We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxed atmosphere, hard to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotty's Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Scotty's Beach House to your Saves list
Scotty's Beach House
167 Reid Rd, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great relaxed atmosphere, hard to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

If you are planning a trip to Mission beach... and even if you aren't i definately recommend you stay at this hostel.
I felt welcomed by the staff before i'd even got to the hostel, when we were picked up from the bus stop informed by the guy of what to do, a bit about area and the hostel.
Then the woman at reception offered us a double room which was just $9 extra.
The room was very nice and clean with fridge, a clothes rack and what seemed to be somewhere to hang laundry.
The atmosphere was infectious, you just got a great feel about the place.
The kitchen is nice and stocked up and free oil a bonus.
The pool was great and lots of fun, volleyball net to have a play about and the log to jump off. It was very homely and great location just across from the beach.
You can book all tours through reception, i did a skydive which was amazing and beautiful location for it and my boyfriend did the white water rafting on the tully river.
They even have somewhere to crack your fresh coconut which you can find on the beach.
Staff were great, just can't big it up enough!!! Oh and free rainforest walk and Cassowary spotting and wallabies!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    27
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
3
29
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rostock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

this hostel is just wonderful. lovely people who work there always with a smile!
a very nice ambience. you can relax, lay down next to the pool in the hammock and listen to some relaxing music.
the rooms are clean, the beach is right in front of the hostel...btw its a beautiful beach.
at this place you will enjoy the beautiful sides of the life.
i would recommend it again and again...dont miss it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raalte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Scotty's is a really nice place if you like to chill and relax. The kitchen is big, the showers are new and clean and staff is extremely helpfull. Loved everything about it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydScott, Owner at Scotty's Beach House, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review us! Glad you appreciated our facilities and atmosphere. Keep smiling :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

went and stayed at scotys felt realy welcom the atmos was amazing loads to do there cant wait till i go againe!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Staff at Scotty's are amazing. They give you a warm welcome and know how to entertain the guests. Charly on reception gives great advise on which tours to book and there is a real energy about the place. The Pool is beautiful and a great place to relax. Scotty's is perfectly located to go White Water Rafting on the Tully River & Skydiving on Mission beach. I had a fantastic stay & enjoyed every minute!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

when i first arrived at scottys i was welcomed by the reception staff who gave a really good introduction of the hostel, facilities and things to do in the local surroundings. I found the staff to be very helpful with helping me plan my east coast journey.
Whatever is was you was staying at scottys for they had a room for it and all kept very well. if you was staying on the budget there were big dorm rooms and if you was travelling with your partner personal double rooms.
the location of this hostel is fantastic, the beach is right on your doorstep and with miles of beautifully presereved rainforest and beach theres always somewhere to relax, making Scotty's the perfect hostel to have a short relaxing break at before you start your intense east coast journey. Just down the road in mission beach town centre there are plenty of places to get nice food, and also very nice bars with very friendly locals!

overall i would highly recommend you stay at this hostel if passing through mission beach or if your staying for a while.

Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

no bed bugs, love the staff, love the hostel, love the log over the pool and the net over the pool, had the best time here we stayed for a week went up to cairns and then came back again on the way down a must do such a chilled out atmosphere to the place big love to scotty's, ali xxx

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotty's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotty's Beach House

Address: 167 Reid Rd, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Scotty's Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotty's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.