We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Lodge

Sunflower Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunflower Lodge to your Saves list
Sunflower Lodge
3703 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. It was conveinent to all the locations we wanted to see. Really loved the little lodges. Very clean and homey. Great staff meeting my every need. Enjoyed having the kitchenette. I will definitely stay here on any future trips. Access to Garden of the Gods made it easy to keep up with my early morning walks, when weather permitted that is. I would recommend it to anyone visiting that area.

Room Tip: Get your reservations in early as it is a small place and will fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed two nights. Quiet and peaceful. Room was squeaky clean. There was always a parking spot available. Good location. On the down side, we reserved a king and got a queen; room smelled of cigarette smoke; bed was so soft it was hard to sleep two; brown water from the kitchen tap; fridge didn't seem to work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

Traveled from Little Rock to Colorado Springs by airplane. Landed at COS expecting to stay at at a Hampton near downtown Colorado Springs, but didn't get the reservation and had to scrounge for a room somewhere else. The Sunflower Lodge is what I chose because it still had vacancy. Stayed in room 42 which had some chairs and a nice glass table along with a Propane grill outside. Didn't expect much from the outside, but the inside was suprisingly very nice. Had a nice queen bed with a kitchenette, small bathroom, and many other little features. Also had Directv on an old 90's Symphonic TV. I asked the owner where the dog walk was, he said behind the rooms. It was obviously. Also in the back, there is a broken-up picnic table, a trampoline, and a fence leading to another property. Asked if there was continental breakfast, he said not on-site, but at the Rainbow Lodge next door. Continental Breakfast was little, but alright for the short walk. Also, I used the small old pool at the Rainbow. Although it doesn't have many amenities, it is way above what I believed it would be.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at Sunflower Lodge for four nights and thought it was a really great place. Old motor court style motel with each room a separate building. Our room had a king bed, kitchenette with small table, bathroom with a shower, and DirecTV. The room was older but clean and well maintained. The kitchen had a two burner stove, microwave, coffee maker, dorm sized fridge and a toaster as well as a few glasses, dishes, pots and utensils. Everything you could need! The room was very quiet too. We were close to a fairly busy street but never noticed any noise from inside the room.

The outside area is charming and they have done a wonderful job with landscaping and potted plants everywhere. It's very pretty. There was a nice area between our room and the next with a nice picnic area and a grill (we didn't use the grill).

The people who run the Sunflower Lodge were very friendly and helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

The location couldn't be better. We were just a few short minutes away from everywhere we wanted to go. The Garden of the Gods, The Pike's Peak Cog Railway, Cheyenne Cañon, Downtown Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City.

We really enjoyed our stay at

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The Sunflower Lodge is a classic motel from the 1950's. Each unit is independent. Ours had a queen-sized bed, a sitting area, a bathroom and a kitchenette. All of this for $60! It was nothing fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and very conveniently located to downtown Manitou Springs and Garden of the Gods. The manager was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

I stayed here one night and was very satisfied. Clean, comfortable, roomy units at a reasonable price. Inside & outside look newly renovated. Each room is its own cabin, so you don't hear your neighbor's TV.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We had reserved a room for two nights at the Rainbow Lodge, but when we arrived, the manager sent us next door to the Sunflower Lodge, owned by his cousin. This was a little annoying, but we looked at the cabin that was offered and it was acceptable. The facility was much less modern than the Rainbow Lodge, but since the units were not connected to each other, we thought it might be more private and quieter. (It was.) We were told that we could use the pool and laundry next door at the Rainbow Lodge, and could come there for the free continental breakfast. In any case, the price was very reasonable, and we got a 10% discount for staying two nights.

The room was adequate, with a comfortable bed and small TV, but there was little storage space and no chairs. There was a kitchenette with a small fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, toaster and coffee maker.

The breakfast at the Rainbow Lodge wasn't worth the short walk over, and, after looking at what we offered, we decided to eat in our room. It was very high on carbs, with only two cereals, raisin bran and some colored kids' stuff, no fruit or yogurt. And the coffee wasn't worth drinking, according to coffeemaven. (I'm a tea drinker.)

We had a problem with our toilet, which kept getting stuffed up. Each time we informed them of this someone came to plunge it and finally they said they needed to call rotorooter.

The management was friendly, and did their best to be helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Toilet kept stuffing up
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Lodge

Address: 3703 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunflower Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.