We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paint Mines Interpretive Park

The Paint Mines Interpretive Park
29950 Paint Mines Road, Calhan, CO 80808
719-520-7529
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Attractions in Calhan
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Peyton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I went with a friend and her daughter of 5 yrs. along with my two kids 3 and 5. We hd a blast!! the walk was great and short but still it was good for my 3 yr old not to complain as much. when we actually got to the rocks, it was soooo much fun! The kids climbed and slid down and we even had a picnic on top of one of the formations. Definitely a place to go with family!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a beautifully colorful and novel tract of land carved out wind and water erosion about 40 minutes east of Colorado Springs. We took our family on an afternoon hike and picnic found this site to be well worth the journey.

There is no charge to get into the park. Just a simple parking lot with a welk-marked trail head. I would recommend bringing shoes you can hike in as there is some mild hiking of inclines on grassy terrains. There are no facilities or handicap access.

Bring a camera and a bottle of water as there is much to see and the trail is very long if you elect to go the whole way on the trail. I would not recommend this park for the elderly or physically handicapped.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique landscape experience near Colorado Springs for an outing/hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Paint Mines Interpretive Park is located in Calhan, CO, East of Colorado Springs on Hwy 24. The park offers a great outdoor exploration opportunity with a circular hike from the parking lot. The loop takes you through several eco-systems from high prairie to the unique formations in the mines.

Very hiker friendly, not extreme at all. Pets are not allow now unfortunately as we used to enjoy going for a picnic with our dogs but still a great afternoon outing to enjoy the outdoors!

Admission is FREE!!!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Paint Mines of Calhan --DON'T Miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is just 35 minutes outside Colorado Springs - GO!!! It is a MUST SEE/DO! I took 4 boys, 10- 15, and they LOVED IT!!! We have traveled to Mesa Verde, Grand Canyon, Petrified Forest in AZ, and this is right up there! Spend 4 hours there --great trail, FABULOUS scenery! Do not be decieved by the small town it is near--Calhan --great venture awaits! KIDS loved it! It's free, not commercialized.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great walk, beautiful scenery. Bring Water and walking shoes. I dont think dogs are permitted on trail

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paint Mines Interpretive Park also viewed

 

Been to The Paint Mines Interpretive Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paint Mines Interpretive Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.