We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Better Management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Cowen Dr, Carbondale, CO 81623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carbondale
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs Better Management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have never rated a hotel before. However, in the room was a request go to the website to share my experience at the hotel. First off, the bed and room were comfortable and quiet. When I checked in, the desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. Likewise, when I checked out the next morning, front desk personnel were courteous and the checkout went quickly. The following deficiencies taken one by one would indicate poor employee performance; however, taken together indicate poor management.
The security lock on the room door was almost dangling from the screws that were in holes too large for the screws.
After taking a shower, when I started to dry off, I noted that the towel I was using had a spot on it that looked like either old blood or BM. Fortunately, there were other clean towels to use.
When I went for breakfast, part of the breakfast included biscuits and gravy. I finished off the last of the gravy. Although breakfast was supposed to go for an additional hour and a half, when I reported the lack of gravy, the attendant told me that they were totally out of gravy.

Individually, the above items would be irritating. However, as a combination this shows a lack of good management. Good management would never allow such a conglomeration of deficiencies to incur within one day.

If I am in the area again, I will stay at the hotel because overall it is a good location, with a good price and is comfortable. Hopefully, current or new management will have all the deficiencies corrected before that time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I regret that the hotel did not meet all your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    61
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
68
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

After checking out three other hotels in Glenwood Springs, Basalt and Carbondale, the Comfort Inn & Suites was by far the best place to stay. I am sure, for an arm or a leg you might find something in Aspen that is comparable, but feeling a pretty strong attachment to all our limbs, my wife and I were happy to couch them in such a clean and comfortable hotel in Carbondale. Woke up, ate some waffles, and headed on up to the ski resorts. Had we stayed another night, we would have been happy to come back and use the hot tub, but the trip was done. Oh, and service was great also--genuinely friendly people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Comfort Inn and Suites in Carbondale, CO, is a very comfortable place to stay. We stayed there the night before we were to check into our condo at Snowmass, and wished we could stay there longer. Unfortunately, it's just a little too far from Snowmass (about a 40-50 min. drive) to be a convenient place to stay and ski. However, if we ever need a place to stay in that area, we would definitely stay there again. (It's not too far from Glenwood Springs.)

The building is very inviting and comfortable. The rooms are a good size and clean. We were welcomed warmly when we arrived, and the front desk staff helped us several times, with restaurant recommendations and discounts, warm cookies, and the use of the breakfast room TV to view our vacation pictures.

Breakfast is included and is very good. There is a small swimming pool and a hot tub, which my friend and I enjoyed using.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Only :30 from Aspin, Buttermilk an Snowmass, this Inn is a wonderful find. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the view is breathtaking. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was well stocked and tasty. All this for about 1/3 the cost of staying in one of the more pricy places 15-20 miles further down the road!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
our complimentary review of our hotel is much appreciated! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon herer at the Comfort Inn and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The staff was very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and roomy. The location is great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Absolutely a wonderful hotel and great value. Front desk staff very friendly and efficient. The girl taking care of the continental breakfast never stopped assuring everything was full and clean. Bed and room was comfortable, clean and quite. Walks along the river in the AM with a cup of coffee was really nice too! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were checked in by very friendly and knowledgable staff. The facility was very clean and tastefully deccorated. The next morning, i noticed the desk clerk (Debbi F.) going out of her way to help another traveler with power supplies to get his sons video game and his GPS recharged. We checked out and left for a few hours only to return and ask about places in town to find some good food. Debbi F. knew of several and gave us a recommendation for the Pour House downtown. We went there and had a very nice lunch served by a very friendly staff. Cudos to all your staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale

Address: 920 Cowen Dr, Carbondale, CO 81623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary hot deluxe buffet breakfast, free Wi-Fi, microwave refrigerator, bike rental, fresh baked cookies at checkin time & beautiful mountain and river views near Aspen and Glenwood Spring ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Carbondale
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Carbondale
Carbondale Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.