We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Camping Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Starlite Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Starlite Campground
Save
You added The Starlite Campground to your Saves list
30 County Road 3a, Canon City, CO 81212   |  
Hotel amenities
severance
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Camping Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were there from June 7th to the 10th. The location is great with fabulous views. The owners Larry and Sylvia are a pleasure. There is lots to do close by. Royal Gorge, Canon City etc. Our stay was a pleasure and we will return for sure. If you like dancing and music ,the is a great sports bar and grill very close by.
Thanks For a for a great weekend.
Brian & Patty Severance CO.

Room Tip: We used our own trailer but they have some very nice vintage trailers to stay in also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

In a world of sameness and boring hotels...the Starlite is a refreshing change to a weekend getaway. The vintage campers are superbly restored. Very clean. I stayed in one called Shaggy...a 70s theme that was done with great taste. Service and people are great too!

If you're a golfer...be sure and hit Four Mile Ranch. Awesome Jim Engh design. Very affordable. And a great walk.

Room Tip: Call ahead for reservations. They fill-up quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLETON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our family met at the Starlite for a famly get together. The retro trailers were great and we all enjoyed the step back in time. We found our places to be clean and welcoming. Our hosts were excellent and staff went out of thier way to make our get together fun! We had outdoor movies on Firday evening, and spent Saturday at other events in the area. Needless to say there are areas of the campground that are in need of rejuvenation, which the owners are working on. We're planning to come back next year to check out the progress and enjoy our family time. The Mechems, Chaney's, and Wernsmen's

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I checked reviews before I booked, and all were positive, but they all related to the camping facilities and vintage campers that were for rent. I wish there had been reviews for the cabins. While the "large" cabin (12x16 room with a double bed, 2 bunk beds, mini fridge, table and stack of chairs since there was no room to spread them out) was not exactly what I expected, it served our needs. It was pretty small for my family of 6. The beds need to be replaced. The bunkbeds were very wobbly, had no ladders to access the top bunks, and had no safety railings. One of my 7 year olds fell off the top bunk in the middle of the night. The mattress on the double bed is at least 5 years past its useful life.
All that being said, the cabin and all campground facilities were extremely clean. I was impressed with the amenities and cleanliness of the shower house. Each shower room has rubber mats on the floor and an ante room for changing clothes in a dry area.
I really appreciated the laundry facility, which has 4 washers and 4 dryers. Also in this room is a dishwashing station, which was handy for washing baby bottles.
The campground overall is small and quaint. It was nice to not have far to walk to the facilities. The kids loved the free mini-golf, playground, and pool. The pool is very nice, larger than I expected, clean, outdoors and refreshing (they put a solar blanket on each night).
We happened to be visiting during a vintage trailer rally. We felt somewhat like outsiders, but got an inside look at a subculture I never knew existed. These people really get into their vintage campers and are instantly friends with each other!
The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Power was lost for awhile one day due to a storm, and we were offered lanterns and flashlights.
The office has anything you might need - ice, firewood, food/drinks (non-alcoholic), basic supplies and even free morning coffee.
While I would only stay here again if I was looking for a true camping experience (and when my kids are older - it's just too hard with a baby to not have our own bathroom and water supply), we had a nice time. I would also recommend bringing a camper as the beds in the cabins do not enable a restful night's sleep.
I almost forgot to mention the views - incredible!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The owners and their staff go out of their way to make this park a memorable experience. Clean ! Reasonably priced, conveniently located close to many activities and fun for the whole family. We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Starlite Camground is a great place to stay if you are traveling with family. The staff is very nice. The other thing I like about the campground is that is greatly locacted, and surrounded by great tourist attractions such as rafting, and helicopter rides, and even the Royal Gorge. The campsites are very reasonably priced. The best part of the whole campground is the vintage campers that you get to stay in. To sum it all up If your coming to stay at the Starlite, bring your family...they will enjoy their experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

David and Sylvia were fantastic. It was so nice to stay at a place where people actually talk to each other and have fun. Everything was very clean and they all bent over backwards to make sure we had a great time. We could sit on our porch and see the Royal Gorge bridge!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Starlite Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starlite Campground

Address: 30 County Road 3a, Canon City, CO 81212
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a restored Retro campground and RV park, with sites, cabins and Professionally Restored Vintage Trailers available.The area is filled with exciting and relaxing activites; white water rafting, horseback rides, helitours, jeep trips, hiking, biking, fishing, the Royal Gorge Bridge and so much more! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Starlite Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.