We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celestial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Stone Church Restaurant

Old Stone Church Restaurant
210 3rd St, Castle Rock, CO 80104-2436
303-688-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 129 restaurants in Castle Rock
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Celestial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful, unique setting; gourmet menu, delicious food. A gem in the heart of downtown Castle Rock.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    76
    33
    9
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't order fish!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Old Stone Church for dinner on a Saturday night on the advice of friends who had previously dined there. The waitress described the evening dinner specials as being prime rib and "walu". She described the "walu" as being a white fish similar to halibut, but from Hawaii. As I enjoy good fish, I decided to give the walu a try. It was served with orchietta pasta, a red sauce and artichokes. It was just ok. I should have ordered the prime rib. About 24 hours later, I began having terrible diarrhea that was orange and oily! I started doing some research online and discovered this "walu" is really "Escobar"; a fish known for making people sick! This fish is banned in Japan, Italy and Hawaii! How can a chef serve a fish with this known reputation and side effects? Shame on the chef and the management of the Old Stone Church restaurant for serving unknowing diners this fish that will make them sick. I have reported this to the Douglas County Health Department. And, no, the OSC does not get any future business from me or anyone else I can forewarn.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FLorida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Stone Church has some disappointments, but overall is quite good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Old Stone Church Restaurant is just that, a converted church that has been restored. The ambience is nice but pedestrian and the food is mixed. I have never had a warm martini served to me so I don't know if it was just an aberration or not, but ask for it to be cold if you have a mind. The appetizers were mixed with a duck confit tostada being excellant and the crab cakes being just average. The lamb T-bone entree was very good with the temp perfect and the underlying roasted pepper sauce very good. As could be expected in the fish special was interesting but uninspired, it being a longggg way from any ocean. The mixed grill offered duck again that was outstanding with a cherry sauce. The venison sausage that accompanied the duck was sausage, but lost any semblance to venison in the process. All in all, a good dinner but not a great dinner. Service was a little indifferent but it appeared that new hires were being trained at the time and that seemed to be a priority.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went to eat here on a 'company meal out'. The food was delicious and the cocktails divine. I would highly recommend the Australian seabass and for desert the creme caramel. The menu is always new and enticing. Enjoy, we did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“It really is an old stone church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This place really has an old church feel to it. It certainly isn't roomy but that's OK. We've had lunch there but not dinner. The lunch menu is interesting ranging from Mahi Tacos, Rainbow Trout, and Tilapia Filet to Chicken Tinga Tostadas, Pork Carnitas, Shrimp Enchiladas. For some reason, I chose Fish and Chips and it was delicious. There is also a nice selection of salads. The wait staff was mostly very attentive young, friendly folks. The casual atmosphere was just what we wanted and we will try it for dinner when we can.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Stone Church Restaurant also viewed

 
Castle Rock, CO
 

Been to Old Stone Church Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Stone Church Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.