We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Bungalows to your Saves list
Boutique Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Spurwood Close, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland QLD 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE $$$
Certificate of Excellence 2014
huddersfield
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Steve and Sharon are an amazing couple. Their vision with how they have rebuilt their business following the devastation of the cyclone is most commendable. The accommodation is a hidden paradise. The wallabies and Mango at breakfast was a delight. Unfortunately Steve thought he could cure my phobia by presenting the pet snake at breakfast. Despite his wife saying he would keep it inside. I was shaking and choking back the tears with fear. For me it spoilt what was otherwise an amazing paradise. I would still recommend Boutique Bungalows to friends. They try so hard to please and were full of advice for meals and things to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
236
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked this lovely place because of the great reviews we read on Tripadvisor. It was one of the best places we have stayed in the world, it had everything from quiet serene spotless Bungalows to little surprises like colourful birdlife on our balcony and wallabies hopping around the property.

Steve and Sharon take great care of the animals that come through their property and showoff some over the scrumptious full breakfast they supply with your accommodation. Even a young cassowary made an appearance one day. We stayed for 5 nights and although Mission Beach is a lovely quiet place Sharon gave fantastic advice and maps/directions over breakfast for unreal places to explore, our days were always full with things to do or you can just chill out around the clean saltwater pool. Steve even booked a local restaurant for us and we were picked up by the courtesy bus and on arrival at the restaurant were treated like royalty receiving the best table and view.

I recommend this fantastic little gem to anyone wanting to relax and to be treated so respectfully by wonderful hosts who become your friends for life. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Stay at least 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a lovely time with Steve and Sharon , what a wonderful couple caring beautifully for the environment and wildlife, we loved our bungalow, spotless, comfortable , well appointed and peaceful. Welcoming homemade cake on arrival , and a yummy breakfast, along with cute wildlife to be close with." Ginger Rogers" was my favourite.Steve arranged a wonderful dinner out for us also much appreciated, Sharon arranged sights to see on our way back to Port Douglas, we loved Etty Bay. We will visit again in the future. Stay here , our first Bed and Breakfast experience, fantastic.

Room Tip: All private and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have travelled a bit and this has to be one of the best experiences we have ever had. Boutique Bungalows is an experience not just a place to stay. Its away from the hustle and bustle and the ideal place to stay and chill, no noise just nature.
The bungalows are brilliant, just away from each other and surrounded by tropical gardens, an awesome setting.
As for the host Steve and Sharon, well you couldnt ask for better. From when you turn up to the unfortunate day you have to leave, welcome is too small a word.
Both Steve and Sharon know Mission Beach and the surrounding areas and will give you all the advice you need to make your stay special.
The breakfasts are awesome and on top of this there's afternoon tea (homebaked) sitting for you in the fridge when you get back from the days adventures.
This is "boutique" the perfect place to chill and relax, not to party or tear around or conduct business, just chill and relax, it goes with the flow of Mission Beach and its surroundings.
Lucky for us we are moving to Townsville in the very near future and we have found our home away from home, a special place with special people. Thanks guys our stay was awesome and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Touring through Queensland we found this an unexpected delightful surprise. It was clean relaxing and private. Breakfast was enjoyable been able to socialize with owners/other guests. Also enjoyed their respect for wildlife and environment. Thanks for fabulous stay Sharon & Steve, hope to return one day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Beautiful place to stay, bungalows had all that we needed, clean and well kept. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty for all. the pool is very well set out and the hosts steve and sharon were full of advice on places to see in area. The wildlife in the park was a bonus.only thing i would add is extra cups and glasses in room as if friends call by you cant share a coffee as the settings are for 2 people only. Have recommended b/b to all our friends if they come to mission beach.
Geoff & Stella

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful and clean, but we did not feel very welcome after the second time. Future guests beware! If you go with friends and book 2 bungalows, after 6:00pm you are not allowed to quietly drink a glass of wine together on each other's verandah. Also, anyone under the age of 18 is again not allowed to literally "set foot" on the property and a big fuss is made about it. It's not even a question of rowdy children, this was a 16 year old young lady who wanted to briefly drop in (30min at most). If you are willing to accept to be treated this way, you will definitely enjoy the place!
Josephina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Bungalows

Address: 3 Spurwood Close, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland QLD 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Bed and Breakfast Accommodation!Boutique Bungalows provides the modern day traveller a truly unique environment where guests enjoy the privacy of their own clean, practical and modern bungalow with good old fashioned customer service second to none! King size beds an inviting resort style pool and delicious full buffet breakfast. What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.