We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, friendly staff and on the beachfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nana Thai Cafe

Nana Thai Cafe
165 Reid Street, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
07 4068 9101
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Delicious Thai food friendly service with views to Dunk Island, dine in or take away open 6 days a week -sunday take away only,...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, friendly staff and on the beachfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had an early dinner for 4 of us including our 5 & 7 year olds. Really enjoyed the tasty food (and large servings), the friendly atmosphere and listening to the waves lapping the beach just the other side of the road.

Shame I hadn't known the restaurant was only BYO, since a Singha or two would have made the meal even tastier...

Would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    64
    22
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Nanas thai cafe was brilliant! The food was delicious and definitely some of the best thai I have ever eaten! Will be back for sure!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben p, Owner at Nana Thai Cafe, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you Lucy it was such a pleasure to have you at our restaurant! You were our first celebrity! U were great on junior master chef and what a great opportunity that was for you. Good luck with everything you choose to do in your future and we would love to see you back at nana Thai again some day ..... Thanks again JMC Lucy! Regards Ben & Polly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai, very affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the set menu special. Plenty of tucker and cannot fault the flavours. Friendly, relaxed staff and really good value at $30 a head. Had not planned to dine there but am glad we did. If planning to dine I would've made use of the byo and brought a bottle of wine. Recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben p, Owner at Nana Thai Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are really glad you had a nice evening and meal at our restaurant and hope to see you again sometime.. Regards Ben & Polly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semaphore Park
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good position”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We were going to dine in but they only do dine in certain nights. We ended up getting take away. We couldn't stop there and wait because the mosquitos were that bad so we were glad we didn't dine in. The food was average and not alot for the price definately would not eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben p, Owner at Nana Thai Cafe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are very sorry that we don't do dine in on Sunday nights the previous owners were closed on Sunday all together and if u ever ran a restaurant you would know that is a big job and I'm very sorry we can't control the Mosquitos it is far north qld so u should toughen up befor u come back there is this stuff called aero guard and when u spray it on your self it keeps the mozzies away! Most of our clients appreciate that we offer a take away service on Sunday night, I remember you and you guys were very rude from the moment you walked into our establishment so I could tell that no matter what we gave you it wasn't going to be good enough, I'm glad you won't be back because we have 99% satisfied customers, all the best in the rest of your travels,, kind regards Ben nana Thai cafe.. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Flavoursome Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I went there with family and friends who were visiting from Canberra and overseas. A very authentic and flavoursome meal. Friendly service catering for all our needs. It's also BYO, with no extra corkage charges. Very good value.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana Thai Cafe also viewed

Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
 

Been to Nana Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nana Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.