We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fires are gone. Colorado Springs is gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden of the Gods Club and Resort to your Saves list
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fires are gone. Colorado Springs is gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited the Garden of the Gods Club website and made reservations on short notice. We were surprised to find availability since summer is a peak season in Colorado Springs. We got an unbelievable deal with a terrific room (upgrade). Room 135 was 1 minute from the tennis courts! Apparently the fires scared people away. Nobody should stay away now! We saw the aftermath of the fire but there was no residual smoke or smell of the fire. It is a safe and outstanding place to visit again. The fires are over and the city is doing a remarkable job in cleaning up. The sense of community spirit and outreach is inspiring. We had a wonderful stay at the Garden of the Gods Club. The staff were professional and attentive. We have stayed at The Lodge many times. As always, the atmosphere was spectacular and the facility was in perfect condition. There were 2 wedding functions in the evenings but they were apart from the dining room and other guests. We had a great time playing tennis on the beautiful courts. The spa and pool were relaxing and enjoyable. The golf course looked beautiful but we did not have enough time to do everything. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: Tennis players ought to try to stay in the spa building or near the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thanks for your kind words about our resort and surrounding community. You're correct that the fire is contained, and Colorado Springs is open for business once again! Our view is just as beautiful as ever, and it's a great time to visit. We're so glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy our tennis courts, spa, and pool during your stay. Our golf course , Kissing Camels, is definitely worth playing at least once, so we hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again and give it a try. Our golf package is a great deal! Also, we are just a short drive from Centennial--perfect for a quick weekend getaway. We hope to welcome you back to The Lodge at Garden of the Gods Club again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    120
    46
    14
    9
See reviews for
153
282
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Let me start by saying this is the BEST vacation we ever had. We were planning on spending my birthday in Colorado Springs (our first vacation in Colorado) and couldn't decide on where to stay. After much research and planning we chose the GGC and are so very very glad we did. The Location is excellent , the setting could not be more perfect and the views are to die for !!! We were there for 3 nights and booked the sunrise breakfast package , at $154/night , it was a little pricey but absolutely worth it !! Right from the lobby, to the spa , the outdoors dining area and the lodge , the place is spectacular, well maintained and spotless !! We had the South Patio Room , with a view of the Garden of the Gods and the Kissing Camels !! Waking up to that view every morning just made the whole trip worthwhile , not to mention the bunnies and the beautiful birds that visited our patio !! The room itself was huge, with a fireplace(very useful , since it snowed in MAY !!!) ,large comfy beds and the best (biggest)bathroom I have ever seen complete with speaker system and heated towel rack !
The breakfast was amazing !! You can choose any of the items on the menu (lesser or equal priced ofcourse) , to subsitute for the sunrise breakfast (I LOVED the sunrise breakfast , the bacon was delicious !!) I would definitely recommend the Huevos Rancheros , out of this world delicious !! We did not get a chance to try out the Lodge for dinner , but since we are planning many many more vacations to the GGC , I am sure we will have good things to say !!
Two thumbs up to the staff and management for an excellent job. We have already recommended this place to all our friends and infact a few are planning their vacations soon !!

Room Tip: Our South Patio room had amazing views (I am sure all rooms do) just be sure to ask for something n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your birthday and Colorado vacation at The Lodge. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back! We are also honored that you've recommended us to your friends and family. Our staff considers that a huge compliment, and we are very grateful. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and can highly recommend it. None of the problems other reviewers have mentioned about not being welcomed or being made to feel uncomfortable despite the fact that the hotel was very busy with a function.

We ate in the lounge area which was great, no dress code and good service.

The pool was lovely and the atmosphere really peaceful would have loved to stay longer.

The room was really good, as other reviewers have said great bathroom and dressing rom area and nice sitting area plus private patio

Room Tip: Our room was ground flloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge at Garden of the Gods Club! Thanks so much for your kind words about our service, spa pool, and spacious accommodations. Our staff is so appreciative that you took the time to write a review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the newer large rooms. When we arrived there on Sunday the 24th there was smoke everywhere from the Waldo fire. Fortunatly that night the smoke disapated. The hotel advised us of the voluntary evacuation and we decided to stay. It was like a ghost town durring the two days. The room was nice and clean and appeared newly renovated. The view was even more amazing with the night time glow of the fire Most of the local attractions were closed and the hotel credited back for half our stay. I can apprecitate the great customer service the hotel managment and staff provided. I will be going back.

Bummer for the people of Colorado springs with the fire spreading into the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Pjromer, we appreciate your choice to stay at The Lodge at Garden of the Gods Club. While it's unfortunate that the Waldo Canyon fire happened during your visit, we are relieved to hear that you still enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night so that we could visit Garden of the Gods and Seven Falls. The photos and recommendations made it seem like one of the best hotels in Colorado Springs. I would agree. The rooms are huge, COMFY beds and sheets, the view is like a postcard, staff is very kind and accommodating. But, caution, I booked last minute online through Expedia...our first room was in the South lodge separate from the main lodge. The rooms looked like they were in a time warp from 1955. The double beds looked liked slightly stretched twins, the bedding was old and the rooms even smelled musty. I was shocked I was paying $219/night. We were about to leave when the front desk person gave us a room in the main lodge. It was gorgeous and matched the photos online. I couldn't believe it was the same hotel.
So, yes, stay here, it is a great place and location - but be sure to get a room in the main building :)

Room Tip: CAUTION - Make sure you ask for a room in the main lodge. They are wonderful. The others have not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
TGBailey, thanks for your comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed our views, comfortable bedding, and service. To provide a bit of clarification for other potential guests, our Lodge has three areas--the North Club, the South Club, and the South Patio. The North and South Club guest rooms are located in our main Lodge, and these rooms have had the most enhancements made to their decor. While the guest rooms in the South Patio, on the other hand, have not had as many enhancements made, many of our members and guests prefer these rooms for their walk-up access, privacy, and close proximity to the pool, spa, and tennis courts. The South Patio rooms are also priced lower than the North and South Club rooms. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Room is spacious but needs some serious updating. A microwave would be a great addition. Appropriate attire is required so make sure to do some research. Overall, pricey but the views are worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks for your review and kind words about our views. We are in the process of enhancing guest room decor, and we appreciate your suggestion to add a microwave. We do provide information about resort attire in our Lodge confirmation letter, and our front desk team is happy to answer any questions that guests may have about what to pack for their stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the lodge for the first time. Was blown away by the view from our room. Our own somewhat private patio. Though the room was large and had a nice firplace it seemed to have outdated furniture, bed was great. At check-in we received weird looks by the staff as though we didn't belong there. Dining staff was great with their service and recommendations. Overall good stay but the rules and attire a bit of a let down. Rooms a bit pricey for what you receive. Food well priced for the portions and quality.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks for your review and for your comments about our breathtaking views, food, and dining room service. I'm disappointed to learn that you didn't feel welcomed by our front desk team; our new front desk manager, Derek, will definitely address this feedback with the staff, as our goal is to delight each and every guest with our friendliness and excellent service. We are in the process of updating guest room decor, and we are glad that you found the new mattresses/bedding comfortable. As Garden of the Gods Club is a private club with an upscale atmosphere, we do ask that our Lodge guests observe "resort casual" attire. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and we wish you the best, wherever your future travels may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Address: 3320 Mesa Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.