We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts but beware breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2829 West Pikes Peak Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Seaside
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts but beware breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Joyce and Leo were great hosts. The accommodation was spacious and this is definitely the place to go to re- connect with 'whatever' no TV was ok as we still had wifi. We knew that our room would not be serviced during our stay and we were shown where extras were stored and we were ok with that. The only downside for us was the mandatory breakfast at 8am. The meal was ok but not what we were used to and too much and if staying be sure you have an understanding of your countries position on the euro, religion, and marriage. We did enjoy story time at the end of breakfast. All said we would stay again although our starting position would be bed only no breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I chose this B&B for the price and the reviews were favorable. I should have read through more reviews. The place was clean and fine for the price, $66 per night. There is no maid service so you need to be ok with either making your own bed or leaving it unmade. The garbage pail in the room was not emptied so you have to empty it yourself. Towels are not freshened each day and the dresser they provide for your clothing is stuffed with pillows and blankets. There is no closet just 4 plastic hangers on a coat rack. Breakfast is 8am sharp and is always the same and not very good. When you advertise bed and breakfast the breakfast should be special and varied. Put some thought into it, please. The innkeepers, Uncle Leo and Joyce are nice but they should really rethink the business they run. It's more of a boarding house than a bed and breakfast. Check in time is 2 hours per day, that is ridiculous! If you get there past 5:30pm or before 3:00pm you will need to call Leo and hopefully he will answer the phone and tell you where he left the key to the house and the key to your room, outside in a plastic bowl. Not a comforting thought. If you know you have guests arriving you need to make yourself available to greet your guest not go to the movies and require your paying customer to track you down. Bad business and a bit rude.
It is in a good location for most of the sights and a 5 minute drive to Dunkin Donuts! All in all I would recommend for one night but if you are going to be in colorado springs for more than a night find somewhere else to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very nice and friendly atmosphere in the lovely old building. The owners are friendly and don't miss the story at breakfast time! Next to the fire station it is in a good and quiet position. I would stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Step back in history when you enter this charming Bed and Breakfast. Leo and Joyce have done a wonderful job in giving it that old west style to each room. The house was built around 1895 and still retains a lot of it's original architecture. Bathrooms have been updated, A/C units are in every room and several rooms have an outside balcony. We stayed upstairs in one of the suites.
Leo and Joyce (the hosts) were very friendly and eager to provide information about the city and the surrounding area. The beds were comfortable and it's very quiet in the evening. Breakfast consisted of a bowl of fresh fruit, followed by egg soufflé (served in a small bowl, and then a breakfast cupcake (also served in a small bowl).

Conveniently located 1/2 block from Colorado Ave. with its charming shops and restaurants, Garden of the Gods is minutes away and so is Manitou Springs.

This is a comfortable and charming place, not luxurious. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnacle, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This bed and breakfast was conveniently located for our trip. We were here to visit Pike's Peak and Colorado Springs. Our hosts were very knowledgeable and provided a nice breakfast. If you are leaving for an early day of sight seeing, you might need to factor in breakfast in a nearby restaurant as breakfast here is not served early. Our rooms were very nicely appointed. However, if you go during very hot weather, the small, older window air conditioner may not adequately cool the room. I raised the windows for cross ventilation as soon as we were shown to our room. Since we were there very early in June, the nights cooled off nicely. Be advised, there are no tv's and no telephones in these rooms.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem, you will want to state that you need one of the two rooms on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I found Spurs and Lace while looking for a place to stay while in Colorado Springs. We had a wonderful time. After reading some other reviews, I realized that perhaps this B&B is not for everyone, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We only stayed for one night, so I can't comment on room service.

The building and rooms are beautiful, with simple but elegant accoutrements, like the Alphonse Mucha prints you will see as you ascend the stairs. We got one of the larger rooms (Victorian Rose Room), and while it's not huge, it was more than enough for our needs, and the bathroom had a big old tub for soaking. The building itself is what I would call a Victorian style, a square building more tall than wide, with three stories. The yard and gardens surrounding the house looked beautiful, with an inviting gazebo, although I never got a chance for a closer look. The views are beautiful, with some mountains in your face, and Old Colorado City right around the corner (another place we didn't get to check out).

The proprietors, Leo and Joyce, are very kind and open people. They are older than they look, so be patient with them, and I am sure you will see that they are wonderful, vibrant people. Part of the key to staying healthy is eating right, and this gets more important as you get older, so don't expect a huge breakfast with eggs, bacon, toast, waffles, etc. as one reviewer did. I believe the breakfast courses are described somewhere. We had a fruit salad, then egg souffle, then a baked fruit tart sort of dish. All tasted good, and it satisfied my hunger.

I see that some people had difficulty with breakfast. I think the issue is that, if they expect you for breakfast, they will make food for you, that is preferred not to go to waste. I am sure they can accommodate you if you can't make breakfast, just let them know. And if you want to sleep in, make sure you don't get the one room that is next to the dining area. It's a really cool room with awesome old photographs, but it doesn't work for sleeping in. I also saw mention of Leo telling a little story at breakfast. Yes he did that and his story had a great point, and was humorous as well.

I think Leo and Joyce try to make your stay a unique experience. This is a great place to relax and unwind, with so much to do nearby: Manitou Springs, Pikes Peak Cog Railway, Garden of the Gods, Woodland Park, Old Colorado City, and much more. I live in Colorado, so I am in the mountains all the time, and the views still astound me. So if you live where it's flat, come stay and have your mind blown! Bring your camera.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Spurs and Lace for his birthday, I had planned it out three months ahead of the date, and booked with hotel.com. When checking-in hotels.com never sent them our paperwork, so our room was already taken, but Leo and Joyce, went out of there way to get us a room, because we truly had our hearts set on this bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Darango on the second floor, and loved it!! The place is very clean and Leo and Joyce were very kind, sweet people. I would strongly advise staying here, and we plan to come back and stay for our 3rd year anniversary!! Thank you guys for making my husbands birthday so special!!!
-Mr. & Mrs. Hayes

Room Tip: Check out the Darango, it's right above the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
2.8 mi away
The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham G...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
2.7 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 14 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Ayre
Hotel San Ayre
#30 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Romantic, Bouti...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Old Town GuestHouse
Old Town GuestHouse
#2 of 17 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
B&Bs, Independe...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Mystic Portal
Mystic Portal
#10 of 17 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2829 West Pikes Peak Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.