We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pouring rain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Celeste

Rio Celeste
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pouring rain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

When it rains (you know, like it does in a rainforest, the water isn't that awesome blue color that you see in pictures. The hike was still cool, but not worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    88
    22
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the best visits in Costa Rica. A half day excursion to see a river that yes, it is celeste! (light blue in Spanish) The path to get there is not hard and very very beautiful. We could swim in that amazing waters. I recommend to hire a guide. Ours was fantastic. We learned a lot about plants and animals in the area. He also pointed a nice snake that we cross-

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

THe hike to Rio Celeste was amazing. The water is really nice. Only negativ point is that you can't swim in it anymore.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful waterfall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked the Rio Celeste Hike as an excursion and loved it! It's about two miles in and then you come up upon the huge waterfall with the blue colored pool below it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An unbelievable hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved the easy hike that took us to the gorgeous waters of Rio Celeste. I've never seen water so unusual. The water falls and the enormous trees made this trip extra-special!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Celeste also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Rio Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Celeste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.