We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, fantastic, perfect...not much else to say.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos Bistro

Carlos Bistro
1025 S 21st St, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3705
719-471-2905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlos Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,078 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hw 24
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, fantastic, perfect...not much else to say.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Carlos’ Bistro is that rare gem which once found, you will want to return. Be it only a visit for a special occasion or more regularly. Regardless of your frequency, Carlos greets you as a welcome visitor and truly appreciates your visit.

Carlos’ Bistro is in a non-descript building but after he greets you in the parking lot, heartily shakes your hand and welcomes you through the front door, you’re taken into what is going to be the most incredible dining experience in Colorado. From the exception quality of the menu items to the attentive, but unobtrusive service, to the vastness of the wine list. Carlos’ Bistro is an experience not to be missed.

We visited Carlos’ Bistro with five friends very recently and loved it...again. We could find fault with nothing. We sat outside on the patio this time and the service is as good as inside the restaurant.

For appetizers my wife and I chose the steak tartare and the ceviche. Simply among the best (if not the best) of both we’ve ever had, including those from restaurants we’ve visiting in Paris, Caribbean and Mexico in the past.

For dinner my wife had grilled sea scallops and I had the pork chop, both were fantastic. The grilled sea scallops were flavorful and melted in your mouth. The pork chop was a generous cut, grilled to perfection and decadent.

We ordered wine from the $50 bottle menu which provides many high quality choices for lovers of white or red wine. There are higher priced wines, many very recognizable and sought after names if you’re inclined. We will be trying some of our favorites.

The best part of the wine list? Sunday and Monday nights through the summer offer bottles of wine at 50% off.

Carlos is ever present to ensure your experience is everything he expects. His expectations for you are likely higher than your own. We’ve dined at many places around the world and have seldom, if ever, felt more welcome than we feel at Carlos’ Bistro. He and his staff make sure you enjoy your visit! There’s a reason this restaurant has been voted #1 in Colorado by Zagat in 2013 and 2014.

If you visit, you won’t regret it, we never do.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    24
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Thanks, Carlos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a gem. Off the beaten path, in Colorado Springs. Carlos greeted us in the parking lot, which apparently is the norm. That added to the local charm. Service was quite good. Menu is really varied, which was a bit strange (from seared Hudson Valley foie gras and $75/glass Chateau d'Yquem to Italian to Mediterranean veggie pasta), and prices were not cheap, but quality was quite good. Prime beef, Colorado rack of lamb, one of the best creme brûlées I've ever had. Good wine list. I think the main thing that would make it truly tops would be presentation. The dishes tended to be too busy to let the food truly shine. This is definitely a repeat, though! Carlos has something special here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at Carlos Bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I dined at Carlos Bistro to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We were staying at the Broadmoor Hotel on a Monday night and most of the hotel restaurants were closed. So we ventured elsewhere and we're so glad we did! Like other reviewers mentioned, Carlos greeted us in the parking lot as we were heading into the restaurant. The menu has so many mouth watering choices it was hard to decide what to order. We opted to start with the portobello mushroom soup, which was delicious. We then had the special lobster salad, which I guess Carlos is famous for. It was different from anything you've probably had before - lots of varied ingredients including scrumptious lobster, goat cheese, and pink grapefruit. Try it, you'll like it. For our main courses we had the creole shrimp and the fish special, which was Nova Scotia halibut. The shrimp pasta was incredibility rich with just the right amount of spice. The halibut was on a bed of saffron risotto. Both the fish and the risotto were very flavorful. We were so full we had to pass on the numerous desserts, all of which sounded amazing too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not my type”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Service was good. Owner was friendly. Reservation, Location and parking were easy. Deco was decent. But wine was overpriced and taste of food was not my type - not French not American not Italian not Californian. In sum, dishes were not impressive nor delicious. I was excited to give this a try due to others' good review but disappointed. What a bummer after spending more than $200 :(

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tastes of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Being greeted in the parking lot by the Owner was just the beginning of a great experience!
With a menu so vast that it doesn't matter what you may want, chances are it is on the menu.
Ask about the lobster salad! It was a plate licking kind of salad. It was not on the menu, so ask about it!! You won't be sorry!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Bistro also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Carlos Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.