We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Save Saved
You added Garden of the Gods Club and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 hotels in Colorado Springs
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our family recently had the pleasure of visiting Colorado Springs and staying here. The pictures that you find on the website seem almost unbelievable until you get there and realize that everything is just the way it is portrayed and more!! My family was warmly welcomed at check-in and given tips for what would be best suited for our family of four with in the club and outside of it. My mother and father were also along and as we went to our rooms and looked out of the sliding doors, my mom had tears in her eyes because of the breathtaking views!! The nature abounded in the form of bunnies and mule deer that at one time during our stay numbered at least 9. The rooms were very clean and large to comfortably fit my husband, our two children and myself. As we do not typically go to country clubs, we felt a bit as though we didn't fit in at the dining area, but there are plenty of other choices in the area to go to for meals. We really enjoyed the old school rules of not allowing baseball hats in several areas and needing to dress for dinner. It is refreshing to know that there are places that still appreciate and expect things to be to certain standards and not just come as you are or the new socially acceptable standards. We also loved watching the set-up and then weddings as they took place. So beautiful!!! We would certainly recommend to anyone visiting this area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breathtaking views, warm and helpful staff, and we also appreciate your respect for our country club atmosphere. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    100
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
128
192
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Spent one night here and everything was wonderful from check in to check out. The view is spectacular and we could have just sat on our patio and enjoyed it for hours. We were welcomed in the lounge for dinner even though we had nothing with us except for hiking clothes. The staff was polite and helpful and gave us lots of information on what to do for our one day visiting.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but if upstairs you probably have a better vista from the balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments. We hope you visit us again to enjoy our spectacular view and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I booked this hotel for a family vacation with my wife and our 17 year old son. Based on the layout I am guessing that the hotel was built several years ago, but it is very well maintained and the grounds are well-tended. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The rollaway bed our son used was, by his account, surprisingly comfortable. Our suite also had a large walk-in closet, which was handing for stashing the rollaway and, I assume, is very useful in the winter when skiing and snowboarding equipment needs to be stowed.
A resort fee is included in the room rate which allows for use of the tennis courts and golf course, among other facilities. We did not bring any equipment but the pro shop at the courts set us up with rackets and balls. Also, we were able to rent clubs to hit a couple of buckets of balls at the driving range. The pros in both shops were very friendly and helpful. (The tennis courts are on the same property as the hotel; the golf course is a short drive or long walk up the road.)
All of the above is nice, but the best reason to stay at the Garden of the Gods Club is the your room's unobstructed view of the Garden of the Gods and Pike's Peak. (I believe every room faces these natural wonders.) There are many things to do in Colorado Springs and the surrounding area, but you could do way worse than just spending a few hours sitting on your balcony or patio reading a book--the view is that good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! You are correct, our resort was built in the 1950's and due to this fact we have been undergoing some renovation. We are so happy that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us and also enjoyed your time at our Kissing Camels golf course. We look forward to your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Went there for a Birthday weekend and was very impress with the view. But....... this location is very old school Country Club with rules such as no baseball cap in the dining area including patio. Rooms are very spacious but everything is dated except the bed. Adult only pool can run out of chairs if there is a weeding party staying at the hotel. We had a waterfall coming through our bathroom ceiling light and when we called the front desk in the middle of the night the staff wanted to come to our room. I insisted that they go to the room on the second floor to stop the madness. In the morning we stopped by the front desk to tell them that we still had somewhat of a water mess and asked what happened but they had no record of us calling them or had heard of any issues. Went to brunch and received excellent service but we were given cushioned patio chairs that were soaked from the evening rain ( it is a good thing I did not wear a baseball cap because I would of look silly with my water stain shorts). 20% gratuity was automatically added on a party of 2 as any old school country club would do. Million dollar view........ too bad the facility is not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Marco. Thank you for your feedback and the comment about our “million dollar view." We do apologize for any inconvenience our dress code may have caused you, and for the water leak in your room, which was a result of the tub overflowing in the room above your room. Our Front Desk morning staff should have known about the issue as it was an “open item” until we were able to get into your room after your departure. Our staff did determine the tub above your room overflowed creating the water coming into your room and again, we are sorry for this inconvenience.

Regarding our dress code, there are certain dining areas within the resort that do have dress codes, which request gentlemen not wear hats. Our website has our dress code requirements in an effort to notify our guests in advance of our amenities and policies. We also have the dress code listed in our information binders that are in each guest room. We hope you will come visit us again and we would be happy to direct you to dining areas of the resort, whereby gentlemen may wear hats.

The 20% gratuity is included on all food and beverage purchases and we hope our staff provided the level of service deserving of the 20% gratuity. Thank you for saying the brunch service was excellent. There is no excuse for you to sit on a cushion on our patio that is wet from the rain. That should never happen at our property and again, we do apologize. On another item, I’m glad to inform you we are in the process of upgrading our rooms and addressing the furnishings as part of our upgrade.

Please accept our apologies for your experience not being one that we wish to provide all our guests. We not only strive to meet expectations, but we want to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your honest feedback and we hope you will choose us in the future, not only for our “million dollar view,” but for the charm and ambiance of a boutique resort, striving to provide personalized service.

- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this resort for a relaxing getaway last week and came home to a $200.00 charge from the resort. They claim the room smelled of smoke when we left and we never smoked in the room but on the patio. The accusation is bogus. We called to speak with a manager several times and no response. Finally after calling a fifth time the manager said "The charges have been made and will not be refunded" never did anyone say it was a nonsmoking resort only the room is. Wonder if the guests smoking at the pool were charged as well because no one said a word to them. This is horrible costumer service and we feel discriminated against. Never will we return or recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, General Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sam - We understand your frustration for being charged the standard fee for clearing your room of the smell of smoke. Although you smoked on your patio the smoke found its way into your room. Please know we do not enjoy charging our guests for removing the smoke smell from their room, but we have to remove it prior to the next guest’s arrival. Several members of our staff went to your room after you departed and all agreed, without question the room smelled of smoke and that we had to go through the process of removing the smell prior to the next guest’s arrival.

Our non-smoking policy is standard within the hotel industry and when a room smells of smoke, we incur additional cleaning costs in an attempt to eliminate the smoke odor. Our website has our non-smoking policy in an effort to notify our guests in advance of our smoking policies. The information you signed during the check-in process also states there is a cost (associated with removal of smoke smell) if the smell of smoke is in the room. We do have designated smoking areas on our property.

We are sorry our Front Desk Manager was in a lengthy meeting when you made your calls. He informed me your fifth call came through to him as he returned from his meeting and he was able to speak with you. We pride ourselves in returning calls the same day or within 24 hours.

Again, we apologize for this necessary expense for us to put your room back into a usable condition. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed our amazing views of Garden of the Gods Park and Pikes Peak.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is one of my favorite places in the US. This Resort is beautiful, and comfortable. We have stayed here 2 times, and the view of Pikes Peak and Garden of the Gods is unmatched. Sit ouside the morning out on the patio with your coffee, see the sun hitting Pikes Peak, and watch the wildlife come right up to you. Very peaceful, cannot say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Carpets are dirty and green!!!!. Our toilet kept on getting stuck and Hair dryer did not work. Rooms are old fashioned.Shower and WC are together in one space.Other then that location, and services were excellent.

Room Tip: take a room with access to lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, General Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and wish to convey our sincere apologizes for the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay with us. We strive to offer the best amenities to our guests and we apologize that you did not find this in your guest room. We pride ourselves in attention to detail, so we are sincerely sorry for not providing a functioning hair dryer and that your toilet kept getting stuck. We hope you contacted the Front Desk for a replacement hair dryer and for assistance with the toilet. We will pay much more attention to what is working and what is not in each room.

In response to our “old fashioned” rooms, we are excited to share that our new owners have invested in a large renovation project at the Resort. The current phase has updated the dining and meeting room areas, as well as the lobby and front desk. The next phase of renovation will include updating the guest rooms, which will include new furniture, carpeting and amenities. Thank you again for your feedback. We encourage you to visit us again to enjoy our “excellent” location and services and to experience our latest improvements.

- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Address: 3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.