We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Dog Barbecue

Bird Dog Barbecue
5984 Stetson Hills Blvd. #200, Colorado Springs, CO 80922
719-596-4900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,181 restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I thought a barbecue place rated #10 out of over 700 rated restaurants in a town of more than 400,000 people would be a good bet. I was quite wrong.

Ambience-Harsh, Neon-type lighting, plastic knives and forks, non-descript rock music loud enough to interrupt conversation. The place didn't look dirty but had an unkempt feel about it.

Food-We all ordered brisket, which was shredded like pulled pork. It was served at room temperature, so the sauce had congealed and the beef and sauce was sort of a blob. We had sides of corn on the cob ($2.10 for a small half cob) which had been sitting around the heat too long. Also soggy was the cole slaw, which I saw served-when the cook lifted a portion out of the container, a lot of liquid ran down and he held the slaw a long time to let the liquid run off.

While the food didn't taste bad, it did not rise above mediocre, more like you find at a school cafeteria. It was not cheap either-$12.50 for a pile of brisket with 2 sides and some bread. The brisket sandwich came with no sides and was just under $6. This is expensive for steam table quality.

It is hard for me to understand the high rating for this place, and the rating makes me wonder how it varies so wildly from our experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    68
    36
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Barbecue in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Quality BBQ was something that was seriously lacking in the Springs until Bird Dog came around. Sure there were a few places, a couple of them were even pretty good. Most of the others were overrated. Severely overrated -- popular only due to lack of other options.

Bird Dog knows how to smoke. You can tell the second you walk in. The food is not lacking in flavor (although periodically, it lacks moisture). The meats are pretty tasty -- from the ribs to the Polish sausage, they are filled with smoky goodness. They have three add-your-own sauces available, including Wasabique, a unique horseradish based sauce which is a personal favorite. They have your standard sides: okra, coleslaw, corn, potato salad and beans (those actually are worth eating and not just fillers on the plate). Then there's the cobbler. They have two flavors, peach and apple. It has all that home-cooked comfort food stuff going for it. I get mine as a side in a to-go container and save it for when I have room again.

Bird Dog has two locations, one on Powers near Stetson Hills and one on Briargate Parkway and I-25. Neither one is fancy and you'll come out smelling like smoky BBQ, but then again, you don't go here for the decor anyway.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My favorites here would have to be the turkey with a side of okra and peach cobbler as a finish. Service is prompt and they are willing to take considerations for Gluten allergies. The portions are adequately sized and the sauces have great flavor and consistency. Try the wasabi bbq sauce, a fresh take on your typical Kansas city style sauce. Of course they have a spicy and an original as well. The tables have pics of dogs brought in by owners and they are always friendly here. I don't think there's a thing I dislike!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Forest, CO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

More "old school" than some, which I kinda like. It's not gonna change your life, but if you love BBQ you'll certainly leave satisfied. Check out the daily lunch specials for the best value. Very casual place ... paper towels for napkins, etc. Decent prices and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Nothing great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I don't ever remember having a brisket plate with the brisket chopped. I'd be inclined to believe it is to cover up overcooked brisket that won't stay together sliced. Really not much taste to the brisket either - tasted like it came out of an oven, not a smoker. I'm really surprised it gets such good ratings. It also seemed kind of overpriced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Dog Barbecue also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Bird Dog Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Dog Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.