We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right up there with the national parks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Gorge Bridge and Park

Royal Gorge Bridge and Park
4218 Country Road 3A, Canon City, CO 81215
1-888-333-5597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 attractions in Canon City
Type: Bridges, Geologic Formations, Scenic Railroads, Parks, Canyons, Trams, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos
Activities: Four-wheeling, White-water rafting
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A suspension bridge 1,053 feet high.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Right up there with the national parks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was such an incredible sight!! I don't understand why some people complained about the price. I thought it was very reasonable at $20pp in April. Included in the price is the bridge, the incline railway and the aerial tramway. All three are awesome! My group of 4 adults walked across the bridge and enjoyed the canyon tremendously. Going down into the gorge with the deepest incline railway in the world was wonderful, and we got to see the bridge from below, which made it look even higher and scarier. Crossing the gorge on the tramway gave us another great perspective of the majestic cliffs. My daughter and son-in-law rode the zip rider, screaming all the way across. They were very scared to ride the skycoaster, which is listed as the scariest one in the world - but at the end they did it, again screaming as they soared over the cliffs. What an absolutely amazing day we had there. It's worth a trip from anywhere!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGBridge, Manager at Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to post about your wonderful trip to the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park! It is a special place in Colorado.
We employee staff year-round to maintain the park and attractions so guests are able to visit at any time.
Again, thank you and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    180
    99
    52
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“What a sight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Yes, it is a bit pricey ... the off season is a bit more affordable with buy-one-get-one 1/2 off ... but it includes the aerial tram and the incline railway so it's not as bad as it seems. The bridge is of course awesome ... and to think they built it in 6 months! And in 1929!! I didn't do the aerial tram over the gorge ... I'm not seriously fond of heights ... but Bruce did and loved it. We did take the incline railway down to the bottom ... kind of cool but you can't really see much going up or down the way you're standing on it. But you can get out at the bottom and walk around a bit and could see the suspended bridge and sometimes there's kayakers or rafters going by so that's pretty cool.
Walking across the bridge itself is cool and on a day like we were there it was very windy and you can feel the bridge sway a bit which Bruce thought was cool (men!)
There's other things there that are extra $$ like the zip line or the skycoaster which may or may not be a good value. Depends on how much you like to scare the crap out of yourself!
My only complaint is the food. We had a bite for lunch at their grill, offerings of burgers, dogs and buffalo and elk burgers. Pricey but we figured what the heck ... but the buffalo burger was $6 of inedible dried up leather. Come on ... the zoo can make edible food ... no reason why you can't!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGBridge, Manager at Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We think this is one heck of a place too! The views are really that amazing and we are so glad you were able to visit us and took the time to review our park. The great thing about us is we do have something for everyone to experience and enjoy. As for the food, I want to apologize that it wasn't as good as it should have been. I know we can do better and will continually strive for excellence so all of our customers walk away with a 100% positive experience.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful gorge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I loved the views and the wonderful people we met. Don't be afraid of the sticker shock for the admission. Very well worth the price!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGBridge, Manager at Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We think the Bridge and Park are amazing too and worth the visit. Our prices are inclusive of all rides, shows, and attractions with the exception of the Skycoaster, Zipline, and trail rides (these are extra pay features) and you will get your monies worth. The views from the bridge and overlook points are simply breathtaking.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Truly beautiful, but a little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went during the off season so tickets were buy one get one half, but still ended up being about $45 for the two of us. Be warned, if you go in the off season it will be cold and there will be very little crowds. My friends did the swing over the gorge and they had a blast on it. I loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGBridge, Manager at Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great time! The Skycoaster is one of our most popular attractions.

We do discount the tickets in off season because some of our rides and attractions are seasonal. And of course, the crowds are less.

We'd love to have you come back! Thanks for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went with my two year old son who had a blast walking across the bridge and seeing the buffalo and elk in the zoo. He was a little scared of the gondola when we went back across and due to his age did not go to the bottom of the canyon. Perhaps we will go back when he is older.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGBridge, Manager at Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The Bridge and Park have something for every age group! I guarantee when you bring your little guy back, he'll have just as much or more fun. Plus we're adding a new Children's Playland this year for our littlest guests to play on.

Thanks for posting and we'll look forward to seeing you in the park again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Gorge Bridge and Park also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Bridge and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Gorge Bridge and Park to your Saves list