We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badger Creek Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badger Creek Guest Ranch
Save Saved
You added Badger Creek Guest Ranch to your Saves list
5795 County Road #2, Canon City, CO 81212   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Badger Creek Ranch whilst on our honeymoon for 3 nights (which was not long enough!). Eric and Sue (and the dogs) were absolutely lovely and did everything to make our stay extra special. The horse riding was fantastic both for myself who is a semi-experienced rider and for my husband who is a novice. The country was so beautiful and isolated. It was such a wonderful unique experience to ride around it. It was great to see some wildlife and also have time to relax in the afternoon. And finally...the food was FANTASTIC, Sue is a great cook and all the meals had a wonderful home-cooked flavour to them. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for a long as possible! Thank you Eric and Sue x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I spent 5 days (all too short) at the ranch. Eric and Sue are the best folks and are sharing their dream of becoming ranchers with us. Eric & Sue have owned Badger Creek Ranch going on 6 years and loving every minute of it. Winters are tough, summers can be hot and dry but these two people are living the dream. Those of us who are lucky enough to visit this beautiful, untouched haven will never forget it. Waking up to coyotes howling, elk walking the driveway, herds of antelope and the calm, peacefulness of the ranch strip away the whirlwind non-stop life we lead and teach you how to relax again. The horses are wonderful and as sure-footed as any mountain goat. Eric has a certain calmness when working with the horses and guests that will cancel out any nervousness of riding the open range that you may have. Will you be galloping across the range - of course not - but you will be riding across prairie, up and down hills and the small mountain ranges that are part of the ranch and view spectacular landscape. I counted cows, checked fences (hard to believe that people actually will cut through a fence) ate lunch out of saddle bags, explored caves, saw a Buffalo Jump and just sat and enjoyed the peace of this beautiful ranch. If you are looking for non-stop "activities" and the go-go-go bustle of dude ranches where every second is planned, Badger Creek isn't for you. If you want to unwind, decompress, sit back and relax Badger Creek is the place.
The Bunk House has two guest rooms, (maximum of 6 guests) a kitchen and living room - make yourself at home. I visited by myself and felt like part of a family, the other two guests (long time returning guests) that arrived later in the week were so much fun. Sue is a great cook and you will enjoy her cooking - you won't want for food. Sue and Eric and guests all enjoy meals together discussing what the day may hold for you or what you saw and did. If you want to ride or sit on the bunkhouse porch with a cup of coffee looking at the horses grazing you can do either. I arrived on a Monday, turned off the cell phone, took my watch off and never thought about either until I left the following Saturday. There are plenty of places to hike if you don't want to ride. I rode every day and loved it! Eric will have you ride in the round pen the first day to see how you ride or work with you if you never have been on a horse before. Safety of the guests is the number one priority.. everyone starts in the round pen. The horses are lovely, I rode Earl and he took excellent care of me for the entire week. There are two dogs who will come along on the rides with you; Blue and Sami, and of course there is the resident barn cat 'Ghost' along with chickens and a rooster who crows all day - don't think he has figured out the morning thing yet. I could go on and on, but the best review I could give is that you must go to the ranch and experience the adventure yourself.

Room Tip: Not set up for children. Don't over estimate your riding ability, if you haven't ridden in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights, it was perfect! Very calm, peaceful, and quiet area. Sue and Eric are perfect hosts, very friendly and accomodating. The countryside is totally unlike the East Coast, took over 150 photos! Eric finds the right horse for you on the 1st day, and you keep that horse for the entire time. I had not ridden in 7 years, but it felt just like yesterday. Sue is a wonderful cook and we never went hungry. I had hoped to lose some weight on vacation, but at least I did not gain any! Mornings are spent riding, but the afternoons are free. I had plenty of time to just sit and read. You could travel out to Canon City or Salida (20 miles away), go hiking, or just drive around and see the scenery. This is not a place where every minute is planned out for you, so you need to be able to entertain yourself. The bunkhouse has two guest rooms, very comfortable, with your own bath. Each room has 2 beds. Kitchen, dining/living area attached. TV available in the living room. Ranch is powered by Solar power with generator backup. No Cell phone service, so don't even think about working while you are here! Somtimes on high ridges service would come in. Of course the ranch has a phone and internet if you need to communicate with home. Two dogs, a cat, chickens, birds, cows and the horses will keep you occupied at the ranch, then the occasional coyote, elk and deer on the plains. There was only myself and another guest there, both traveling alone, but we were never lonely.
Overall, a wonderful week. I already feel jealous of the next guests, and hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Badger Creek Ranch at the end of our two-month trip through the US and could not have chosen a better place! The Ranch lies beautifully in the highlands between Canon City and Salida and is the perfect place to relax and leave the outside world behind. We enjoyed great riding trips with Eric and Kaylin to look after the ranch's cattle or just to explore and enjoy the beautiful landscape up there.
The hosts Sue and Eric are just amazing and have created a very special and welcoming atmosphere at the Ranch, which makes you feel 'at home' right from the moment when you arrive.

We can highly recommend the Ranch to everyone and hope to be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Cayman Islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We loved Badger Creek Ranch. This place is nestled in a beautiful spot with lovely views of the mountains and country side. Eric & Sue, our hosts were warm and friendly. They put a lot of effort in making your experience at their ranch a great one. It was the best riding I have done at a ranch. Eric is conscientious and attentive guide and cowboy. We got to participate in a cattle drive, which was pretty cool. We even got to do a bit of rock collecting. Mother-nature surprised us with a blast of hail/sleet. Hence, the reason to dress in layers of clothes. Sue’s cooking is delicious. Plan to start your day with a bountiful breakfast. All the other meals are plentiful and tasty too. Save room for her delightful deserts. Sue treated us to chocolate dipped strawberries and many other goodies too. Hanging around the fire was fun and cozy. The bunk houses were private, comfy and clean. We really like the charming atmosphere and the small group. It may be a long ride there but it is worth it. You’ll adore the swell horses and the sweet doggies. We thoroughly enjoy our adventures out west. Many thanks to Eric and Sue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you're looking to totally forget about everyday life and find some time for yourself this is this place to be. The scenery is breathtaking and provides plenty of wildlife spotting opportunities. Sue, Eric and the fabulous dogs make you feel so totally welcome that it's like a home from home.The riding is wonderful and Eric is tireless in his encouragement and guidance for the novice rider. Sue provides no end of fantastic home cooked food and there is always good conversation over the dinner table or camp fire. The bunkhouse is a little oasis of calm where the beds are comfy and the coffee is always on. It's impossible to praise Badger Creek too much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our family loves Colorado, and we especially love everything about Badger Creek Ranch! We have made several return visits because it is just a comfortable place to be. The bunkhouse with our own private room and bath is the ultimate place for quiet rest. We also enjoy the gathering rooms to cook and just hang out and read…and oh yeah, the occasional competitive foosball game. My husband isn’t a huge fan of horse riding, but did so on one of our visits -he had the time of his life. He still talks about how he rounded up 20 cattle and steered them through a gate (huge embellishment of course)! We never forget to take a hike along Badger Creek. On one visit we were in awe when we stumbled upon several ewes and a large ram napping high on the creek embankment. Beautiful views of mountains and endless possibilities of wildlife sightings keep us coming back year after year…of course, the fact that Eric and Sue make us feel like we are a part of their family, gives us reason to come back too. Thank you Eric and Sue for always making us feel welcome and for the yummy breakfasts! Plan to see you guys soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Badger Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 5795 County Road #2, Canon City, CO 81212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badger Creek Ranch is an ALL INCLUSIVE working cattle and guest ranch located high in the spectacular Colorado Rocky Mountains. It is also our home. Here we invite you to enjoy a western vacation adventure of a lifetime. At Badger Creek Ranch you will be an important part of our cowboy crew as we ride fences, round up, doctor and sort our cattle. Even though we are a working cattle ranch, we never forget you are on vacation! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badger Creek Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.