We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beer, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carbondale Beer Works

Carbondale Beer Works
647 Main St, Carbondale, CO 81623
970-704-1216
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Carbondale
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: Hand Crafted Beers with Gourmet Hot Dogs and other Pub Grub. Sunny Outdoor Seating. Free Wi-Fi!
Boulder
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great beer, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

and a really comfortable atmosphere. The menu must have changed since the last reviews in April, because we had plenty of choices beyond hotdogs. The entrees we picked were tasty.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay beers, skip the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Somehow my friends and I always end up here, every time we go out in Carbondale (not surprising, there aren't many "bars" to choose from). The house beers are pretty inconsistent in quality and suspiciously strong (I would advise anyone to have no more than two!) but the guest beers are usually pretty good. The patio is a great place to sit on a sunny afternoon.

The food's not usually worth the wait. If it's at all busy you'll be waiting awhile. Also, they do trivia one Thursday night per month and it is a MADHOUSE. Super busy, long waits, no tables available at all. Same with the first Friday every month.

All in all, this is a reliable place to come on nights when it's not terribly busy, and be sure to order a guest beer if you're a beer snob.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I love their Brewben and a few other dishes, but the board dish isn't worth ordering ... Very disappointing. Past that, the other menu items are filling and yummy and the beer is fantastic.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good beer - limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice patio and dog friendly. The beer was good but the menu was very limited unless you like hot dogs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Soak in the culture of western Colorado with great beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've visited nearly every brewery in western Colorado and Carbondale Beer Works remains my favorite tap room to visit. First off their beer. I'm a hop head, so I stick to IPA's, and theirs is good, if not slightly above average. I've taken many clients here and they all have enjoyed the full lineup of beers offered by a knowledgable brewmaster. They also have a small but unique guest tap list. Next up is the food. This is a small kitchen, and nothing fancy going on back there, but the result is always surprising. They specialize in hot dogs/brats and I usually get the elk jalapeño dog which is one of the best dogs I've ever had. I've tried most everything on the menu and while its all pub food, I feel it's better than average, especially given what the cooks have to work with. Taking into account good beer, good food, and the all-time atmosphere, I never miss a chance to spend an evening or happy hour here. This is a borderline locals spot, but don't be scared. The people are always warm, and virtually every night you may find an open jam, bluegrass band, or some poetry event. Whatever is going on it will be vibrant and exciting, but with a relaxed vibe. If you're in the area, make it a point to pop in for a beer, especially at happy hour, and experience craft beer/mountain town culture at is purest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carbondale Beer Works also viewed

 
Carbondale, CO
 

Been to Carbondale Beer Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carbondale Beer Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.