We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Royal Gorge Blvd, Canon City, CO 81212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Canon City
Herdon, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Since this used to be a Comfort Inn we made a reservation, after plenty of good experiences at Comfort Inns throughout Colorado. This place was not good. Got in around 10 pm and the front desk clerk was literally sleeping (laying down) on the couch in the lobby. Our room was clean, but smelled horrible - and it didn't seem clean because things were stained and badly worn. We ended our stay at this place after only one night and switched to another hotel.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    18
    16
    9
See reviews for
32
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Our car broke down ten miles outside of Canon City so we unexpected had to stay the night. This hotel's staff really went out of their way to help us out. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and there was a nice pool, too. The breakfast was nice and the kids appreciated the waffles. We'd stay again - though hopefully with an operating car!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

While the room was adequately clean and comfortable enough, it certainly did not live up to its nearly $90 price tag. The furnishings are Choice Hotel's old laminate "dorm style" and could use some updating, and corners could do with some vacuuming. The view from our room's rear-facing window was possibly the worst that I've ever had in a motel: an alley's width distance to the rear-end of a defunct commercial building. The motel's location is convenient to the Main Street, although the only business that was open on the September evening we were there was a pizza joint. If you're going on the Royal Gorge Scenic Railway, the Comfort Inn couldn't be closer, as it's right across the street from the depot. The Royal Gorge Bridge is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I have no complaints about the service at the hotel. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The room was typical for a Comfort Inn but the carpet and tub should be replaced. We were on the front side of the hotel and street and train traffic were noisy throughout the night. Breakfast was also typical, but when I looked out the window of the small breakfast room I saw an old mattress and box springs sitting in the alley! If you continue south through town there are more abd better hotel choices.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Nice, clean motel (with king beds!) conveniently within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of downtown Canon City. Comes with breakfast (pastries, waffles, cereal, etc.)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The facilities weren't perfect, but they were clean and adequate. Much more important, the staff wasn't just nice, they were outstandingly helpful. The whole city seemed especially friendly, but Bonnie and the rest of the Comfort Inn staff were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina SK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The room was filthy and the woman at the desk would not send anyonre. The thing that really irked me was that the room AC (it was hot that day) was bypassed to where the fan doesnt work. Also the thermostat is bypassed. Simply what this means is to save cost only the automatic option works to save the hotel money by not using much electricity in your room. Me and the wife and kids fell asleep waiting for the service guy to come look at it and we both woke up 6 or 7 times that night and left around 6 am (2 hrs earlier than we wanted). My stepson's gf hair turned green in the pool which was nasty and she cried for hours..We were at other pools at other hotels and her hair was fine..Do what you want but remember that I say dont stay there. If you want to waste money or you have absolutely no choice than stay there,..,It is better than getting in a wreck I guess..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 311 Royal Gorge Blvd, Canon City, CO 81212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Canon City
Canon City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.