We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
429 Greenwood Avenue, Canon City, CO 81212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Canon City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Iowa
1 review
“Awesome Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Wendy and Lyn, the owners of this B&B are warm and very thoughtful.

Wendy made the best, tastest hot breakfast every morning. She loves to create her own recipes and her lucky guests get to try them out.

She also made brownies from scratch for a treat at night and was always offering us coffee and or bottled water.

Their home is spectacular, with original stained glass windows. Our room was bright, roomy and clean.

We definately will stay there again.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
148
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

I decided to book here just from other reviews when I was looking for a place near the Royal Gorge, rafting, and the Dinner Train. Our stay was above the ordinary, comfortable, and financially on the spot. They actually fed us so well in the morning with the gourmet breakfast that we put-off having lunch/dinner until the afternoon and were able to afford nice local food just once more per day. This is a regular spot for many couples so put in your reservation early.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Recently, my husband and I stayed three nights at Jewel of the Canyons B & B in Canon City, CO.

I am a writer and even my adjectives and adverbs fail me when I think back to our stay. The owners, Lyn and Wendy, are solicitious and caring without being obtrusive, which is quite a feat! Their home is lovely, comfortable and comforting, as are they. Breakfasts are decadent and Lyn, the husband, will even prepare breakfasts two hours before the regularly scheduled time if their guests have early departure times.

The guest suites are spacious, elegantly appointed, and if anything is needed, the owners will try to fill the needs of their guests. Lyn and Wendy make recommendations when asked, ditto for making reservations but they never intrude. They are always gracious and professional. They match their level of friendliness to the personalities of the guests.

  • Liked — Staying at this B & B was a total pampering of the senses
  • Disliked — Our stay was too brief
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Our first experience at a bed and breakfast was a wonderful experience. Lyn and Wendy welcomed us in their wonderfully restored home. Wendy provided us with awesome breakfasts and gave us some great pointers to the area attractions. The home is located only a few blocks from the Royal Gorge Railroad which we rode on.

  • Liked — Great experience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

From the moment we arrived, it was as though we were visiting old friends, not just staying at another B & B. Lyn and Wendy were incredibly wonderful hosts and the home is both beautiful and CLEAN. We had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — Lyn and Wendy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Address: 429 Greenwood Avenue, Canon City, CO 81212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Cañon City’s most charming Bed & Breakfast Inn. Enjoy present day comforts in an authentic 1890 Victorian style Bed & Breakfast while visiting scenic Cañon City, Colorado, the "Gateway to the Rockies."Our Cañon City Bed & Breakfast Inn welcomes Colorado vacationers, business travelers, out-of-town guests, friends, relatives, and anyone needing a relaxing place to stay while away from home. With near-perfect weather, the Cañon City, Colorado area embraces western history, river rafting on the Arkansas River, hiking, mountain biking, antiquing, and attractions such as the Royal Gorge Route Railroad, Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, and The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey. Take your camera and enjoy the gorgeous drive to Cripple Creek (casinos) and Victor, Colorado. It's a quick 45-minute drive to Colorado Springs and two hours to Denver. Walk from our bed and breakfast country inn just two blocks to historic downtown Cañon City, offering a variety of wonderful dining, sightseeing and shopping experiences. Jewel of the Canyons Bed & Breakfast resident-owners Michelle and Brian invite you to their beautiful 1890 Queen Anne home that has been restored to its original beauty and splendor. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.