We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Jerusalem Cafe

Heart of Jerusalem Cafe
4587 Austin Bluffs Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80918
(719 ) 685 - 9554
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 1,194 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
new mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The majority of our food was good. However, the tabouli was old (two of us that ate it and got really sick), and the dolma was canned, not homemade as promised. The other food was good, nothing special. However, I was not impressed with the service. I had ordered specific things, and they did not arrive. When I addressed this to the owner, he argued with me about his cost, time, etc. It was disappointing to have someone tell you that they will deliver what you ordered and then not get it. And, when they do deliver the missing items, the quality is not up to par and actually should be thrown away due to it not being fresh.

I would not return nor recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJ_Cafe, Manager at Heart of Jerusalem Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hello, Thanks For Your Point Of View, But We Strive To Keep Our Customers Happy. We Regret That You Had An unpleasing Experience. About The Time This Review Was Written The Old Manager Was Running Us Into The Ground. ) We Are Now Under The Original Management As Of Today ! So hopefully You Will Try Us Again. We Hopefully Look Forward To Seeing You Again.

Carl Beebe
Active Manager
Manitou Springs Location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simple surroundings with superb food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Order is fast food style with plastic plates etc. but the food is really excellent and we were even given tea and a tasty treat when we were finished. Service could have been better however it looked like there were only 2 people handling everything and it was getting busy when we left. Friendly place with great background music. This Grubinator will be going back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not bad, but there is better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I've been to HoJ twice now. Once because I was invited and another time because I got a groupon. The first time I had the babaganooj dip with pita and falafel. It was very mild, bordering on bland but the portion size was great. The dip had giant raw cloves of garlic which I picked out and I guess that is where the flavor was. The pita is very good and the falafel is average. On my second visit I got the ultimate plate which comes with chopped up beef/lamb and chicken, hummus, a small scoop of cabbage style salad, a few falafel and pita. I also ordered the sweet tea and baklava for an after meal snack. The meats were flavorful with almost no distinction between the three, the hummus was bland and the falafel and pita proved to be the best items in the meal. The sweet hot tea was good as was the baklava with florescent pistachios sprinkled over the top. The staff (husband and wife) are outstanding! I met the husband at the Manitou Springs store (which is twice as good) and he is a delightful gentleman. You should try this place for yourself, judging on the previous reviews, and the line to order I am in the minority on my average rating.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Holy Cow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This place is always amazing. I always go to the other one...but they are both amazing. This one is a little smaller but that doesn't mean that the food is great. Everything here is fresh, tasty, and healthy. Just writing this review my mouth is starting to water. I brought my leftovers to my boss and now he says he loves middle eastern food. (This was his first time having it). They have great tea. I just think everything is amazing...and the owner is really nice.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogarah, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Food for the feet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Small space with good taste. Good selection of dishes with the ability to cook to order.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart of Jerusalem Cafe also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Heart of Jerusalem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Jerusalem Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.