We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel to your Saves list
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best place EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Rio Celeste wasnt part of our backpacking trip, however we were told we cant skip that.
We were told to check the new Hotel, Rio Celeste Hideaway.
We took our car and started seeking the place, its about 1.5 hour drive from the main road, But when you get there its the precious of the area.
We was welcomed with a tropical drink, nice staff, great decoration.
As we understood, the place was just built recently and we were lucky enough to find it.

The rooms are gorgeous, nothing to dislike.
Wooden balcony into the forest, Tucos up on the trees singing for you.
Hugh outdoor shower under the sky, large indoor Jacuzzi, Soft bed with view to the forest also. Even the lights in the room was good placed and designed.
Each suite is at her own while the roads between them fits the area and like small Jungle.
The pool and attached outdoor Jacuzi are so welcoming and big.
Food was superb, the breakfast was included while the dinner was not to expensive.
The Lobby have free Wi-Fi with few laptops on the place for your service.

The Hotels also offered us a private guide to the Rio Celeste which was the best trip we ever had.

The Staff was another good point, very nice, always at your service even that we was the only visitors in the hotel (Off Season) we always had someone for us. (we even kept in touch with one of them over FB :))

I feel i cannot endorse the Hotel enough in words, in writing I'm filled with good memories from there.
I wish I'll have another opportunity to visit that truly hideaway!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    75
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
257
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brie1028
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our 13 night trip and could not have asked for more. We arrived in San Jose and rented a small car, our own mistake as you really do need an 4x4 to make it here and feel safe. Our drive there was interesting; we were in a small car and drove at night but upon arrival the long, bumpy ride was much worth it. The staff is amazing, the most friendly, accomodating people you could want on a vacation. My husband is a perfectionist when it comes to architecture and hotels and he even insisted that the owner covered each and every detail from the bedding, to the pool, to the lights that light the walkways.

Our room was beautiful and very romantic. There are both an outdoor shower and indoor shower to choose from - I hands down prefer the outdoor shower. The flatscreen tv and complimentary DVDs were perfect for our one rainy day.

The pool and hot tubs were wonderful. The pool bar was not open as there were few guests at the hotel but they sent complimentary drinks out to us while we enjoyed the hot tubs.

The ambiance of the restaurant was wonderful. Like I said, there were few guests at the hotel but they still were fully staffed and so accommodating. The food was really good as well, our favorite was the rice and beans and eggs for breakfast. Our last morning we wanted to leave real early and showed up before breakfast was technically being served and they were quick to serve us - again, so accommodating!

Thank you to everyone at the Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel for an unforgetable stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Not much else I can add to what others have said but this was an incredible spot to celebrate our 25th anniversary. From the friendliness of the staff to the beautiful casita and pool to the magical blue river, our first trip to Costa Rica and the Rio Celeste Hotel was most memorable. Thanks to all those folks who offered suggestions here...they were most helpful! I would return in a heartbeat....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our first trip to CR and we winged it with our itinerary. This was the first place we stayed, after sleeping one night in Liberia after a late flight in. We drove to the resort and were amazed at the beautiful scenery all the way. The roads in are steep and I personally felt more at ease driving a 4WD.

This place is off the beaten track, to be sure. Some of the reviews I've read mention that this isn't the best place for kids. And that is just fine with those of us who want a secluded, romantic getaway without dozens of children running around. Nothing personal, but we were looking for exactly this kind of quiet, adult centric environment.

Once we arrived at the resort we could not believe our fortune. It was a hidden paradise, situated next to the volcano Tenorio. Lush plants and flowers welcomed us, and the staff immediately greeted us with fruity smoothie drinks served in champagne glasses. The lobby is beautiful, open-air, with an atrium and koi pond. Check in was a breeze and the porter took us on a golf cart to our casita (the rooms are actually separate bungalows, no shared walls--big plus). The casita was beautiful, dark wood floors and furniture, brightly colored walls and bedding. There was a lovely balcony overlooking the jungle. Great for birdwatching!

The restaurant is open-concept with a bar, and the wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful the entire time we were there. The food was delicious. I especially looked forward to breakfast, where a plate of fresh fruit was always served, along with freshly baked pastries. We did take advantage of the pool area--again, quiet and relaxing. There is a small spa on site, offering massages. We thoroughly enjoyed our massages there!

I can't say enough about this place. I can't wait to go back, it was just the best part of our trip to CR and we plan to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This place is really beautiful, covered in exotic flowers, quiet environment, luxurious rooms with AMAZING bathrooms. You definitely need a 4x4 SUV vehicle if driving yourself up there, and a GPS will take you directly. Watch out for mosquitoes, but do put on some repellent and sit outside to enjoy the sounds of nature. Food wasn’t as good, maybe because we showed up too late at night for dinner. Good service. We didn’t book any tours with the hotel. Instead, we went down to the national park and went hiking ourselves to the waterfalls (bring repellent, good sneakers, and fresh clothes). You better be in good shape because the hiking can get very challenging. The waterfall was beautiful and the hike in itself was quite an adventure. If you are fit to hike (don’t have to be a professional by any means), just pay the park’s entry and go on yourselves. DO EAT LUNCH at the little restaurant at the entrance of the park (arroz con pollo) DELICIOUS!!

Room Tip: We got a regular suite or room and it was just perfect, beautiful bathroom, furniture and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This local phrase meaning pure life truly described our experience completely at Rio Celeste. We decided on this resort based on the overwhelming positive feedback. With such high expectations, we were still finding ourselves blown away by the warm and friendly staff and the accommodating management. Flying into San Jose, we rented a car and planned to drive. We never made it there due to a flat tire and had to turn around because the sun was setting. We reluctantly stayed in San Jose but called rio to let them know we couldn't make it. They were more than accomodating and did not charge us for that night. The drive was three hours until you turn onto a bumpy dirt roadmap then drive another hour (15 miles only) but it is so rocky it takes a long time. Just when we thought there is no way there could be a resort out in the middle of no where, we drove up a huge hill and there it was. So beautiful exactly like the pictures.

We were so impressed by the service and the way they cheerfully greeted us by our names really left a lasting impression.

We took several tours with a guy named Odir throuh the hotel. He was so helpful and was great pointing out monkeys, birds, lizards, frogs, snakes and more.

If you are someone who is looking for exciting night life or a plethora of dining options, this may not be the place for you. The one restaurant on site was amazing. My husband and I are extreme travelers and foodies and we found it to be priced well. Generous portions and absolutely delicious food. When we got there they had just hired a new cook weeks before and he was fab. I recommend the Tico soup. I had it 5 times in three days. My husband loved the casado. After this venture we also stayed in FortunA at the nayara resort. The prices there and in town were much more expensive than rio Celeste.
Upon leaving the resort at Rio Celeste we were actually hugging the friends we made that worked there. Carlos, grevein, and gustavo to name a few of the unforgettable people. We will never forget the way they made our honeymoon the best trip ever. Grevein even decorated a table for us when we had dinner with beautiful flower petals when he learned it was our honeymoon!
When we drove away greiven ran out to our car and gave us two beautiful hand carved and painted pieces of costa divan art that his friend made. We were so blown away by this gesture. We loved rio so much that when we got to nayara next, we were so homesick for rio we thought no one could ever live up to that experience. And no one has! You won't be disappointed with your adventure here!!!! Enjoy! Pura Vida!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a quick trip 3 night stay in Costa Rica, which the only thing wrong with our trip. Everything exceeded all expectations. Next time we go back (which will hopefully be sooner rather than later) we will plan to stay at the Rio Celeste if not the whole time at least the majority.

We rented a car and drove from La Fortuna to Rio Celeste Hideout, which was an hour and 30 min. It would be shorter but the last 30 min are bumpy and rocky dirt roads and there isn't much you can do to speed up that process. You really drive through rural parts Costa Rica and wonder if you are going to the right place.

It is called the Hideout for a reason, this hotel (and by hotel I mean heaven) is located at the very top of the hill at which I can only imagine is the end of the road. Upon arrival we were greeted with a drink, our bags were gathered in a golf cart and told to just relax, enjoy and take a walk around the site.

The service is spectacular. We were taken out to our casita (#17 - great location looking out straight into the rainforest) by golf cart. I have to say that I've found my dream bedroom. Pictures don't do this place justice. The dark wood against white and bright colors is perfect with the green backdrop of the rainforest. Be sure to enjoy a private outdoor shower that is perfectly landscaped.

This is the nicest and most romantic place I've ever stayed at. The pool is one of the prettiest pools I've seen and has 3 hot tubs surrounding it (the hot tub in the very back is the hottest). Be sure to go to the hot tub at night and you'll get to hear howling monkeys!

The restaurant had impeccable service and very good food. Try the tortilla soup (and try not to eat it in 2 minutes)! You can relax as much or do as much activity at Rio Celeste, they have all the tours you need and can be arranged for you.

If you are looking to go on a hike on your own, there is a path between Casita #19 and #20 that will lead you all the way down to the river below. It isn't marked but we ended up finding it on our own and was one of our favorite experiences.

It was raining the majority of the time we were at Rio Celeste and with the short amount of time we were there we didn't get to see the water at its finest (electric blue color) but, it was still so incredibly beautiful and I can't wait to return.

I could go on and on forever about this place and we were only there for 17 hours. It is a true gem and great value for your money! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel Costa Rica/Tenorio Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.