We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to Avalanche Rancy 3 times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalanche Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Ranch
Save
You added Avalanche Ranch to your Saves list
12863 Highway 133, Carbondale, CO 81623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Carbondale B&B and Inns
DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Been to Avalanche Rancy 3 times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We really like the small cabins at Avalanche ranch. Most of the cabins sleep 4 or less, so if you have a family of 5 or 6 you may need to call and try to see if you can fit everyone in one cabin. The cabins we have been in have always been clean. Each cabin has a theme. Home made cookies were waiting for us on the table with a welcome note when we arrived. We went during the summer with other family and our cabins were together. The hot springs are beautiful and warm. This is a very relaxing place. Plan to stay for a while. We have been here three different summers and are sure to come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

On a weeks adventure in Colorado, we came upon Avalanche Ranch - what a great find! Everything was just right. Great people. Neat store, and antiques store. Great cabin, comfy bed with a great view, wood stove that kept us warm. Excellent hot springs, and Facilities.
Highly recommend staying!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent a Sunday morning at the pools. The bathroom and dressing rooms were very clean as they have been in the past. (About a year ago).
The snakes were probably sleeping for the winter because we didn't see any but I seem to recall seeing one in the summer. Personally I like all types of nature and these snakes are not poisonous. They are attracted to the warmth of the land around the water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Avalanche Ranch surpassed my expectations. I traveled with 2 young teens,a 24 yr old son, and my husband and the Cabin was able to comfortably accommodate our needs. We were welcomed by a plate of cookies to a warm clean and cozy cabin(#12). The kitchen was well appointed, bathroom sufficient and the decor was kitschy.The cabins wear their many years well My family enjoyed the many animals running around on the property, chickens, dogs, cats and the usual farm animals. The hot pools are outstanding and the best we have ever experienced. They are superbly landscaped and work well with the breathtaking location. The four pools allow for a variety of temperatures to suite every taste and are clean, clear and void of sulfuric smell. The reason to stay overnight is to experience the springs in the evening for as long as you desire. The pools are open 24 hours for the overnight guests who are expected to abide by the house rules. We loved this trust and treasured our late evenings under the stars. The downside is that a few bad apples could ruin the experience for those staying. My suggestions are that the management was barely felt and a warm presence would of enhanced the personal experience. There should also be a room to store luggage for those guests who have checked out but wish to remain in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Three hot tubs with spring water of different temperatures. Waterfall in the lowest pool is attractive feature. You can get under it and behind it. Change rooms are too small for the number of visitors. We did not stay overnight there. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

There's a thick, crusty chasm between charming rustic and just plain dirty. At these nightly rates, a clean and maintained cabin shouldn't be too much to ask. The pools are quite beautiful, but that's as far as it goes. The cabin had both dead and live mice and was overall worn down and neglected. The ranch has barn animals on the property - chickens, lamas, etc. Sadly, their water troughs were slimy and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks, if not months. The pools however are stunning, and worth the daily pass to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I did not stay overnight but went to soak for the afternoon. The grounds are lovely. The pools are small and nice. Natural landscaping is perfect. My complaint is the state of the dressing room and bathroom. They are seriously gross. There were ants everywhere in the dressing room, empty soap containers but no soap in the shower, slimy broken wood palettes to stand on. It is just not that difficult to spruce it up, and it just appears as pure neglect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalanche Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Ranch

Address: 12863 Highway 133, Carbondale, CO 81623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carbondale
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 cozy log cabins, tastefully appointed, and a 3 bedroom Ranch House. Located on 36 acres 12 miles S. of Carbondale, CO. Spectacular mountain views! Hot Springs on site, stocked pond, riverfront, ice-skating, snowshoes provided. Great venue for family reunions, retreats, weddings and romantic getaways! Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalanche Ranch Hotel Carbondale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalanche Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.