We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect Blue Waterfall and Lagoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Celeste

Rio Celeste
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect Blue Waterfall and Lagoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although a bit of a bumpy drive to get there, it was well worth it! Approximately a 7k hike to see all aspects of the area including the waterfall, lake, hot springs, and chemical reaction point (although you can just do 2k to see the waterfall if preferred). We did this without a tour guide and it was fine to do so. The trails are pretty straightforward and you can do it at your leisure. Beautiful scenery!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    87
    22
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and fun hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The more time here the better! My bf and I arrived around 11 and left about 4, not enough time. It is absolutely beautiful! They only had Spanish speaking guides, but we did ok without one. I think we would have been able to see more animals and find the second entrance to the waterfall which would have been better for photos. But we found a little natural hot spring before the ones that are signed, which was really nice because we had that spot to ourselves, very romantic. I highly recommend this spot!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We drove with our rentalcar to Rio Celeste. The drive was easy at start but the last say 10 miles were terrible because of the bad road. The hike was very nice and the water as blue as you expect. If you have a car do it yourself, it is easy to find and the hike is also easily done on your own.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My mom and I booked a trip to see the Rio Celeste with Guanacaste Viajes. It was not offered on their website, but they created a tour at our request! My friend had been to Costa Rica and strongly recommended seeing the Rio Celeste. And I'm so glad he did. He warned me of a muddy hike, but we were lucky - we went on a sunny day with no mud. It was a hot day and the hike was did get me sweaty, but it was all worth it. I'm a 30yo female not in the best of shape and my mom is a woman in her mid50's that hikes 2000ft elevations in 2 miles every weekend. We were both tired and sweaty, but we thought it was well worth it. Our guide explained that they were rebuilding the stairway to get down to the waterfall. The labor is rough as they have to haul everything in. We saw the campgrounds for the men who were working there. They used to let you swim in the brilliant blue waters which would have been neat, but there were some deaths apparently and so it has since been prohibited. No matter, it's still amazing to see such blue waters. You get to see the blue waters as well as where the waters meet to create the beautiful hue.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we did this via our hotel, who books out to jacamar tours. It was a great day. It's a long hike and you'll be nice and tired after. Hugo, our guide was awesome. He was able to point out wildlife that we would have walked right past and he was very knowledgeable and funny. He went way out of his way to make sure we saw cool stuff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Celeste also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Rio Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Celeste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.