We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Adventures

Calypso Adventures
20 Wongaling Beach Road, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
+61 (0)7 4068 8432
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Travelled to Eddy Reef with Calypso. They forgot to pick us up from our accommodation and the boat was an oversized tinny - not like the boats advertised on the web site or in the brochures. There was no food supplied and only bottled water to purchase. The toilet was also broken. The staff were apologetic for the stuff ups re the trip and the lack of organisation but say it's 'typical'. Such a shame. Overall it was too expensive for only 1 dive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoAdventures, Owner at Calypso Adventures, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

As it happened, on this particular day we had relief staff working and mistakes were made. We do apologise for this and also for the comment that the relief staff member made about it being 'typical.' I can assure you this is not typical of the company. The boat has now been replaced with a luxury vessel and if you do come back out with us please discuss this review with us and we will endeavour to show you an amazing day on the reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jurien Bay, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Now this is a tropical holiday!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've been to the outer barrier reef twice with Calypso and both times were magical. No trip to far north Queensland is complete until you snorkel the famous reef. The groups are small and the boat is not crowded. A light lunch of sandwiches and fruit is served too. A trip like this will really put you in holiday mode!! I even got to swim with a sea turtle!! How cool is that?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great time at The Great Barrier Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was a really awesome day to go snorkelling at the great barrier reef!! And we've chosen the right company! I would recommend Calypso to everybody! We were just 5 people who went snorkelling, a perfect number to not chase away all the beautiful animals. We've seen three reef sharks, two turtles, a water-snake and heaps of beautiful and colorful fishes. We had a lot of fun! Just awesome! Thank you again, Calypso!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good snorkling on the reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Mission beach is closest to the reef. Saw a lot of fish and coral. Calypso was good and professional.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great trip to Eddy Reef though it was a little choppy on the way out. Beautiful spot to snorkel. We went in early October.

Only one thing marred it, one of the kids on the trip got into a spot of bother and the captain really did not want to jump in and help him out. He could easily have been in real trouble but for one of the other passengers who was nearby, grabbed him and helped him
Back to the boat ...poor kid was quite distressed but the captain was clearly just a bit annoyed. Not good enough really.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Adventures also viewed

 
Mission Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Calypso Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.