We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Home Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Home Ranch
Save
You added The Home Ranch to your Saves list
54880 Routt County Rd 129, Clark, CO 80428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Queensland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wonderful and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family (two adults and three teenagers) stayed at the Home Ranch for 5 nights. It was a special treat! We enjoyed a six week holiday in the US and this was our highlight. It was a special experience from the moment we were collected from the airport until the moment we were dropped back. Great food, great everything! We enjoyed every moment - the cross country skiing, the other guests, the staff. We were even treated to a couple of nights of amazing music. The people from Home Ranch were perfect - thank you all! We can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bunkhouse which was prefect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnyfisher, General Manager at The Home Ranch, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Tarkyone,
It's great to hear that we were the highlight of your US trip. Having Australians here at the Ranch gave the atmosphere an extra boost! Thank you for your comments and we hope it won't be too long for your return.

Sincerely,
Johnny Fisher
General Manager
The Home Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Home Ranch for years and have been there for Christmas and several springtime dates. The location is beautiful and well located for cross country skiing, snow shoe-ing on ranch property or close by, or you can easily get to Steamboat for downhill skiing. The cabins are homey and comfortable, and the food is delicious. We always meet interesting people from all over. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnyfisher, General Manager at The Home Ranch, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Shellyset,
We're glad you had another great return to the Ranch! We always look forward to our repeat guests as they are our returning friends. Wishing you a great year and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Johnny Fisher
General Manager
The Home Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed at The Home Ranch many times,usually over Christmas and New Years day. For the umpteenth time, our cabin was Whistler, which overlooks a pasture with horses on it and a hot, hot, hot hot tub on the back porch. We meet up with people who have been there with us in previous years. Its like a school reunion.The manager, John and the office manager, Selena greet us warmly. The property is vast and gorgeous.Besides down hill skiing in Steamboat Springs, which my spouse did every day, there is on property cross country skiing and snowshoeing. Mike, Mark, and Andy are skilled guides and teachers, who can help you every day and show you undiscovered trails and vistas. If you are aching and exhausted, Leslie, the massage therapist ,is gifted with her hands as well as her intuition.
Now for the food: superb in every way served at 2 communal tables.This is a relais and chateau property and the food is testimony to that: oatmeal pancakes, croissants that live up to and surpass French standards,elk, fresh salmon to name a few. I am glad that with all the activities, I can let loose with the food. For a great winter vacation, come here for a wonderful treat.

Room Tip: We like the cabins,as opposed to the few rooms in the lodge itself.They feellike small, snug homes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnyfisher, General Manager at The Home Ranch, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear mflicjermd,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is always great to have you and your family here at the Ranch, and we look forward to next year!

Sincerely,
Johnny Fisher
General Manager
The Home Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at The Home Ranch, the cabins were so comfortable, with a wood burning stove and full sized Jacuzzi on the porch. We had fresh flowers in our room and nightly turn down, they even replace our humidifier because it was making a loud noise (we did not ask them to do this, they just did). Every person on staff was friendly and went out of their way to make sure the guests enjoyed themselves. Johnny the general manager was so kind and this shows in his staff, Tyler our server was always there to take care of us with a smile, Alex the fishing guide was very patient teaching everyone the art of fly fishing,Kelly, Lindsey & Alec the wranglers were knowledgeable about the area and the ranch and were helpful on our great rides thru the aspen leaf covered trails. Selina was great with our check in making sure we were comfortable. The food was outstanding; we even had lamb for lunch! The stars at night were amazing, I can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Johnny, Kelly, Mike, and ALL of the team were the best! Right form the start everyone knew our names! They were always accommodating us and inquiring how we would like to spend our days. With a family of four-it became easy to suit everyone's activities! It has been a little over 6 months since we stayed there (Mar 2012) and we are still talking about it! Take advantage of the CC ski trails and horseback riding since you'll be eating exquisite gourmet food and will want to work it all off! Great way to meet other travellers- it felt like one big family! I'd also recommend spending a day in Steamboat and doing some alpine skiing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We planned this trip for over a year - and it was worth the waiting. The place is incredibly beautiful. The staff is wonderfully accommodating. (When I gushed about the incredible coffee and inquired where I might buy some I was told there was no place a private person could purchase it on the market, but the evening before we left a 5lb bag was brought to my chair. This is truly the place where "everybody knows your name." The food was the best I've eaten anywhere. (I had a waffle for breakfast the other morning that was, hands down, the best waffle I have EVER IN MY LIFE eaten. And did I mention that they even taught me (at 64 years old!) how to ride!!! Wow!! My husband went fishing every single day and had the time of his life.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but, if you can afford the extra, the cabins are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful week of riding, fly fishing, hiking, and gourmet dining in absolutely beautiful mountain surroundings. Everyone there, from Johnny the manager to Clyde, Executive Chef, Kelly, Head Wrangler, Selina in the office are all exceptionally welcoming and "no" is not in their vocabulary. I cannot imagine a more beautiful location, more gracious hosts, or higher quality horses. This is an incredible place and people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Home Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home Ranch

Address: 54880 Routt County Rd 129, Clark, CO 80428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Clark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Clark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Home Ranch Hotel Clark
The Home Ranch Clark, Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Home Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.