We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colorado's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badger Creek Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badger Creek Guest Ranch
Save
You added Badger Creek Guest Ranch to your Saves list
5795 County Road #2, 5795 County Road 2, Canon City, CO 81212   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Colorado's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our family loves Colorado, and we especially love everything about Badger Creek Ranch! We have made several return visits because it is just a comfortable place to be. The bunkhouse with our own private room and bath is the ultimate place for quiet rest. We also enjoy the gathering rooms to cook and just hang out and read…and oh yeah, the occasional competitive foosball game. My husband isn’t a huge fan of horse riding, but did so on one of our visits -he had the time of his life. He still talks about how he rounded up 20 cattle and steered them through a gate (huge embellishment of course)! We never forget to take a hike along Badger Creek. On one visit we were in awe when we stumbled upon several ewes and a large ram napping high on the creek embankment. Beautiful views of mountains and endless possibilities of wildlife sightings keep us coming back year after year…of course, the fact that Eric and Sue make us feel like we are a part of their family, gives us reason to come back too. Thank you Eric and Sue for always making us feel welcome and for the yummy breakfasts! Plan to see you guys soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

There are not enough words to describe how beautiful it is there. A fantastic experience. And that is why we have been there twice. We can't get enough off it.
Sue and Eric are very nice, you feel right at home. Also the horses ans dogs are great. And off course we will never forget those super tasty meals. What we also don't forget is the view from your bedroom, beautiful country with the cows and horses in the distance. The amazing rides, with all the wild animals around you. The cows that you're working whit. We know for sure this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was truly a magical experience. I had never been to a ranch before and wanted very much to ride a horse, but wasn't sure that I would be able to do so without being in panic mode! Eric & Sue put my fears to rest right away--Eric spent time with us in the corral, making sure we could comfortably control our respective horses, before venturing out on the trail.

The hospitality was exceptional--wonderful food, accommodations and conversation. This is a small, homey atmosphere--no large or set agendas. Trips and activities were custom designed for our wants and needs.

Everything on the website is true--it's a wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Leave your media filled world behind and let Badger Creek Ranch show you the true meaning of relaxation. Let the mountain vistas wrap you in their beauty and nature be your guide! Sue and Eric are just the people to provide you with a vacation you will not forget. Their hospitality, accommodations, friendliness and divine meals will provide you with memories to last a life time. Sitting around the campfire in the evening, riding horses on the trail, visiting the caves where Ute indians once called home will make you envious of where they call 'home.' Thank you, Eric and Sue for opening your ranch and giving me an experience I'll always remember. I highly recommend booking your next vacation at Badger Creek Ranch and experiencing your own "Rocky Mountain High!"
Tiggrr :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Hey Tigger,

Thanks so much for the kind words. Guests like you are why we love this business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My stay at Badger Creek Ranch was terrific in every way! The surrounding landscape is stunning, and seeing and exploring it on horseback was just awesome. We did everything from leisurely sight-seeing rides, to moving cattle, to riding out to the ruins of an old Native American ceremonial site. I'm an experienced rider and I came with a friend who was not, and we both had a fantastic time together - on and off the horses. Exploring Badger Creek on foot was also breathtaking. The horses were all sweet animals, and Eric matched us well with our mounts. I was excited that I also got to do some more "serious" riding and I learned a lot from Eric about western horsemanship.

Our room in the bunkhouse was clean and cozy, and the food Sue cooked was delicious! We had campfires most evenings, and I'd never seen a night sky like that one before! The ranch is remote and peaceful - really the perfect place to "get away" and unwind. I feel like we also got a really authentic taste of what cattle ranching is like, and we had the opportunity to meet some of the locals!

I really don't have a single criticism - if you're looking for a truly one of a kind experience, not a franchised "spa ranch vacation" where tourists are herded around like the cattle, then this is your place. As I said, at the end of our week-long stay I didn't want to leave, and I'm dying to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Badger Creek Ranch is THE place to indulge in the cowboy life in a non touristy way. It’s the real thing. The scenery was stunning and became more breathtaking with every day’s ride.
It was magical to wake to the sun streaming in, the sounds of Eric preparing the horses and the aroma of coffee brewing to perfection. Badger Creek Ranch is off grid but had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The breakfasts were epic and set you up for the day.
I hadn’t ridden regularly for 30 years and valued Eric’s quiet, calm confidence. He gave tips and praise along with information on the plants, scenery and history of the surroundings. Four of us rode, accompanied by the dogs. No nose to tail riding here.
Being out for initially three then up to six hours gave ample time to explore in the afternoons. A stunning drive to Salida and St. Elmo, a ghost town in the mountains, were memorable trips. So too Badger Creek.
We had some unplanned cattle driving when we discovered that the herd had decided to check if the grass really was greener on the neighbouring ranch! The dogs and horses had the chance to show what they could do under Eric’s expert guidance; an amazing experience.
We had booked rafting down the Royal Gorge on our last day, so Eric suggested some work that morning in the round pen with a different horse, Colonel. I felt truly privileged to watch his natural horsemanship methods and then thrilled to try them out for myself. It was a fantastic end to a perfect holiday.
5 nights wasn’t enough and I still miss the tranquillity and feeling of absolute contentment at the end of every day, sat on the deck with the dogs on coyote watch. Keep protecting those chickens guys! Thank you SO much Sue and Eric, you do an amazing job and are the best hosts EVER. We felt so welcome and enjoyed the varied conversations with you and Ute at dinner.
Thanks also to Earl and Spike, our lovely horses, for looking after us both so well. We hope to return soon. Badger Creek is the perfect antidote to the real world.
All our best wishes,
Jane and Graham, South West England

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I would like to thank Sue and Eric for a great time at their ranch along with their wonderfully hospitality. We couldn't have asked for a better time out west then what we found there. The food was excellent and the accommodations were very clean and nice. The views of the landscape were breath taking and beautiful!!! The horses were great to ride and work with. We will try to go back as soon as we can. P.S We will never forget the trip.
Adam & Erica Conant — West Virginia

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canon City
35.7 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#8 of 14 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
37.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#9 of 14 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
37.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 14 in Canon City
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 14 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
36.0 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 14 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
37.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Canon City
BEST WESTERN Canon City
#5 of 14 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badger Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 5795 County Road #2, 5795 County Road 2, Canon City, CO 81212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badger Creek Ranch is an ALL INCLUSIVE working cattle and guest ranch located high in the spectacular Colorado Rocky Mountains. It is also our home. Here we invite you to enjoy a western vacation adventure of a lifetime. At Badger Creek Ranch you will be an important part of our cowboy crew as we ride fences, round up, doctor and sort our cattle. Even though we are a working cattle ranch, we never forget you are on vacation! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badger Creek Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.