We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Save Saved
You added Garden of the Gods Club and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Mansfield, TX.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“July 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had come down from 9 days camping up in the mountains near the RMNP. The nice clean rooms were a welcomed sight. Not to mention the pool. After a dip in the pool and nice long hot shower, we settled in for some room service and some cable TV. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The location was perfect as we headed to the Garden of the Gods that next morning. Highly recommended. A+++

Room Tip: The hotel is not exactly right on Hwy 24. Go up to Rudy's and follow the parking lot into the Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    102
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
132
217
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We spend one day in Colorado Springs and we were very lucky to be able stay in Lodge at the Garden of the Gods club,
You do not need to be member if you are staying in this hotel. The hotel is very nice but older, you can see the carpet in our room that is older the room setting is very nice but not the traditional settings. One very interesting each TV have. Camera on the top that I am not sure who is watching us.
Restaurant is very nice but they have dress requirements no jeans. That we were eating in bar and no problem. Very nice dinning and good food. The atmosfare is very nice and very welcoming.
You can sit on balcony and enjoying the geological beauty of the sandstone and Mather nature how make this place so attractive. People and servise are very helpful and go out for you to help you and serving you.
The best experience we had with the front desk person Derrick . We came after long day and just check in the hotel he was the first who help us and make our stay very pleasure and welcome us very nicely. I never have a nice welcome and service as we got from Derrick.
I will be coming back I hope Derrick will be there to welcome us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A wonderful lodge with spectacular views of the Rock Mountains and Garden of the Gods. Spotlessly clean, beautiful grounds and rooms with all the amenities, even double sinks. A very nice restaurant and bar with outside seating if you like. One of the finest places we have ever stayed!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Rockies with balconies and have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is outstanding, and may be the best hotel that I have stayed in. First, the rooms are enormous! Secondly ( and most importantly) every room has fantastic views of the Garden of the Gods, and a private patio to enjoy the views. The infinity pool also boasts these amazing views, and was not very crowded. The shower is also noteworthy, as the shower has excellent pressure (you could probably power wash a deck with this shower head). The resort fee was reasonable, and included bottled water, high speed wifi, access to all the member locations like the pool and golf course, and parking (which was right outside your room). The bedding w extraordinarily comfortable, and the room was very quiet. As an added bonus, the wildlife here was abundant! We saw hummingbirds, bluejays, rabbits, and several deer, one of which almost came up to our patio! The rooms are a bit dated, but the views more than made up for it. Overall this was a great hotel, and I would most likely stay here even if I wasn't able to get the great deal I got on it from Travelocity again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall, I rated The Lodge at GOG Club average for this type of resort. The most possitive things about our experience here were the views from our room, patio, and the resort's dining patios. They were wonderful! In the morning, with the mountains as a backdrop, the sun illuminating the large rock formations at Garden of the Gods was a sight to be seen. The beautiful lawn and landscaping in the lodge's back yard also set the stage for the beautiful sight.

The Club King room my husband and I stayed in was nice, clean, and spacious for the two of us. I liked our little patio that did have a sliding screen in addition to the sliding glass door. (I read a review before our visit that stated there wasn't a screen) The bed and pillows were comfy.

We booked a couples, deep-tissue massage at the spa which was very nice and about what we expected. Not much more or less.

The overall service of the hotel staff was about average and sometimes a little below average considering the type of lodge/club/resort that GOG Club is. Mostly average though. In my opinion, proper and formal training of all staff, especially front desk and restaurant, would make a HUGE difference for the better. Front desk usually appeared to have only one clerk (possibly a manager in an office?) and couldn't answer some seemingly simple questions about the resort over the phone or in person and in some cases didn't offer to find answers. They were never rude though, maybe just under-trained.

The only big shortcomings of this resort for us were the dining experiences we had. Mainly only one that was downright bad. Since my husband and I really enjoy the convenience of a nice restaurant at a hotel or resort, we were very disappointed with our dining experience the one evening we chose to eat at the Lodge. We didn't feel up to getting all fancy to eat in the formal dining room/patio so we chose to dress nice but casually and eat in the lounge restaurant right next door. (The formal dining room only has a formal dress code, which they say means no denim or shorts, after 6pm. However, when we walked by most, if not all, of the men were wearing suits and ties and the women were in dresses or very dressy outfits, not just no denim or shorts. Since I believe GOG Club is still a country club in addition to a hotel/resort, understandably the members like to dress up for a nice dinner at their club. Breakfast and lunch are served in the main dining room without a dress code.) Anyway, so we arrived for dinner in the lounge and sat on the patio. We didn't have to wait very long initially for a waitress and when she came we ordered soup and salad with our entrees. After ordering, although we enjoyed nice conversation and the scenery, we didn't see our waitress again for over 30 minutes. Possibly even 40 to 45 min. My husband had been needing a water refill and we were getting hungry. To make a long story short, I think she'd forgotten to put our order in but never checked on us during that time and when my husband finally found her she blamed the wait on the busy, formal dining room. We are not rude or mean people so we didn't give her a hard time but then she never came back. She transferred our table to another waitress and we didn't see her again. I'm sure she was embarrassed. The second waitress was okay but didn't really apologize for our wait or explain what had happened. The night manager, if I remember correctly his name was Garfield, stopped by our table to apologize and gave us free dessert and 25% off our ticket. That was nice but of course we'd have preferred better service to begin with. Our breakfast dining and room service was okay. The food was average to good and some of it very good but not excellent.

Overall, the location of The Lodge at GOG Club and scenery made our long weekend trip well worth it. The adult only pool area looked very nice but we didn't utilize it much and when we did think about lounging there weren't waitstaff to place drink orders as I read somewhere. We're not sure yet if we'll stay here again. We want to come back to beautiful Colorado Springs area but we'll probably at least consider trying another resort just because, like I said, we really enjoy the convenience of good restaurants on site and after our experience and hearing other complaints about dining during our stay, not sure if it'll be worth it for us to try again or try another resort or hotel.

Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We are the type of people who go completely off of the reviews on trip advisor when choosing a hotel. We chose this one because of the high ratings it got on trip advisor. The one thing that was not mentioned was the fact that this place is a country club. You need to know that pants- not denim are required for supper. No hats or cell phones are permitted in the common areas. We have no problem with any of these rules, especially in a world where proper etiquette is going by the wayside. Also, keep in mind that they have a resort fee that gets charged on everything, room, restaurant bils, even my massage at the spa. When i asked what it was when i was paying my massage bill, they said part of it goes to pay the massage technician?!?! Im still kind of confused as to what this is for. Anyways, i would assume that this lodge is a little more used to the clientele that the country club brings in and are trying to accomodate the clientele that trip advisor brings in. People from all walks of life. That said, the area is breathtaking! Each room has a huge balcony with a spectacular view of the Garden of Gods. The rooms are a bit outdated but clean, bed was comfy. There is a patio by the lobby with a great view. Food in the restaurant really very good. Especially the Pasta night on wed nights. I think it was the best pasta i have ever eaten. Absolutely splendiferous!!! My massage by Catherine was really very good as well! The pool area is quite nice but no children are allowed. There is a pool across the street behind the lodge for the kids. From pictures hanging in the halls, i would think this lodge has been around for quite some time. Although the decor in the common area has been updated it still has an older country club feel to it. We loved staying here. It was really quite interesting:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While I think the room interiors are in need of a big update, I'd happily stay there again. The layout of the property is such that nearly every room has a majestic view of the mountains. The location near the Garden of the Gods park is a perk too. Finally although we did not have time to take advantage of it, the tennis courts looked lovely as did the gold course.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Address: 3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.