We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mecca Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mecca Motel
Save
You added Mecca Motel to your Saves list
3518 W. Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spotless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

These folks are neat freaks and run a tight ship!!!!!
Even after nearly 3 decades of operating this place the owners have not become the least bit complacent. In fact----every time we stay here the property seems better than the last (if that is possible). In addition, the neighborhood (although never bad) is sprucing up quite nicely.
This trip we upgraded a bit to a King room for our three night stay. Good choice as it suited our needs very well. We look forward to staying with Liz and Gary on our next visit to The Springs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
32
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Way better than most chain motels that promise more than they can deliver! This place is QUIET, CLEAN, and in a pretty good location. Lots of options for restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and the necessities are close-by. It's close enough to Manitou AND The Springs. Rooms are fairly small, but two people can stay in a King Room easily (if you get along). The pool and hot tub aren't bad either. Good view of Pike's Peak while you're laying in the sun - pretty nice! Pets aren't allowed, so that deters some people, but if you're not packing your pooch - and not looking for a luxury hotel, this place is a definite GO! We visit Colorado every summer and always stay here!

Room Tip: We like to stay in the rooms "in the back" - they'll know where you're talking abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Mecca for a week, while it is a small room; it is extremely clean and pleasant. The hotel price is more than reasonable. The owner has been here over 26 years and it is apparent she loves what she does and where she does it. The hotel is situated very conveniently to all attractions and shopping. The best mexican food in the area is right across the street. What more can you ask for, but if there is something more you need just ask the hotel owner, if possible she will make sure you have it. All in all an excellent hotel at a bargain price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walla walla
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This older, courtyard-style motel has been renovated for comfort, quiet, and cleanliness. New windows, a/c units, lighting, wi-fi, beds, carpets - even the parking lines are freshly painted. Both the inside and the outside maintenance is top-notch. Even the fridge doesn't have built-up ice on the freezer, so my water bottles froze solid for today's drive.
And it's quiet. The thick concrete block/stucco walls and new windows block out the street noise. The new a/c unit runs steadily and you don't hear the on/off as the a/c cycles. I never heard my neighbors come home, or any water running. No upstairs so there's no noise above.

Added to that, everything is clean. No pets at all are allowed, the carpet is new and low pile (no new smell), no moldy smell from the a/c, not a dust mote in sight.

The room is small (single queen), but the bath has a generous old ceramic tub. The furniture is not new, but the small desk has a glass top on it and a new recessed light directly above. There's a phone.

The neighborhood is run down but Old Colorado City is a short mile away. The Garden of the Gods is near.

So why did I not give 5 stars? Perhaps because the bathroom fan is very noisy, and I really dislike the motel 'perfume' smell. I wish they would use non-smell cleaners, or natural smells like orange, lavender, etc.

I'd definitely come back again. This motel is well-managed and thoughtful of your comfort.

Room Tip: Mine (106) was on the end of the unit with the manger's office. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at Mecca Motel for three nights in May. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are extremely clean, the towels and linens are all good quality, the price is reasonable and the motel is close to many Colorado Springs attractions (just one block off 24). What more could you ask for?

A few more details: the motel is older, but very well maintained and the bathrooms are fairly new. The beds are comfortable. The American owners are on site and it is clear that they take a lot of pride in offering a good experience to their guests.

The Red Rock Canyon Open Space is within walking distance of the hotel -- if you have time, it is a beautiful area for a hike/walk and it's a different experience than Garden of the Gods.

I would highly recommend staying at Mecca Motel if you are in the Colorado Springs area.

Room Tip: The hotel has wifi, but the signal is stronger in some rooms. If you will be using wifi quite a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I was back this summer in august and will go back again in September! The best in convenience, service, cleanliness, price. The pool and hot tub are wonderful and the location being equidistant from manitou springs and old Colorado city can't be beat! A great place to relax and truly have a vacation! Thanks to Gary and Liz, the owners for making you feel so welcome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The outside is cute and the inside is clean. Its a fine place to spend the night. But the very best part is that you can leave your hotel room and walk to Garden of the Gods! Its a pretty steep hill, but absolutely gorgeous views of Pikes Peak and all that surrounds it. It is also close to other area attractions like Seven Falls, Cheyenne M Zoo, Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City. I'm sure we'll stay overnight here again when visiting Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mecca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecca Motel

Address: 3518 W. Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#17 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, centrally located to the attractions of the Pikes Peak region. Near Manitou Springs, am coffee, swimming pool, hot tub, cable TV, high speed WI-FI, clean & family owned. Open for Summer seasonal business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mecca Hotel Colorado Springs
Mecca Motel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mecca Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.