We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badger Creek Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badger Creek Guest Ranch
Save
You added Badger Creek Guest Ranch to your Saves list
5795 County Road #2, Canon City, CO 81212   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights, it was perfect! Very calm, peaceful, and quiet area. Sue and Eric are perfect hosts, very friendly and accomodating. The countryside is totally unlike the East Coast, took over 150 photos! Eric finds the right horse for you on the 1st day, and you keep that horse for the entire time. I had not ridden in 7 years, but it felt just like yesterday. Sue is a wonderful cook and we never went hungry. I had hoped to lose some weight on vacation, but at least I did not gain any! Mornings are spent riding, but the afternoons are free. I had plenty of time to just sit and read. You could travel out to Canon City or Salida (20 miles away), go hiking, or just drive around and see the scenery. This is not a place where every minute is planned out for you, so you need to be able to entertain yourself. The bunkhouse has two guest rooms, very comfortable, with your own bath. Each room has 2 beds. Kitchen, dining/living area attached. TV available in the living room. Ranch is powered by Solar power with generator backup. No Cell phone service, so don't even think about working while you are here! Somtimes on high ridges service would come in. Of course the ranch has a phone and internet if you need to communicate with home. Two dogs, a cat, chickens, birds, cows and the horses will keep you occupied at the ranch, then the occasional coyote, elk and deer on the plains. There was only myself and another guest there, both traveling alone, but we were never lonely.
Overall, a wonderful week. I already feel jealous of the next guests, and hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Badger Creek Ranch at the end of our two-month trip through the US and could not have chosen a better place! The Ranch lies beautifully in the highlands between Canon City and Salida and is the perfect place to relax and leave the outside world behind. We enjoyed great riding trips with Eric and Kaylin to look after the ranch's cattle or just to explore and enjoy the beautiful landscape up there.
The hosts Sue and Eric are just amazing and have created a very special and welcoming atmosphere at the Ranch, which makes you feel 'at home' right from the moment when you arrive.

We can highly recommend the Ranch to everyone and hope to be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Cayman Islands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We loved Badger Creek Ranch. This place is nestled in a beautiful spot with lovely views of the mountains and country side. Eric & Sue, our hosts were warm and friendly. They put a lot of effort in making your experience at their ranch a great one. It was the best riding I have done at a ranch. Eric is conscientious and attentive guide and cowboy. We got to participate in a cattle drive, which was pretty cool. We even got to do a bit of rock collecting. Mother-nature surprised us with a blast of hail/sleet. Hence, the reason to dress in layers of clothes. Sue’s cooking is delicious. Plan to start your day with a bountiful breakfast. All the other meals are plentiful and tasty too. Save room for her delightful deserts. Sue treated us to chocolate dipped strawberries and many other goodies too. Hanging around the fire was fun and cozy. The bunk houses were private, comfy and clean. We really like the charming atmosphere and the small group. It may be a long ride there but it is worth it. You’ll adore the swell horses and the sweet doggies. We thoroughly enjoy our adventures out west. Many thanks to Eric and Sue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you're looking to totally forget about everyday life and find some time for yourself this is this place to be. The scenery is breathtaking and provides plenty of wildlife spotting opportunities. Sue, Eric and the fabulous dogs make you feel so totally welcome that it's like a home from home.The riding is wonderful and Eric is tireless in his encouragement and guidance for the novice rider. Sue provides no end of fantastic home cooked food and there is always good conversation over the dinner table or camp fire. The bunkhouse is a little oasis of calm where the beds are comfy and the coffee is always on. It's impossible to praise Badger Creek too much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our family loves Colorado, and we especially love everything about Badger Creek Ranch! We have made several return visits because it is just a comfortable place to be. The bunkhouse with our own private room and bath is the ultimate place for quiet rest. We also enjoy the gathering rooms to cook and just hang out and read…and oh yeah, the occasional competitive foosball game. My husband isn’t a huge fan of horse riding, but did so on one of our visits -he had the time of his life. He still talks about how he rounded up 20 cattle and steered them through a gate (huge embellishment of course)! We never forget to take a hike along Badger Creek. On one visit we were in awe when we stumbled upon several ewes and a large ram napping high on the creek embankment. Beautiful views of mountains and endless possibilities of wildlife sightings keep us coming back year after year…of course, the fact that Eric and Sue make us feel like we are a part of their family, gives us reason to come back too. Thank you Eric and Sue for always making us feel welcome and for the yummy breakfasts! Plan to see you guys soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

There are not enough words to describe how beautiful it is there. A fantastic experience. And that is why we have been there twice. We can't get enough off it.
Sue and Eric are very nice, you feel right at home. Also the horses ans dogs are great. And off course we will never forget those super tasty meals. What we also don't forget is the view from your bedroom, beautiful country with the cows and horses in the distance. The amazing rides, with all the wild animals around you. The cows that you're working whit. We know for sure this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was truly a magical experience. I had never been to a ranch before and wanted very much to ride a horse, but wasn't sure that I would be able to do so without being in panic mode! Eric & Sue put my fears to rest right away--Eric spent time with us in the corral, making sure we could comfortably control our respective horses, before venturing out on the trail.

The hospitality was exceptional--wonderful food, accommodations and conversation. This is a small, homey atmosphere--no large or set agendas. Trips and activities were custom designed for our wants and needs.

Everything on the website is true--it's a wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Badger Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 5795 County Road #2, Canon City, CO 81212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badger Creek Ranch is an ALL INCLUSIVE working cattle and guest ranch located high in the spectacular Colorado Rocky Mountains. It is also our home. Here we invite you to enjoy a western vacation adventure of a lifetime. At Badger Creek Ranch you will be an important part of our cowboy crew as we ride fences, round up, doctor and sort our cattle. Even though we are a working cattle ranch, we never forget you are on vacation! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badger Creek Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.