2 large fireplaces, comfortable dining and sitting areas. We ate 7 meals at the resort (all inclusive) and loved every bite from start to finish. From brisket sandwiches and gnocchi with short ribs to a decadent seafood buffet (lobster tails, scallops, swordfish)...the amazing meals were bettered only by the non-stop selection of ranch pies (raspberry peach, banana butterscotch!!!), cookies, brownies, and other desserts. I can't say enough about the 5-star food, or about the fine staff, including several quick visits from the chefs to check on their guests. (Our only complaint was the arrival of bathroom scales to our rooms during our stay...a cruel addition considering our gastronomic adventures!).

EVR is definitely isolated (30 min drive up dirt Old Stage Rd., then down a long, steep driveway to the ranch), but the high-mountain charm is something we loved. We partook of nearly all of their inclusive activities - a fantastic horse trail ride, archery, fly fishing, horseshoes, mtn biking (limited trail options) -- and enjoyed them all. We also enjoyed just relaxing with the great views while reading or playing cards. EVR staff are happy to take guests to the main Broadmoor hotel for golf, dinner, the pool, or any other activites (no charge).

EVR opened just 1 week before we arrived, but you could hardly tell. Ranch concierges/managers Linda and Lynn ran the operation like a well-oiled, high-service machine. The staff across the board was friendly, attentive, and at the ready. Every request was quickly fulfilled, many before we had a chance to ask: my daughters preferred pineapple juice - "no problem, we brought up an extra case from storage"! my wife added strawberries on top of her pancakes - "those are good, but I suggest you try our homemade jam"...then gave us a jar to take home after we raved about it!

If you're looking for a quiet getaway in rustic, full-service luxury, this is your place. We have enjoyed other high-end, outdoorsy escapes (e.g., Post Ranch Inn, Twin Farms) and rate this all-inclusive* treat from the Broadmoor among the elite! In fact, the ideal escape might be 2-3 nights at the Broadmoor main for a great large resort adventure, followed by 2 nights of ultimate relaxation at EVR!
---------------
* Room rate includes SUV transfer to/from the Broadmoor main hotel, all meals, many snacks, water/juices/soft drinks, all activities listed above, newspapers, wifi (spotty); beer/wine/drinks and off-premise activities (e.g., jeeping) are extra

Room Tip: EVR holds just 32 guests across 10 cabins, all similarly appointed. All cabins are within a 2 min wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We wanted to rent a cabin. We didnt want to be on a big dude ranch, but also didnt want to be all alone (ie renting a house) This was PERFECT for me. It has 9 cabins and a lodge. The owners house is on the property also. It is only 6 miles past Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs,,, so it is not that far out, but let me tell you it IS REMOTE. You drive a rough and winding road to get back to the ranch. There are 2 beautiful ponds, great hikng trails and they provide breaksfast at the lodge. Its a very good place for a family reunion or wedding or a group of people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadmoor's Ranch at Emerald Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor's Ranch at Emerald Valley

Address: 7855 Old Stage Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranch at Emerald Valley combines a unique retreat offering refined luxury with the rustic charm and inspiration of a wilderness enclave. Surrounded by over 100,000 acres of the Pike National Forest, indulge in a private escape in one of ten beautifully appointed cabins featuring wood burning fireplaces, rich furnishings, and modern amenities.This haven is the perfect destination for everything from an intimate getaway to a quintessential Colorado vacation for a group, family, and friends. Choose from one, two, or three bedroom private cabins each with distinct Rocky Mountain atmospheric touches.During your stay at The Ranch, take the day to fly fish in pristine mountain lakes, hike and bike scenic trails or explore the mountains on horseback. Then unwind by soaking in an outdoor hot tub and sipping fine wine on a panoramic terrace while enjoying the beauty of a Rocky Mountain sunset. These experiences are all accompanied by The Broadmoor’s incomparable luxury and impeccable service.A dedicated ranch staff and on-site Broadmoor chef elevate this unique, all-inclusive hideaway beyond its 8,200 foot altitude. Fresh, gourmet cuisine that you’ve come to expect from The Broadmoor is presented in the grand lodge. Don't worry about the details - all meals and ranch activities are included as part of your stay.What sets this experience apart from other mountain retreats is, with one phone call, we'll whisk you down the mountain to enjoy all the amenities The Broadmoor has to offer, including championship golf, a Five Star spa, tennis, shopping, swimming pools, acclaimed dining, and more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor's Ranch at Emerald Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.