We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Outing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Save
You added Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins to your Saves list
33975 US. Hwy. 24 North, Buena Vista, CO 81211   |  
Hotel amenities
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

In July took the kids and grandkids camping here. Rented two cabins and the Yurt. All accomidations were great. Campground hosts were helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Campground bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have ever seen. Would recommend the location to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 5 decided to stay here for a week. I booked a week online and even called to confirm that we bringing a 12' enclosed trailer that contains all of our camp gear. I was told that they had plenty of space with plenty of shade for tent camping. We arrived after spending 2 days at Sugar Bush Campground in Howard, Co.(We should have stayed in Howard.) When we arrived at Arrowhead, we were told that they didn't have room for our trailer in our site. We looked around the campsite and found a site that had 2 trees and was big enough for our tent and barely fit our 12' trailer. The sites do not have tent pads or offer any type of level ground. Each tent site is only about 20' X 25'. The next site is right next to you with no buffer. There is a wooded rail separating the sites. Our neighbor's tent was about 6 feet from ours. There is no defined quiet time established, so you end up getting no sleep. The place is also right next to the highway. If you plan on hearing the great outdoors, forget it. At night, you only hear very loud road noise or your neighbors drinking, cursing, and even snoring all night. One night, several young adults were extremely high and drunk, and were having very loud an explicit group sex right across from us. This was very disturbing as we were camping with young children. We reported the incident to the owner/manager. The owner just laughed it off and made a comment about her missing out on the fun. I was horrified and we checked out the next morning. This is not a place for families.

There are no amenities at this place. The swimming pool has been filled in with gravel and has a patio fire pit with a few lawn chairs that no one uses. The playground is like something that you would find in some abandoned project. The sand boxes has moss growing in them and the swing set and wooden play structure are about 30 years old.

Nothing at this place justifies paying $45.00 per night, plus taxes, for a tent site with no power or water. Additionally, you have to pay for a shower even when you are paying to stay at this facility. The additional $10.00 per day for us to take a daily shower was ridiculous. If you went rafting or exploring during the day and needed another shower in the evening, you had to pay again. They tried to tell us that they charge for showers because they are under water restrictions. No amount of water restrictions are intended for us to be deprived sanitary conditions. It just another way for the owners to profit from hidden charges. They are coin operated and you don't get a warning when the water is about to go off. It just goes off when you still have soap in your hair, and you have to step out to feed it more coins.

If you plan on taking a shower or even needed to use the toilet, get ready to wait 15 minutes or more to use the facilities. Try telling your kids to hold it a little longer. They only have 3 single unisex toilet/showers and 1 restroom with 2 toilets/showers. They do have an on site store. A cup of coffee is $5.00. A small bag of ice is $4.50. I hate to leave negative review, but I had really high hopes of having a wonderful camping experience with my family. It did not happen here. This place is truly disappointing.

We did have a great time in the Buena Visa and Salida area. We hired a guide and took 4 wheelers across Marshalls Pass. Marshalls Pass is a national forest and you can find some wonderful areas to camp for free and not worry about what your children will be exposed to. You can go into town and shower at the city pool or just bath in the streams and rivers if you don't mind the cold water. Mount Princeton is a must see also.

If you are looking for a campground in town with great facilities, check into Sugar Bush campground in Howard, Co. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. They have a shallow cold water spring that flows right through the tent area which is very soothing. The best part is that they give you a key to the showers when you check in, and they DON'T charge you for a shower. The place really clean.

Room Tip: Don't waist your money here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

For openers, I can't make sense of dgdtexas' review. The tent sites at Arrowhead point are above the RV part of the facility on a hill completely separated from the rest of the place. We were there a day later and what we saw was not the same as he reported.

Whether other tent sites are close or not is subjective, but as RV parks go the tent sites were great. They were set up much as forest service sites are, with a picnic table and flat areas for the tents. We put up 3 tents in our site and were not crowded.

And trees? Compared to other commercial RV places I have used this was great. True, the trees were of the short juniper persuasion, but there were lots of them and they separated the campsites nicely. If the place were full you would have lots of company, but hey, this is an RV park. You don't get an acre to yourself.

Upside: The tent area is well separated from the rest of the park and, being on a hill you hardly hear any highway noise. Also, being on the hill top you are looking at mountain peaks 360 degrees around you. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rate for a site is the same as other area parks charge for tent sites that are not nearly as nice. The park is located 5 miles outside Buena Vista, so you are not surrounded by the hustle and bustle in town. And NO TRAIN TRACK. Yeah, you know what that means if you have used RV parks much.

Downside: There were clean, nice portable potties in the tent area, but the real restrooms are a short walk downhill. More of a walk than you are going to want to make multiple times. Once a day for a shower and such is OK, but you will want to use the portable units most of the time. And the showers are coin operated. Personal opinion, I dislike the things. Theirs are not expensive. Maybe 75 cents for a shower. It's just the principle of the thing with me.

Room Tip: Some sites would really only be suitable for a single tent, while others have more usable space. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on a tent site. The people managing were very nice, the baths were clean. What we did not like was the tent sites were very close and no tree coverage. Some sites had trees but they did not protect you from the weather. The tent sites were also right next to the RV's. Pretty sure we will not return to this place. Just not our type of place.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had quite the eclectic crowd, 2 adults, and 6 kids ranging in age 9 - 16. I love roughing it while the lady wanted no part of it. Throw in a couple of teenage girls and boys and you can quickly see this could be a tough crowd to please. Splitting us up in a yurt and cabin was the perfect compromise. Very clean and maintained well. Was nice to have small fridge, electric, and lighting. No water or other plumbing so you need to hike to the restroom (which was very clean).

My 16 year old boy is in a wheelchair and owners Kathy and Joe were very accommodating to make sure we had access to the accessible restroom all hours of the day/night. Kathy was very helpful as I was making the reservation and move some folks around to make sure our crew were side by side in cabin and yurt. Camping is a challenge for folks in wheelchair but we managed well and felt like we were roughing it just enough. The yurt was great for my boy as he could maneuver however there are a couple of short steps to navigate to the door. I was told well in advance of booking that the cabins and yurts are *not* ADA but we managed quite. If you are in a wheelchair please take my experience with understanding that I was able to lift my son where he could not ride. Roads from cabins to facilities are maintained well enough for a non-motorized wheelchair to travel.

Walking around I noticed they had several tent sites tucked in the hill for more roughing experience. There were also plenty of full hook-up sites for RVs. Looked like this place had more trees than other camping sites.

Access to BV is easy, about 5 minute drive south on 24.

Access to fishing and hiking is excellent. Lots of lake and river access within 30 minutes. And my boy caught his first fish on this trip so it is a bit special to us :)

Would highly recommend and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Like the other camping facilities in the area, this is close to 24, I suggest booking early and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been coming to Arrowhead Point for 5+ years (I have lost track)! Joe and Cathy are very welcoming and attentive to details. We rent an RV site and the sites are very well cared for and nice. The public showers and restrooms are consistently clean! Good amenities (WiFi, volleyball, basketball). Nice tent area for groups. We look forward to our visit every summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a tent with 2 adults and one 8 year old child in a private campsite with no electricity for $40 a night. There was very little privacy and it was very noisy late into the night. The campsite itself was clean and had decent amenities. When we arrived we bought firewood from campground and they sold the wood knowing that a burn ban was going to happen. Started a fire and was promptly chewed out by the owners stating that if sheriff found out we had a fire the whole campground could be shut down. I am not sure that I would stay at the campsite again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins

Address: 33975 US. Hwy. 24 North, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Buena Vista
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
Arrowhead Point Camping Hotel Buena Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.