We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Colorado Prisons

Museum of Colorado Prisons
201 North 1st St, Canon City, CO 81212
719 269-3015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Canon City
Attraction details
Canon City, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A different view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I enjoyed this tour as it talked about what it was really like for convicts in earlier times. It also had a lot of information on the violence that occurred there. This is an unusual place, do not go if you are going to spend a few minutes there. It takes longer than that to truly get a fell for all the information that makes this unique.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    23
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Prison experience full of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We enjoyed this museum for more than an hour this morning before boarding the Royal Gorge Route Train. It was so interesting to learn prison history and see 32 actual cells, contraband, riot details & so much more. We were able to show our children the isolation cell "little Siberia". They are 8 & 9 yrs old Both of them took interest in the cell that discussed drugs effects on the body. We could have spent more time here. Definitely a piece of history I never thought of til viewing the last noose used for hanging and the Gas Chamber out front that was used to kill 8 prisoners til it was abolished in 1967. I agree with another reviewer, it is unsettling that the museum is 25 yards from a Minimum Security Prison. You can hear the orders over loud speaker to prisoners in the yard behind that wall. Great Spring Break visit with our family!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I love history so I really liked this. My 9 yr old daughter also liked this museum. She learned lots. I wouldn't say go way out of your way to see this but if your in area I would say go see this. There is many interesting things you would learn going there. There are lots of stairs out front that are steep didn't see handicap access would call before going to find out before going. Stairs might be hard to get up if you have trouble walking.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Historic Museum Very Unusual”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a very different museum -- a prison museum. Worth a visit if you have some time but would not recommend it as a top attraction.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is definitely worth stopping in. I am not much of a history buff but I found this very interesting. The price is reasonable and it's worth the extra for the headsets. You can take as much time or little as you like. I would say an hour is average.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Colorado Prisons also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Colorado Prisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Colorado Prisons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.