We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views are great, Rooms okay, but could have used a working bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden of the Gods Club and Resort to your Saves list
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Views are great, Rooms okay, but could have used a working bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family just stayed at this resort. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised when entering the room. Much larger than we anticipated, nice changing area, two sinks, walk-in closet, fridge, and basic bathroom. Nice Bath & Body shampoo, soap, etc. for guests.
The room was large with fireplace, small couch, bed, small 'cafe table and two chairs.' The furniture, carpet, etc., is out-of-date, looking like a room from the early 80's, but bed was comfortable and things pretty clean.
The view is fantastic.
Things started good, but progressively got worse. Tried to have dinner in the dining room. Our young son was dressed nice, but didn't have a dinner jacket (which I understand is required for men). The maitre'd took one look, turned his nose up and said we had to eat in the bar.
We were told it was seat yourself. After 15 minutes of no service, my husband went to ask if there was a server. He was told rudely, they were short-handed and would get to us when they could. Soon after, we did have about three servers trying to help us and the other tables waiting for service. Food was okay.
The first night, the fireplace didn't work and we called the front desk. Two men came, but couldn't fix it. They left and sent someone else. He came & 'fixed it,' but it continued to stop. Next, the toilet clogged from a little toilet paper. Two men showed up with a plunger and seriously asked if I wanted to unclog it. They worked on it for 20 minutes and made a mess. They didn't lift the toilet seat to unclog and would have left without even ripping down the messed up toilet seat or floor, if my husband had not insisted they clean it.
Second afternoon, fireplace did not work again. Called for service and repairman came and fixed it this time. Toilet problems again from just flushing (no toilet paper or anything in bowl). We thought it would possibly go down while we were gone. The night, same problem, husband called the front desk. We were told (by name) who would come fix it. They never showed up. At that point, we had to start using the public bathrooms by the restaurant. (Not overly clean, plus a pain to put on your shoes and hike down to the bathroom.)
Next day, toilet seemed like it might be okay. Flushed it (no toilet paper or anything else), but water immediately raised to toilet seat. Then we started hoping in car and driving down the to nearby restaurants and visitor center to use their bathrooms.
For close to $400 a night (or any other price), I've never stayed anywhere that I didn't have a working toilet. My husband complained about the toilet, again, when we checked out and was essentiality told by the front desk worker that they couldn't do anything about our problems. My husband said the manager sat in their office, but never bothered to come out to talk to him.
The view is fantastic, but we would never stay there again. It wasn't worth all of the problems or lack of bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, General Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and most certainly wish to convey our sincere apologizes for the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay with us. We do agree with you that our views are fantastic, but our service and professionalism should be also be fantastic.

Please allow me to respond to your comments. We pride ourselves on providing personal and professional service. When you wished to eat in our Club Dining Room, you should have been allowed to do so as our jacket policy is only on Saturdays in July and August after 6 p.m. We also have other dining opportunities that you should have been informed of. We are very sorry you did not get the correct information from a member of our Team. Our Team Members are never to be rude or anything less than professional at all times. Please accept our apology.

Although the guest room fireplaces are easy to turn on and off with the electrical switch, when we encounter strong winds it may have an impact of the fireplaces. I’m not sure of the circumstances with the wind and the impact on the fireplace in your room, but we are sorry it was not working properly.

As for the toilet issues you encountered, I am investigating the situation and will ensure it will never happen again to any guest. Please accept our apology for the inappropriately handled situation with the toilet. Our staff will be refreshed on our standard operating procedures. Guests should never be asked to plunge a toilet, staff should always clean up after plunging a toilet and it should always be tested with a sizable amount of toilet paper after plunging to confirm it is fixed properly.

We do have multiple restrooms throughout our property with cloth hand towels, which are inspected routinely. The various restrooms should have been pointed out to you and you should have found them very clean.

As I have said throughout this reply, please accept our apologies for your experience not being one that we wish to provide all our guests. We not only strive to meet expectations, but we want to exceed your expectations. This did not happen with you and we are extremely sorry. We truly regret you did not receive the service and level of professionalism you are deserving of and more. We hope you will please consider staying with us again and not only enjoy our breathtaking views you mentioned, but also the elegant services and professional service standard we are typically known for.

-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    110
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
142
252
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponca City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Was an absolutely beautiful place to stay! Was a little more 'upscale' than what I expected but very nice. Love the fireplace in the room, and balcony to look out at the amazing scenery! Staff was very friendly and informative when checking in.
the best part was watching the sun rise and hit the garden of the gods rocks, was stunning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This resort offers great value for the money. It's not cheap but the view of Garden of the Gods from our balcony was just stunning! I couldn't believe it was included in the "standard" room price. The room was larger than the standard hotel room with a huge dressing area and a walk in closet-great for getting the suitcases and dirty clothes out of sight.

The food we had a breakfast and dinner was good if a little pricey. Their homemade granola is outstanding. At meals you look over the same view but with a reflecting pool that attracts birds and baby rabbits. My kids were enchanted.

The location is excellent for a short travel time to popular Colorado Springs sites. Of course, you are on top of Garden of the Gods, a 15 minute drive from the Pike's Peak Cog Railway and the many shops and restaurants of Manitou Springs. We booked a horseback tour of Garden of the Gods at Academy Riding Stables, also a 15 minute drive. This is a must if you have horse-lovers in your family.

This resort has the "wow" factor and beautiful grounds for less than one usually has to pay for such amenities. I highly recommend it. The one downside for kids is that the kids pool is a couple of block away. Because the pool was not perfectly convenient and because my kids got henna tattoos in Manitou, we never actually visited the kid's pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor to maximize your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We can't say enough great things about this hotel and resort/spa. We were married at the Garden of the Gods Club in September 2011 and come back every year on our anniversary to stay in the same room. We love it here. The views are out of this world - I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere with such breathtaking views. The staff are very nice, competent and helpful. We always order breakfast room service, and the food is delicious. We also have lunch on the patio and it is always good. The hot tub and pool area are lovely and relaxing. The furnishings in the room had a nice retro touch and we actually like it, it is not like every other hotel. The king bed with crisp and clean lines and eight pillows is heaven.

Long story short - we love it. We would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We stay in the same room, 220, every time we visit. It is on the end and is is quiet and has a fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Awakening to the beauty of the Garden of the Gods sparkling out the patio windows is my favorite Colorado view and I've stayed in some beautiful places. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bath/dressing area is the size and layout of some of the best hotels you can find in the state. There is a $15 lodge fee that is tacked on to your room rate which is not quoted in the room price but if you read the contract, they have appropriately notified you - I just think they should add it to the room rate because it is still worth the money and it's not questionable when you receive your final bill.
If you are staying in CS - pay a little extra and enjoy the comfort & luxury.

Room Tip: We prefer 200 maybe because it feels larger even though the front desk says they are all the same si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We only spent one night here as we were passing through but it was still a great experience. We didn't get off to the best start when we pulled under the porch in the pouring rain to check in and unpack our car. The parking valets were all polite and said that we were fine as there was space for at least two cars. Unfortunately this meant one of the elderly customers had to wait a couple of minutes for his car and as he went past to it he gave me the most incredible scowl!

Anyway check in was easy and they gave us a map of the resort. There is the main building where the restaurant and reception are and then a long building north and south where the rooms are and the spa etc.

The guests when we were there seemed to be a fair split between the more senior and the younger.

As everyone has said the view is amazing - even under the cloud and rain that we had when we were there the rocks in the Garden of the Gods glowed. We could also see that with the cloud over Pikes Peak it was going to be an interesting drive on our trip to the summit!

We were in a normal King room and it was huuuuuuggggeeee - the bed was great with nice crisp linens and 8 pillows! There was also furniture so you could sit inside and admire the view through the big patio doors or out on the balcony. There are sliding wooden shutters over the doors which kept out most of the light. There is also a gas fire that you can switch on with a flick of a switch. The toilet and bathroom and in another room, a walk in wardrobe and an area with the two sinks, fridge, dressing table. The toilet/bathroom could do with a little shelf or something out of the shower as there wasn't anywhere to safely put my glasses down.

As others have said the decor is a little 'retro' but it was spotlessly clean with only very minor signs of wear and tear. They have such a unique spot here they have to be careful in how they renovate it so not to alienate the more senior clientale but also encourage younger guests to stay as they will be their guests into the future. Judging by the mood boards they had up around the place they will do a great job.

The majority of the staff we came across were quite young but they were all very helpful and polite. Despite the rain we had a quick dip in the outdoor pool which was nice and warm and comes with the same great view!

Instead of running the gauntlet with the rules in the restaurant we decided to have room service. It arrived much faster than we were told and we were soon tucking in to a couple of 1/2 burgers!

All in all a short but excellent stay. I hope we will come back one day and be able to stay a little while longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our stay was amazing. The hotel is geared toward a more adult crowd but the staff was amazing about our 4yo. It's the other guests who aren't always psyched to see small children before summer. That is likely due to the fact that the kids area isn't open till after Memorial Day.

The staff was knowledgeable and very helpful. Every question was addressed promptly and courteously unlike other places we have stayed.

The hotel is more expensive than most but the rooms are beautiful and large. The staff does all that it can to make sure you feel like you are at staying at high end hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Address: 3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.