We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small town feel, big city vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town.

Town.
348 Main Street, Carbondale, CO 81623
970-963-6328
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Town. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Carbondale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“small town feel, big city vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

yet another cool, vibey space in a small colorado town. Enjoyed many small plates and found the found to be very good. Cool cocktails and a nice spirits/wine/beer selection. would go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Service Needs to catch up to the Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I write this after visiting Town three times. I also offer the disclaimer that I am an unabashed fan of Mark Fischer, both as a chef and as a restauranteur. The food at Town is what one would expect from Mark. It is innovative, interesting, playful, and beautifully executed. The problem for me has always been the service which is too frequently inefficient, apathetic, and lackadaisical. Our last visit was on October 6, for Sunday brunch. Our server had no idea what the fresh pastries( which are always very good) were, and told us to go up to the counter to find out. The counter was crowded with take-out orders and we couldn't get near the counter. If we wanted a refill on coffee, we had to help ourselves. And finally, the wait-person didn't write down our order, and got it all wrong. The manager was floating around singularly unhelpful. If I didn't know better, it would be a three and out for me. But I am confident the service will be streamlined, and will catch up to the food. But someone has to take charge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great meal with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Busy, busy restaurant with great food and great staff. Good wine and beer list, full bar. Bar is stocked with a lot of local Colorado liquors. Run by the same folks who used to run the now closed Six89 restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Those of you who review for TripAdvisor know that you are asked if this is one of the best meals you have had in a restaurant. Well, I said YES. Don't be fooled by the funny Doughnuts sign in the window like we were. The owner and cuisine are so creative and welcoming that you had better not miss this opportunity. We were fortunate enough to arrive on a day the lunch menu had been recreated. The chef, Bryan, had a tasting for his staff and the enthusiasm was apparent. We ordered 3 entrees for the 2 of us just because we could not select only 2. Treat yourselves and visit Town. We are sorry to head back to TX and not revisit until next summer!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything was terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

While we had heard mixed reviews, we had a wonderful evenings with friends. The menu was eclectic but interesting, the service was friendly and efficient, the outdoor seating comfortable, the portions and quality were perfect and the prices very reasonable. Overall, an enjoyable experience which we hope to repeat often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town. also viewed

 

Been to Town.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.