We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, unbelievable view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Garden of the Gods Club and Resort to your Saves list
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
“Nice property, unbelievable view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This resort offers great value for the money. It's not cheap but the view of Garden of the Gods from our balcony was just stunning! I couldn't believe it was included in the "standard" room price. The room was larger than the standard hotel room with a huge dressing area and a walk in closet-great for getting the suitcases and dirty clothes out of sight.

The food we had a breakfast and dinner was good if a little pricey. Their homemade granola is outstanding. At meals you look over the same view but with a reflecting pool that attracts birds and baby rabbits. My kids were enchanted.

The location is excellent for a short travel time to popular Colorado Springs sites. Of course, you are on top of Garden of the Gods, a 15 minute drive from the Pike's Peak Cog Railway and the many shops and restaurants of Manitou Springs. We booked a horseback tour of Garden of the Gods at Academy Riding Stables, also a 15 minute drive. This is a must if you have horse-lovers in your family.

This resort has the "wow" factor and beautiful grounds for less than one usually has to pay for such amenities. I highly recommend it. The one downside for kids is that the kids pool is a couple of block away. Because the pool was not perfectly convenient and because my kids got henna tattoos in Manitou, we never actually visited the kid's pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor to maximize your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    105
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
135
221
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We can't say enough great things about this hotel and resort/spa. We were married at the Garden of the Gods Club in September 2011 and come back every year on our anniversary to stay in the same room. We love it here. The views are out of this world - I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere with such breathtaking views. The staff are very nice, competent and helpful. We always order breakfast room service, and the food is delicious. We also have lunch on the patio and it is always good. The hot tub and pool area are lovely and relaxing. The furnishings in the room had a nice retro touch and we actually like it, it is not like every other hotel. The king bed with crisp and clean lines and eight pillows is heaven.

Long story short - we love it. We would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We stay in the same room, 220, every time we visit. It is on the end and is is quiet and has a fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Awakening to the beauty of the Garden of the Gods sparkling out the patio windows is my favorite Colorado view and I've stayed in some beautiful places. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bath/dressing area is the size and layout of some of the best hotels you can find in the state. There is a $15 lodge fee that is tacked on to your room rate which is not quoted in the room price but if you read the contract, they have appropriately notified you - I just think they should add it to the room rate because it is still worth the money and it's not questionable when you receive your final bill.
If you are staying in CS - pay a little extra and enjoy the comfort & luxury.

Room Tip: We prefer 200 maybe because it feels larger even though the front desk says they are all the same si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We only spent one night here as we were passing through but it was still a great experience. We didn't get off to the best start when we pulled under the porch in the pouring rain to check in and unpack our car. The parking valets were all polite and said that we were fine as there was space for at least two cars. Unfortunately this meant one of the elderly customers had to wait a couple of minutes for his car and as he went past to it he gave me the most incredible scowl!

Anyway check in was easy and they gave us a map of the resort. There is the main building where the restaurant and reception are and then a long building north and south where the rooms are and the spa etc.

The guests when we were there seemed to be a fair split between the more senior and the younger.

As everyone has said the view is amazing - even under the cloud and rain that we had when we were there the rocks in the Garden of the Gods glowed. We could also see that with the cloud over Pikes Peak it was going to be an interesting drive on our trip to the summit!

We were in a normal King room and it was huuuuuuggggeeee - the bed was great with nice crisp linens and 8 pillows! There was also furniture so you could sit inside and admire the view through the big patio doors or out on the balcony. There are sliding wooden shutters over the doors which kept out most of the light. There is also a gas fire that you can switch on with a flick of a switch. The toilet and bathroom and in another room, a walk in wardrobe and an area with the two sinks, fridge, dressing table. The toilet/bathroom could do with a little shelf or something out of the shower as there wasn't anywhere to safely put my glasses down.

As others have said the decor is a little 'retro' but it was spotlessly clean with only very minor signs of wear and tear. They have such a unique spot here they have to be careful in how they renovate it so not to alienate the more senior clientale but also encourage younger guests to stay as they will be their guests into the future. Judging by the mood boards they had up around the place they will do a great job.

The majority of the staff we came across were quite young but they were all very helpful and polite. Despite the rain we had a quick dip in the outdoor pool which was nice and warm and comes with the same great view!

Instead of running the gauntlet with the rules in the restaurant we decided to have room service. It arrived much faster than we were told and we were soon tucking in to a couple of 1/2 burgers!

All in all a short but excellent stay. I hope we will come back one day and be able to stay a little while longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our stay was amazing. The hotel is geared toward a more adult crowd but the staff was amazing about our 4yo. It's the other guests who aren't always psyched to see small children before summer. That is likely due to the fact that the kids area isn't open till after Memorial Day.

The staff was knowledgeable and very helpful. Every question was addressed promptly and courteously unlike other places we have stayed.

The hotel is more expensive than most but the rooms are beautiful and large. The staff does all that it can to make sure you feel like you are at staying at high end hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent two nights the end of April at the resort for a special birthday celebration. We were told beforehand that remodeling works were taking place during our stay, but we were not inconvenienced by it. The rooms are very nice and spacious, nice gas fireplace for chilly evenings and mornings. Roomy bathroom, walk-in closet and kitchenette with coffeemaker and fridge, all very well equipped. All rooms have a million dollar view over the Garden of the Gods and Pike's Peak. The first morning we had to wait 1 hour for breakfast, service was extremely slow and something must have gone wrong in the kitchen. They realized the problem and didn't charge us. The next morning breakfast was served in a timely manner. We also had dinner at the restaurant, the food is very good and there are some original dishes on the menu. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Depending on which piece is being rated, this review could go from excellent to poor. We stayed at the resort on Saturday, May 24th, expecting a luxury resort with full amenities. The view - EXCELLENT! Our room looked out over Garden of the Gods and was simply beautiful. Our large "deluxe" room... the first thing you notice is the smell used on the carpet to cover... what? smoke? mildew? old, outdated carpet?... whatever the reason, it smells like pepto bismol and it's horrid. The carpet and the furnishings are outdated and do not scream luxury - they may have 20 years ago but not today. For those who watch tv, I'm sure the two flat screens would be nice. The bathroom. and dressing area are huge but a waste of space. For that much room, there could be a huge walk-in shower or a large tub. Nope, just standard tub and very standard toiletries.

There are many weddings taking place here. When checking in, we were told dinner could only be in the fireside lounge and not the main dining room because of the wedding party. Ok. So, if you're looking for romantic, you won't find it at a hightop table next to the bar. There was one waitress and one person behind the bar who was making drinks for those in the bar - and also for the wedding party, while taking dinner orders. She did the best she could, but a few additional servers would have helped.

Spa services - the couples massage was great; April and Debra were wonderful! After our massage we were looking forward to hottub and pool time, having specifically reserved here because of the no children rule. The pool had a few rather loud boys and when asking about the policy, no one seemed to know when the no children rule went in to effect. A manager was finally found who said it went in effect the day previous, and came and asked that they try to be more quiet. It's not as if we're against children, but rules are rules - and don't advertise what will not be upheld; and, really, if they are in an adult area maybe they could be respectful and be quiet. We ordered lunch and it was mediocre, but that's personal preference. A couple hours later, I was able to get in for a manicure. Now, here's a problem. I was charged $10 to remove the shellac and another $10 to put it on. I was then charged another $35 for a manicure. Now, I'm not sure what they consider a manicure, but other than taking the polish off and putting it back on, the girl did nothing to my cuticles other than squirt some liquid on and push them up and then at the end rubbed a ridiculous amount of lotion on my hands and arms, to where I had to ask for a towel to wipe most of it off. Had I been told I'd pay $35 for that piece, I would have waited to come home to Denver and had a real manicure for a lot less than $66 (tips are included in all prices - which we actually liked).

So... couples massage for $204 - excellent value. Room charge of $400 with an extra $15 charge for Wifi - not even the view made it worth the smell and non-luxury feel. $66 for shellac manicure - waste of money. Dining experience - average. $700+ for a night in "luxury" and a spa day - lesson learned. Stay at the Broadmoor. The view may not be as great, but the amenities and luxury will be well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are appreciative for your comments and feedback. We agree that our views are as you stated EXCELLENT! We do, however, want your experience to be excellent too. I will share with you the reason for the large size of our rooms and walk-in closets are because we have guests that will stay weeks with us and therefore, need larger rooms and more space for their belongings. I’m glad to inform you we are in the process of upgrading our rooms and addressing the carpet and furnishings as part of our upgrade. I’m not yet able to determine why the carpet had a smell as if we sprayed something on it, but we are taking every measure to ensure that does not happen again.

We do host weddings with our magnificent views of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak as the backdrop. When we host weddings our Club Dining Room is always available for dining. However, the Club Dining Room was full that evening and as a result the Fireside Lounge was available. We should have also offered another dining option at our Kissing Camels Grille located in the golf clubhouse.

Please accept our apologies for your experience not being one that we wish to provide all our guests. We not only strive to meet expectations, but we want to exceed your expectations. The Spa services should have been explained to you in advance. Our staff should have been able to answer your questions regarding our Spa infinity pool and minimum age of 16 or older is required during the summer months.

Thanks to your comments we are addressing issues that should not have taken place and these improvements will make us better. We hope you will choose us in the future, not only for our unmatched views, but for the charm and ambiance of a boutique Lodge striving to provide personalized service.

-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Address: 3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.