We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Calhan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Calhan to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Calhan
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15 5th Street, Calhan, CO 80808 (Formerly Calhan Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calhan
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a very nice, clean motel. The hosts, the Patels, will do anything for you they can. The motel is located in a very small town. We were visiting relatives that live here and it was our first time here. They have a continental breakfast, which is a good thing, because there are very few choices, if any, to eat breakfast.

There were a couple of small maintenance items (door to bath did not close, etc), but overall, this is a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McPherson, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This motel is about a half mile east of the small town of Calhan, Colorado. The managers are friendly. The rooms are adequate though somewhat spartan, however the room rate was very good. The continental breakfast is limited to rolls, bagels, toast, juice and coffee. If you want food drive back to town and eat at Mission Burrito, a small Mexican cafe with delicious food. As we were leaving that day a carpet cleaning crew was setting up to do their thing. So they do care about their property and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be basically the same. You park in front of your room's exterior entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

Nice location, quiet, secure.. they are willing to accommodate, and they do have a place for a trailer if need be.. water pressure a bit low, but cleanliness of the room made up for it.. even the smoking rooms, didn't smell like smoking rooms.. I would definately come back..

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I'm delighted to have a motel available in Calhan at all, let alone one that is as clean and politely staffed as this one. The free breakfast is very basic, but now that no restaurants in town serve breakfast, I appreciate it being offered. Price is reasonable given it's the only lodging available in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Colorado Springs hotels were full and the rates were very high for average economy hotels that weekend and we have found this nice hotel only 30 minutes away from the Colorado Springs on Highway 24 East. We arrived late to the hotel and the front-desk person was very nice and assisted us with a quick checkin. The rate was only $74 and much cheaper than the Colorado Springs economy brand hotels during that weekend. Room was spacious and everything was very clean. Boxspring and mattresses were brand new and very comfortable and my family had the best sleep at this hotel during the entire trip. The hotel surrounding was so quite and comfortable that we end up sleeping until late morning. At checkout we asked for the directions to some of the destinations we were going to visit and the front-desk has printed out all the directions to our point of interest. I will always stay at this hotel whenever travelling through this highway and will strongly recommened this hotel to all my friends and family travelling through Hwy 24. Great and memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We are a military family and had our car break down on the highway. Everyone we met was so kind and helpful until we got to this hotel and they took advantage of us not being able to drive away. They claimed they gave us the military rate when they gave us the regular "best rate". When I checked on-line for the military rate I was surprised to see that it was more than $15.00 below what we had been charged. After I went to the office and asked for the real military rate the manager went online and changed the rates of the hotel. This is the most expensive Econolodge I have stayed in and the amenities are sub-par! The toilet paper holder is broken, they only provide shampoo and not conditioner, the fridge is not keeping out food cold. They should and will lose their platinum status. Ironically, the waitress at the restaurant Duke's had offered us her cabin; we should have taken her up on it rather than stay here!

Room Tip: Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, CO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The Econo Lodge in Calhan was my refuge from the storm during a recent trip back to Colorado. I had driven across Nebraska and was nearing the end of my trip when dime-sized hail started to pelt my car and I needed immediate shelter. Between Limon, CO and Colorado Springs there are not very many options so I ducked into this remote little motel and the service was so friendly and understanding. They offered a room and got me checked in quickly. The room was clean and nice and it was quiet even though the storm continued most of the night. The complimentary breakfast was light, but good and there were many options.
I know it sometimes seems a little scary to take a chance on a small remote motel, and I admit, I was a little desperate, but you have nothing to worry about should you ever find yourself in need of a motel room in Calhan, Colorado.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Calhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Calhan

Address: 15 5th Street, Calhan, CO 80808 (Formerly Calhan Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Calhan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Calhan 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Calhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calhan Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Calhan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.