We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk River Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elk River Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Elk River Guest Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   29840 County Rd 64 (Seedhouse Road), Clark, CO 80428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband, 4 year old daughter and I stayed here right before the holidays. We had purchased a Groupon Getaway, and we were very pleased. The cabins were incredibly clean, well-stocked in the kitchenette, and it's nice that it's so close to Steamboat. We also had a complimentary drink coupon upon our arrival, so we hit the cute little Saloon on the premises. While there, we chatted with the owners who are incredibly accommodating and friendly! We loved the 'family run' atmosphere! In the morning we took a little walk around the property and it's organized, clean, friendly, and well-run. We are going to try to go back again this summer!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, Owner at Elk River Guest Ranch, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you had a good time, and definitely hope you come back in the summer and see how different it is when it's not covered with snow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed a couple nights here recently and we really loved it. It was about a four hour drive from where we live but it was worth it. The drive to get there alone is so beautiful. The room is fully equipped and so peaceful. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. It's just a relaxing, amazing place to get away from the world!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bear's Den on the very end of the ranch. We loved having one side completely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, Owner at Elk River Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad you had a good time and hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just returned from a weekend at the Elk River Guest Ranch. The weekend was a gift from our daughter and son-in-law and we all spent the weekend in the Evergreen Cabin, along with our lab puppy. Josh and Susan were the perfect hosts. They have recently purchased Elk River Guest Ranch and are working VERY hard to upgrade it and meet every wish of their guests. It is quaint and laid back - no TV in the cabins. A Saloon on the ranch however has a wide selection of snacks and drinks (adult and other) as well as a large flat panel TV for those Bronco games. The cabin was very clean and had a well-equipped kitchen, as well as a small wood stove. Beds were comfy and plenty of warm blankets. We called up ahead to ask if there was a big pot and a griddle in the kitchen for us to use for chili and pancakes. Susan made sure both of these items were available in our cabin. The scenery and trees were spectacular, as was the setting. We will be back! Thanks Susan, Josh, and Cooper!

Room Tip: Evergreen cabin was great size for 4 adults and a dog! Both bedrooms are on the back and the whole r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, Owner at Elk River Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the feedback, and are so glad you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent a couple days in heaven this past weekend! The Elk River Guest Ranch was just what we needed to unwind and recharge for the hectic life we live. Josh, Susan, and Michelle go the extra yard to make you feel right at home on the ranch. We stayed in the Aspen cabin with our dog and it was very comfy. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and amenities for such a rustic cabin. When we had a minor problem with the stove, it was fixed pronto! They even opened up the saloon for us to watch the Broncos beat the Cowboys in an exciting finish! The area is so beautiful with the fall colors and the nearby stream and the ranch is in the perfect location to enjoy it all! Leave your hectic life behind and check this place out...you'll be pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, Owner at Elk River Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We're so glad you had a good experience and hope you come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We bought the living social deal and went up with 2 kids, 2 adults and a dog. The 2 bedroom cabin was clean and comfortable. The owners were very nice. The kids loved riding their bikes around the camp. We took a day and went up to Steamboat Lake, played in the river and just relaxed. It is a beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, Owner at Elk River Guest Ranch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We're glad you had a good time and hope you'll come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nana, Auntie & son's family of five stayed in the two bedroom cabin. We had a great time. Beds were comfortable, everything was clean and kitchen well supplied. Great walk to the river and beautiful surroundings. We loved it and will definately go back and recommend to friends. Really hope for a stay I. The winter as well! The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would be happy to be there right now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, Owner at Elk River Guest Ranch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2013. Our cabin, the Evergreen, was delightfully decorated, cozy and spotless, in a beautiful and serene setting. This was an ideal set-up with small children, as we could walk out our front door to the fire pit to roast hot dogs and marshmallows (their hands-down favorite part of the trip), explore the grounds of the ranch, and then have easy access to hiking in Routt National Forest or activities in Steamboat (about 20-25 minutes away). With the ranch's saloon nearby us in the central commons area, my husband and I were even able to have "date night" with a drink on our cabin's front porch once the kids were tucked into their bunk beds. The cabin's full kitchen allowed us to bring our own food and eat all our meals in as well as make picnic lunches to take on outings; an absolute godsend with little kids (as well as a money-saver)! This was a very special experience compared to a regular hotel and felt like we were camping out in a glorious forest, while containing all the comforts of home and meeting the needs of our young family. The new owners (they had owned it three weeks when we stayed) are very nice and accommodating and I am looking forward to seeing what they do to take the ranch to the next level. It is great now but also has tons of potential.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, Owner at Elk River Guest Ranch, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We're so thrilled you had a great experience and we're working hard to make it even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk River Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk River Guest Ranch

Address: 29840 County Rd 64 (Seedhouse Road), Clark, CO 80428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Clark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Clark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk River Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Colorado in our comfortable guest cabins on the Elk River, surrounded by Routt National Forest. Fish, hunt, hike, bike, ski, snowshoe... The choice is yours! Enjoy a drink on the patio of our saloon, just relax and listen to the river. At Elk River Guest Ranch we want to make sure your getaway is comfortable, relaxing and carefree. We want to extend warm Colorado hospitality to you and your group. Please call or email us with any questions. Your vacation awaits... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Elk River Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk River Guest Ranch Clark, Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk River Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.