We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Way to Celebrate our Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Gorge Route Railroad

Royal Gorge Route Railroad
3rd Street, off Highway 50 (Royal Gorge Blvd), Canon City, CO 81212
888-724-5748
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: F-7 streamlined locomotives follow a route along the "Grand Canyon of the Arkansas River" and feature Twilight and Dinner trains.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Way to Celebrate our Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a great attraction. The service was great, but the best part was standing outside on the open air car and enjoying the views. The staff told a lot of great stories about the old wooden water pipeline and the gun fighter forts you can see along the gorge. We saw a couple of rafters, but it was April and had snowed at the beginning of the week so I imagine the water was cold. The train took us under the Royal Gorge Canon Bridge and the staff told us how and why the bridge was built. The drive to Canon City is about an hour from Colorado Springs. We drove down in the morning, enjoyed the train ride and drove back in the afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    155
    43
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We rode the train for the 3rd time Easter weekend. Although the river is down and this area of Colorado is pretty dry it was a beautiful trip. Our granddaughter (four years old) loves the train and loves to spend the trip in the open air car. Be aware of food and drink prices, they are a bit pricey but overall this is a great way to spend a few hours with your family and loved ones while enjoying the train.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our 2 1/2 year old loves trains, and we all had a great time on this ride! It wasn't crowded at all, we basically had an entire car to ourselves. There was only one other family in our car! You can get beer and snacks for the ride as well. All of the workers were super nice. The views were beautiful, following the river.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic ride through the Royal Gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The trip on the Royal Gorge Route Railway was beautiful and some cars even have the option of purchasing food and drinks. You head out one hour from the station through the gorge and under the bridge and then head back on the same tracks. This made it a 2 hour round trip. I've visited the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park three times. Overall, I feel like if you want to see the Royal Gorge area and bridge, the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park is the best way to go. They have the option of taking an aerial tram across the gorge, you can also walk and drive across the bridge itself. In addition, they have an attraction that takes you down to the bottom of the gorge. The park allows you to experience the gorge from all angles and depths. The railway was a fun adventure though. Especially for those that are experiencing the gorge for the first time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A fun ride on rails under the bridge span by river is a nice time on nice day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The train ride is fun. Pretty scenery. Good value. Open cars to see scenery. Did not know the train runs one way and rolls backward to station. Spectacular scenery. Good clean family fun. Ample parking. Nice gift shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Gorge Route Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Route Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Gorge Route Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.