We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Adventures

Calypso Adventures
20 Wongaling Beach Road, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
+61 (0)7 4068 8432
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Martin City, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you want a trip that you plan to go smoothly, avoid Calypso Adventures at all cost. We arrived in Mission Beach the day before our adventure to the Great Barrier Reef, which we had booked five months ahead. When we contacted Calypso Adventure, they advised us that they had cancelled all their trips out of Mission Bay in February. We were devastated. This was going to be one of the highlights of our trip, and they couldn’t have contacted us sooner. If we hadn’t called them, we would have arrived at the dock with no boat.
They did say they could accommodate us out of Cairns if we wanted. So we arranged to cancel our second night stay at the lovely Eco Village and head to Cairns the next day. We checked into our hotel and left to do some shopping. On our return to the Hotel, we found a note from the Hotel Manager saying that Calypso had cancelled our trip out of Cairns, leaving us high and dry. Luckily we still had time to book another trip out of Cairns the next day on Quicksilver, Great Barrier Reef Cruises, which turned out to be great.
Having cancelled the trip without trying to re-accommodate us on another adventure is unacceptable. Doing this twice is even unspeakable. You may have a good time when Calypso operates their trip out to the reef as I saw in some other reviews, but the way they do business leaves much to be desired. Thankfully there are other tour operators that have better business practices.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoAdventures, Owner at Calypso Adventures, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Due to unforeseen circumstances we did have to cancel our tours on this date. We had our guest booked on another vessel in Cairns as we would NOT just leave them 'high and dry.' This took considerable time and effort and they were offered a nice discount as compensation for their inconvenience. They declined the discount and the spaces on the boat.

We do apologise for your negative experience, however, we are pleased that you got to see the GBR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice diving, small groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My experience with Calypso was positive: Friendly staff and a small boat which means lower maximum number of passengers. Went out on a full boat (18 guests), but most of them went snorkeling and we were only 3 divers + dive guide. Thus, we enjoyed a more personal dive with a tiny group in a nice reef.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Travelled to Eddy Reef with Calypso. They forgot to pick us up from our accommodation and the boat was an oversized tinny - not like the boats advertised on the web site or in the brochures. There was no food supplied and only bottled water to purchase. The toilet was also broken. The staff were apologetic for the stuff ups re the trip and the lack of organisation but say it's 'typical'. Such a shame. Overall it was too expensive for only 1 dive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoAdventures, Owner at Calypso Adventures, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

As it happened, on this particular day we had relief staff working and mistakes were made. We do apologise for this and also for the comment that the relief staff member made about it being 'typical.' I can assure you this is not typical of the company. The boat has now been replaced with a luxury vessel and if you do come back out with us please discuss this review with us and we will endeavour to show you an amazing day on the reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurien Bay, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Now this is a tropical holiday!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've been to the outer barrier reef twice with Calypso and both times were magical. No trip to far north Queensland is complete until you snorkel the famous reef. The groups are small and the boat is not crowded. A light lunch of sandwiches and fruit is served too. A trip like this will really put you in holiday mode!! I even got to swim with a sea turtle!! How cool is that?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great time at The Great Barrier Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was a really awesome day to go snorkelling at the great barrier reef!! And we've chosen the right company! I would recommend Calypso to everybody! We were just 5 people who went snorkelling, a perfect number to not chase away all the beautiful animals. We've seen three reef sharks, two turtles, a water-snake and heaps of beautiful and colorful fishes. We had a lot of fun! Just awesome! Thank you again, Calypso!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Adventures also viewed

Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
Mission Beach, Queensland
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
Mission Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Calypso Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Calypso Adventures to your Saves list