We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu & drinks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Bistro

Union Bistro
3 Wilcox, Castle Rock, CO 80104
+1 303-688-8159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 132 Restaurants in Castle Rock
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Street
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great menu & drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you are interested in a great meal, drinks and service the Union Bistro is for you! Looking for someplace special for date, family or friends? This is the place for excellent, attentive service, fresh food, varied menu, great drink choices and chocolate bread pudding with caramel ice cream put the exclamation point on our visit. When you enter the chef and food prep is on your left in full view, which I consider to be impressive! My wife and I have been here numerous times and will go back again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My partner and I love a good Happy Hour and this one is probably the best we've been to.- certainly in a long time! It's not cheap but it is worth the money.

The small plates they offer are not the usual greasy Happy Hour fare - we had a bowl of mixed olives, the potatoes served nacho style and the pork wings (slow cooked shanks) - can't praise each dish high enough. The margheritas were well poured too and I could definitely feel the alcohol buzz ;-) which is not always the case for Happy Hour!

The only downside is how popular it is - thankfully we got a seat outside, because it would definitely have been a wait for a table inside. Great atmosphere and buzz - highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Food at Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This restaurant has quite a menu and they offer small plates vs a normal size meal so you can taste a variety of foods they offer. Their small plate offerings are good size and I had the duck and it was very tasty. I would definitely go back. They say you need reservations but they had plenty of room on a Friday night at 5:30 pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small Plates at Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I especially recommend Happy Hour fron 2-6 pm from Tuesday-Saturday. We had the duck confit for $7 and it was wonderful. For $3 I had an interesting and tasty margarita. Nice atmosphere inside and out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Castle Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is our go-to place in Castle Rock. Great service, great food and great atmosphere. The weekly specials (wine Wednesday and martini Saturday) pack 'em in the door. We love it here! Mark the bartender rocks, and the salmon is to die for (Mark told us it is flown in fresh and hand cut in the back). Highly recommended hangout in the Rock!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Union Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.