We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. Perfect. Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hibiscus Lodge
5 Kurrajong Close, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Zürich
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Perfect. Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We had the most wonderful stay at Hibiscus Lodge in Mission Beach. Adrienne and Robert are fantastic hosts and made our stay so memorable. We had planned to stay for two nights but extended our stay because we enjoyed Mission Beach so much and because we felt so comfortable at the Hibiscus Lodge.

The B&B has three guest rooms, all of them very roomy with en-suite bathrooms and nice views into the rainforest. The guest part of the B&B has a lounge to enjoy a tea or some biscuits, read a magazine or stroke the lovely cats. There is a wide range of DVDs that everyone is invited to use - if you don't want to watch the movie in the relaxing area, you can also watch in your room. But Mission Beach offers too much to be spending too much time inside, despite the lovely rooms.

The house is surrounded by a large veranda, where Adrienne and Robert inivite their guests to join them for a beer or a glass of wine. It is nice to chat, talk to the other guests, receive valuable advice about what to do or where to have dinner. Additionally, being on the verge of the rainforest, you will be joined by the odd cassowary or by one of the tree frogs. Hearing them hopping on the roof is the background sound to your pre-dinner drink. Absolutely fantastic.

In the backyard there is a pool and it's great for a swim after a long day outside. There are so many things to do in and around Mission Beach and Adrienne and Robert will give you all their inside information and will even book trips for you. A really great service and we appreciated it a lot.

A nice tropical breakfast is served on the veranda to the back of the house, on two of the three mornings we were visited by a wallaby and its joey, we enjoyed that a lot.

We definitely recommend this B&B to everyone, we had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
71
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The perfect B&B, we were blown away with this B&B. Lovely accomodation and fantastic breakfast. The wildlife was unbelievable, we saw the Casowary's with his 3 chicks every morning! The frogs that visited every night and the Wallaby that went through the garden.
Thanks to our hosts who made us most welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

When I was planning my holiday in NQ in October 2009 I initially hesitated if a stop in Mission Beach might be worth it, but I am SO happy I went there. I've spent two nights in this beautiful B&B and absolutely loved it. I stayed in the rainforest room which isn't really big but absolutely nice and cosy. The big window opens towards some rainforest and waking up in the morning by the sun shining in and the birds (like some Kookaburras) making noise is just great! The hosts Adrienne and Robert are giving their guests a very warm welcome and having a complimentary drink with them on the desk in the early evening, overlooking their wonderful garden was very nice and funny. They also gave me plenty of information about the area, Dunk Island and Atherton Tablelands.
The B&B is just a short stroll away from the beautiful beach in Wongaling Beach which to my mind is a much nicer spot than the neighbouring Mission Beach.
I would definitively stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hibiscus Lodge for two nights during our 2 week TNQ holiday. Robert and Adrienne are the perfect hosts and try to make your stay as good as possible. Great breakfast, location, clean, comfy rooms, in short, it's by far the best B&B we've ever stayed in.
If we should ever be in this area again, we'd definitively stay longer.
Thanks for making our stay memorable

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 1st Wedding Anniversary at the B & B Hibiscus Lodge Mission Beach. This is the first B & B we have stayed at and enjoyed the experience very much. The house was lovely and the rooms were well presented and clean. Evenings you were invited to have a complimentary drink with the owners Robert and Adrienne on the front verandra as the sun goes down. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. We had the opportunity to have a private breakfast in the rainforest setting. We absolutely enjoyed this experience and the breakfast was very filling and yummy.

We would recommend this B & B to anyone who is after and enjoyable, peaceful, great location at a very reasonable price.

Mission Beach and Wongaling Beach are very beautiful and unspoilt. You have easy access to the islands and the outer reef.

Thanks again to Robert and Adrienne for making our Anniversary even more special.

Kylie and Glen Donaldson

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oundle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished it were so much longer. Hosts Adrienne and Robert were fantastic, making everyone feel so welcome. Drinks together at night and a slow breakfast made us feel completely at home and relaxed. Something we hadn't managed to do for the whole trip. Nothing was too much trouble and their advice was spot on. A walk with torches at night to a nearby restuarant, that was recommened, finished off this part of our trip perfectly. Cannot praise or thank enough.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Perfect in all respects: very warm welcome by Adrienne and Robert, delicious breakfast in a quite and relaxing terrace overlooking the beautiful garden, our room was spacious, very clean, it was so pleasant to be in bed and hear the noise from the birds outside. Would not hesitate to recommend it. Obviously not to people looking for a party place, but if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to relax, not far from restaurants and beach, this is the place. Not to mention all the excursions possibilities in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Address: 5 Kurrajong Close, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.