We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotty's Beachfront Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Scotty's Beachfront Bar & Grill
167 Reid Rd, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
074068 8870
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Dessert, Australian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Venue
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great view & friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had lunch here- it's in a beautiful spot across the road from the beach. The food was great, particularly the barramundi fillet, service was welcoming & friendly. Definitely recommend going here for a drink or two & some great food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family visited the restaurant in July at our recent stay at Mission Beach and received a warm welcome despite having no reservation.

We were quickly seated and had a look at the menu which had something to please everyone.

We started with the dips which were fresh and clearly home made. We loved all the flavours....the only thing is a bit more Turkish bread would have helped as we ran out of bread well before we could finish the dips. We thought it was lovely the owner sought feedback on the dips and asked all of us which one we liked best. Sadly, we weren't much use in identifying a favourite as between the four of us, the verdict was split between them all. We loved the flavours and thought they were all good.

Our mains were delivered next and the food was good value for money with good size serves and again, everyone was happy with what they ordered.

The location was great and parking was easy. If there was one area that could improve, it would be the wine list. I'm a red wine drinker and there was a choice of 1 red. The owner took the time to explain how this wasn't requested a lot and therefore not viable to serve a big choice by the glass which is fair enough. Still, if there was a bigger choice, we probably would have settled in a bit longer.

We would recommend this restaurant and would happily eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sound menu, beautiful location, and a little bit of quirk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ate here one night and it was a pretty good experience. We didn't have a booking but walked from our accommodation to it and were immediately seated by one of the owners. Yes, it's true you have to order food from the counter but I'm way past affectation in that department. If that's the lie of the land then that's what you do! Starters reached the table quickly along with a comforting red. We had mains in about 30-35 minutes; mains were fresh, presented well, and of good portion size. My wife opted for a cocktail and the owner volunteered a 'Mocktail' to keep our 12 year old daughter happy. Simple yet effective customer service which works. This is a funny place as it has a vibe about it that I can't quite describe. The food was good and reasonably priced, the menu and alcohol roster were complete and the company and view were relaxing and calm, yet there was something quirky about the place I couldn't put my finger on - in a positive way. Probably go back when next in Mission Beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice food with a large range of menu options. Relaxed atmosphere. Owners are very friendly. Clearly a hit with everyone there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better food than Noosa!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great friendly staff. We had to wait awhile for our meals but they were worth every minute. We had steaks and kids had nachos. Awesome. Steaks were cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotty's Beachfront Bar & Grill also viewed

Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotty's Beachfront Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.