We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gathering place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Smithy Restaurant

Village Smithy Restaurant
26 South Third Street, Carbondale, CO 81623
970-963-9990
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A gathering place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Smithy is the pulse of Carbondale. Locals catching up with each other, business meetings, visitors from out of town looking for a hearty meal at a reasonable cost. During the summer you will find people who have biked down from Aspen on the 40 miles bike trail from Aspen to Glenwood (or vice versa).

The restaurant has an indoor and outdoor seating area. Indoor is homey and warm with Tiffany style light shades. Outside is the porch which has a kind of cheesy canvas cover and heaters to accommodate people in the winter. During the summer the porch is open and really nice.

Expect to wait on Sunday and many Saturday mornings. Sign up and go across the street to Misers Merchantile to check the consignments. No reservations accepted.

Good coffee, quality teas, sport iced tea, fresh juices, and bloody mary are available.

For breakfast they have the usual egg offerings but are noted for huevos and variations on huevos. On weekends they have eggs benedicts. I like the breakfast quesadilla with spinach. Seasonal pancakes and cornmeal cakes are good choice as well. They offer a kashi medley as alternative to hash browns that is excellent. Oatmeal is good if you get there early in morning, later in day not so much.

Cinnamon rolls are made on site and the muffins and pies are really good.

Lunch includes panini sandwiches, homemade soups, big salads, and locally grown burgers. They also have some mexican food but there are better mexican lunch options around.

They also offer dinner a few nights a week during summer but it is mostly the lunch menu and Carbondale has lots of other choices for dinner that should be enjoyed. Nothing special.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    31
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great traditional breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

They make traditional breakfasts, do a great job and the servings are more than ample. They have upgraded coffee (no Farmer's Brothers here) as their house coffee, which is really nice. Service was responsive. The restrooms would be a borderline Health Dept concern, they really need a do over.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure visiting Village Smithy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our annual Christmas pilgrimage to the Aspen valley has always included a stop at Village Smithy (6 years running). The "batting average" there is nearly flawless, with this particular New Year's day stop being perfect. The setting is unique, warm, and inviting. The menu offerings are vast, and the individual selections were delicious. The service was friendly, and crisp. And as for value, this is one of the few restaurants in the valley where a fair price is charged for what you receive. We look forward to visiting during our trip next Christmas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food is up to our previous good impressions, but the service has slipped significantly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The Smithy has been a traditional visit for our family when we are all together at the holidays so the wait of 30 plus minutes was expected and one we were willing to make based upon about 10 years experience. We had a large group and were seated after about 40 - 45 mins wait on a Friday morning during the holiday break. We ordered the blueberry corn cakes ( another tradition), the McHuevoes, and the raisin French toast. The blueberry corn cakes were as great as always as were the McHuevoes. The French toast had wonderful accompaniments (bananas, nuts, and apple chicken sausage), but the toast was ordinary wonder bread-type bread and out of 6 1/2-slices we found only one raisin! The REAL maple syrup for an extra $1 is worth it in my book. The coffee is good, a strong French roast was served when we visited. Order two rather than the usual 3 blueberry corn cakes (unless you have a day of snowshoeing or cross-country skiing planned). We also recommend a carafe of the fresh squeezed OJ , it was excellent. The service was another story! The wait to be seated we understood, but the late and gruff waiter we could have done without. We had to ask multiple times for water, our coffee was never refilled, our order was not correct, and the correction took a while to remedy. We recommend the village Smithy for breakfast, but if you go don't be surprised if the service is not the best or what it used to be!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
“Horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have been visiting The Village Smithy for years whenever we are in the area, I'm not sure if it has changed hands, but the service was the worst I have ever had. When we walked in an older woman was helping someone at the register and had to ask the spiky haired "hostess" who was too busy playing on her phone to please seat us. After being sat, the restaurant was not busy at all, but it was Monday morning, our waitress took our order and disapeared. our food did come out in a timely matter and was as wonderful as always, but the only time we got a coffee refill was when the woman that had been at the register came by with the coffee pot. I love the food here, but am wondering if we should just get take out next time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Smithy Restaurant also viewed

Carbondale, CO
Carbondale, CO
 

Been to Village Smithy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Smithy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.