We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snack after rafting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 8 Mile Bar & Grill

8 Mile Bar & Grill
45000 W. U.S. Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212
+1 719-275-1558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Freshly prepared home-made meals, parent-pleasing kid's menu and Colorado micro-brew beers are just a few things you'll love about the 8 Mile Bar & Grill. Patio and Indoor seating. Sand Volleyball court just off the patio. Next to Echo Canyon River Expeditions.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great snack after rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We rafted with Echo Canyon, and this is their on-site restaurant. We had a big steak lunch on the river, and weren't really hungry, so just had a few snacks. Our favorite was the homemade mac & cheese. We also had a celebratory margarita, it was yummy too! The lunch items (on our raft trip) came from here, and it was all excellent. Really liked the homemade ranch dressing on the salad. There's a nice outside patio, but it was about to storm, so we ate inside and watched some entertaining rafting videos. Great place for winding down after a fun day on the river.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at 8 Mile Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It's great to see reviews from a tenured TripAdvisor reviewer! Thanks for your review and joining us for your full day raft trip. Happy travels to you and we'll see you again another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    35
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to come here for dinner last night based on reviews we saw on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. We are in town with our almost-1-year-old, and were in need of a place we could go that was casual, had good food, and a fun atmosphere. 8 Mile had it all! We were actually some of the last customers to arrive and leave for dinner, but we never felt rushed by the staff. Our waitress was so friendly and accommodating to our requests to get our daughter's food out first. Also, our food was great! We had the fish tacos and the green chili with a side of veggies. The view is gorgeous, and the building and facilities are quite nice, too. We liked it so much that we decided to go back tonight for dinner! Tonight we had the quesadilla and the buffalo burger. Both tasty! We highly recommend making a stop here when you're in Canon City, or just passing through!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at 8 Mile Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It means a lot to us to hear detailed reviews like yours, Meredith. Thank you so much for taking the time and of course for joining us not once but twice during your visit. There's no higher testimonial than that! We appreciate you and hope to see your family on a future vacation to Colorado. Thanks Meredith and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliday
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wasn't crazy about the food but atmosphere was fun. Better have lots of time on your hands or plan to drink plenty before your meal comes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at 8 Mile Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I wish I knew what you ordered that didn't make your mouth water. We've actually worked quite hard to offer large portioned and freshly prepared meals; so I'm sorry we weren't what you were looking for. We appreciate your honest feedback, but hey folks, give us detailed feedback or ask for a manager so we can make the menu the best it can be!!! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best blue cheese!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by after rafting for great lunch of the usual chicken strips, hamburgers and blt!!!
Nothing usual - the Bacon is awesome and the blue cheese the best anywhere!!! Great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at 8 Mile Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Yes, our Black and Bleu Burger is awesome; my personal favorite, too. Thanks for stopping and making us part of your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was very crowded and took a long time to get our food but it was well worth the wait. The Bacon and Bleu burger was the best I've ever had! The mac and Cheese was wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at 8 Mile Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Doublabd, It can get quite busy right around the time all the rafters return from raft trips. But I'm happy to hear the food was worth the wait. We'll keep working on the speed and we look forward to seeing you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 8 Mile Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to 8 Mile Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 8 Mile Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.