We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Castle Rock Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Bistro

Union Bistro
3 Wilcox, Castle Rock, CO 80104
+1 303-688-8159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 132 Restaurants in Castle Rock
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Street
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another Castle Rock Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed a dinner with friends at Union while our kids were at a school event. Union and its sister restaurant, Uniscali, are two of our favorite restaurants!!! It's so nice to have convenient fine dining options in Castle Rock so we don't have to drive into downtown Denver! The beef tenderloin entree was fantastic! It was a tough to choose because we really enjoy their pork chop too. Also, the pear and berry pie was the perfect dessert to end the meal. Union will definitely remain one of our go-to restaurants!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LODO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go- get all the small plates!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Try it... it's relaxed and comfortable. Unique, especially for this area which genuinely lacks good food and non-franchised restaurants. Why? We need real food and good food.
Too bad it's not open on Monday. Try the desserts, too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The food here is good and a nice departure from the regular fare in Castle Rock. It is however expensive. I do not recommend it for children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Great Innovative Bistro in the heart of Castle Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A friend and I met to catch up over dinner last week and had a great evening from start to finish! The happy hour drink and app specials are pretty great.
i.e.
$3 well drinks
$3 house wines
$3 select beers
$3 fresh squeezed margaritas
AND----
$4 italian egg rolls
$4 sloppy cheesy joe sliders
$5 idaho nachos with white cheddar fondue
$5 crispy fried calamari with gremolata
$5 duck lettuce wraps

The place was hopping for a week night and everyone was enjoying a respite from the heat. Our calamari starter was absolutely delicious. The duck sliders we indulged in were so fresh and flavorful we ate like little piggies! Regardless, we ordered dinner to follow. My friend loved the salmon cake salad and I enjoyed the freshly steamed mussels. Service was kind and capable. The ambiance is laid back, candle lit bistro with a friendly vibe. The Union Bistro is an affordable & tasty escape when you want to breakout from the chains that inundate Castle Rock and most of the suburbs in general! Enjoy!

**PS Half priced bottles of wine on Wednesdays!! Woohoo!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Say "Yes!" to The Union in Castle Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

When visiting friends from Castle Rock, they took us to one of their favorite local restaurants, "Union". What a sweet place! The friendly Staff made us feel right at home and were so friendly and helpful. Loved the ambience as we enjoyed our drinks and meal in the lounge/bar area while sitting at the long, tall underlit bistro table (cool idea). We enjoyed the casual, informal atmosphere while enjoying some great food. We shared several small plates and all of them were packed with great flavor and very well presented. The menu had a wide range of options to please anyone; fun and interesting food and drinks. I wish I were a local as I'd never get tired of this place! So many items on the menu that I'd love to try! Our Server said they change the menu often which must make their regular customers happy. I also enjoyed the artwork they had displayed throughout the restaurant. I give this place a Five Star because it shines for food, service, ambience, price, and cleanliness.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Union Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.