We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Lodge

Sunflower Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunflower Lodge to your Saves list
Sunflower Lodge
3703 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had looked at this property online and when we got there, it was pretty much as I expected it. We don't usually stay in 5 star hotels, so this place was fine with us, especially for 1 night. The owner was friendly, check-in was easy. The bedroom was large enough, nicely furnished, comfortable king-sized bed. Bathroom was tiny, shower was old and cheaply built, but it was sufficient. One interesting thing: There was only 1 water control for each sink/shower, so only one temperature for the water. Shower was warm, but couldn't get cool water to drink or rinse with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! It had the feel of a bed and breakfast because of all the personal touches. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, friendly staff. We plan on staying here everytime we come to colorado springs!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at the Sunflower Lodge recently and found the cottage to be serviceable. It is certainly not fancy but I did not expect that. The inside was clean. The water pressure in the shower was very low.
The problem with the Sunflower Lodge is the neighborhood. It looked very rundown and seedy. I would not allow my children (teenagers) to walk around outside.
If you need a place just to use as a room to stay in it is ok. But if you are looking to enjoy the locale you will probably be let down.

Room Tip: Colorado Springs is a big place make sure you book in the right part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Sunflower Lodge. It suited us well. It is not fancy or spacious but worked just fine.The king sized bed was super comfortable. The kitchen was a nice bonus and well equipped. Owner was pleasant and kind. The location was great for a visit to this area. Close to Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon, Bear Creek Nature Reserve, Cheyenne Mountain. It is just between Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs, both charming towns full of galleries , shops and dining. The architecture in both of these towns is a delight. Though these little free standing cabins are on a main road, the traffic is minimal at night and the walls and windows do a good job of keeping sound out. It was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent one night at the Sunflower Lodge. The owners were nice and, from the outside, the little casita looked really charming, like a little adobe cabin.. Our night there, however, was a sorry disappointment. The decor and furniture was cheap and very tacky. The mattress was way too soft. The furnace was old, loud and ran every 14 seconds so it was a noisy night. The water in the shower was barely hot enough. Only one burner worked on the two-burner electric stove. The cookware didn't have any lids. The one skillet had food residue in it. I wish I could recommend this place but I can't.

Room Tip: I can only report on the one room available for guests with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We rented the room with a king size bed to celebrate a birthday and we couldn't be happier. The stand alone adobe rooms are adorable! The bed was so comfortable, the sheets amazingly soft, and the kitchenette had everything including silverware, pots & pans, a toaster,microwave, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, and on and on. The bathroom was a shower only and that was just fine with us. The only odd thing was that you can't control the water temperature at all in the shower, bathroom sink, or kitchen sink. This was a first for both of us. The temperature was just perfect for a hot morning shower, just odd when brushing your teeth. The price can't be beat and I think we'll be returning over Thanksgiving!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'd shopped various different lodges online and came across the Sunflower Lodge. My wife and I were on a getaway weekend from Breckenridge, CO and absolutely loved this place. In short, if you're looking for a place with tons of amenities, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a place that's run by owners that care and offer basic amenities, at an affordable price, come here. Very clean, quiet, and cozy. We'll be back for sure. -Ron in Breckenridge.

Room Tip: Don't be a demanding pompous type and you'll be fine! This place is clean and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Lodge

Address: 3703 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunflower Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.