We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great R.V. Campground and the service was excellent for a large group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prospectors RV Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Save
You added Prospectors RV Resort to your Saves list
43959 US Highway 50 West, Canon City, CO 81212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Canon City
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
“Great R.V. Campground and the service was excellent for a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We ahd a large group with about 23 RV rigs and the Campground was excellent. Close to the Roya Gorge which we all enjoyed. The meeting room that they let us use for free was perfect and with an outside deck. We all enjoyed te cmpground and the owner Mike was very accomodatng and even helped with with our dinners! We loved t!!!!!

Maggie Weakley
Columbine Caravan Group

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
57
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

My two children and I stayed for 3 days in May and were very disappointed with the "resort". It was very expensive to use their activities, which were in addition to the cabin costs each night. I had to purchase an armband for each child, each day, and they had to keep it on the whole time. The kids brought their skateboards because the website advertised a skatepark, but there was no skatepark. The kids were not allowed to use the hot tub, it was adults only. For the past 3 years we have stayed at the park (it used to be a Yogi bear park) and have really enjoyed it, unfortunately, the new owners missed their mark with their changes. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello dlwiederkehr,
We would like to sincerely apologize for the poor experience that you had, in the past, at our park. Prospectors is under new ownership/management as of May 2014, and we are doing many things to get this park up to par.
A couple of things that you may like to know.....
1.All of the park activities are now included in your stay! As long as you are a registered guest, you are welcome in the pool area, splash zone, playground, jumping pillow, game room......etc.
2.We have no skate park. Sorry :( But there are lots of FREE activities to keep you occupied.
3.Kids are allowed in the hot tub, on a limited, w/ parents only clause.
4.We would love to have you give us another try if you are in the area. If you bring a copy of this review/comment, we would be glad to give you a discounted stay,
Thank you,
Prospectors RV Resort 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Upon arriving on Friday, we were given a map and told where our camp site was. We found it and two picnic tables pushed together. Our thoughts were "How thoughtful! They new we had our 6 children and one table wouldn't be enough." On Saturday afternoon, after having a blast at the attractions (that cost extra, but were well worth it) a man that is part of mamagement was guiding guest near our site. He proceeds to get off his cart and yell at us for taking up two sites and putting the tables together! Well, depending upon the stress that your family is getting away for the weekend from decides how a person deals with this. We packed up everything and left that night.
If shown to our site by the staff OR just having the site ready for us this mixup would not have happened.
Other than this incident, the place was a joy for our family until the second night. We did not ask for any monies back, because is was our choice to leave. Eventhough staying was not an option for us. Therefore, the sleep quality and service rating is low.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

The staff went above and beyond to make our say enjoyable.
The campground was clean and well kept.
The cabins are basic but perfect (and a perfect price) if you like camping with a roof over your head, a real bed to sleep on and a bathroom in your cabin.
There are so many things for the kids to do on the grounds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I'm not one for staying in an RV park, surrounded by RV's. I prefer a tent and alot of distance. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed my stay at Prospector's. The staff did an excellent job at putting all my family together in adjoining sites, even though when we booked the trip, we were not together. There was so much fun stuff for the kids to do. My 10 yr old daughter loved the karaoke nights and the jump pillow the most. We did have some issues with other groups being disrespectful of the mess they were leaving and the noise, but the Prospector's staff handle it immediately. They made us feel important and welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Our kids loved the playground, bikes, pool, hot tub, and bouncy pillow. The proximity to Royal Gorge was a plus. The facilities were spotless and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We made a last minute trip to Canon City. I found they had an opening for a cabin. It was very clean, and at a very good rate. The restrooms were clean and well stocked. The only thing would be next time we will take the cabin that has the restroom in the unit. The unit came with a full bed and a bunk bed. They were comfortable.

They were even kind enough to open up the cabin so we could come in late at night. The owners greeted us in the morning and offered us complimentary coffee in the office. The site was quiet and had a grill, fire pit and picnic table.

My teenage some loved the bounce pillow and the pedal cars. He was never bored!!!!

We will be going back and can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Address: 43959 US Highway 50 West, Canon City, CO 81212
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospectors RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.